Take the time to discover the village of Saint-Félix-de-Reilhac-et-Mortemart!

This village on the edge of the Barade forest is the origin of two parishes united by royal order of August 21, 1827, which gives the commune the particularity of having two churches.

The origin of Saint-Félix (Sanctus Felix) dates back to 1273, its Romanesque style church was restored and has pretty stained glass windows as well as statues representing the Virgin of Saint-Joseph and Saint-Laurent (Patron Saint of the commune).
Its church, Saint-Jean-Baptiste-de-Mortemart, listed in the list of Historic Monuments, built on a feudal mound, has two particularities, its bell tower wall and its square keep. These two churches are open to visitors during the summer season.

Mortemart (Mortuo Mari) was an ancient commandery occupied by soldier monks and also a stopover on the way to Saint-Jacques de Compostela and the old Royal Bordeaux-Lyon road.

To see and do in Saint-Félix-de-Reilhac-et-Mortemart

Tourism has become an essential activity, notably with its 18-hole Marterie golf course, Jacquou Park, amusement park and space Aqualud, a wild boar breeding farm: the wild boars of Mortemart and an equestrian center.

The Saint-Félix loop is a pleasant 3-hour walk along the edge of the Barade forest. All these assets make it a calm and relaxing stopover appreciated by visitors who come to discover the rich heritage.

Was this content useful to you?