-A +A
You are here

Le Regourdou

Located 800 metres above the Lascaux caves in Montignac in the Dordogne, the prehistoric deposit Le Regourdou is known as the burial site of the oldest Neanderthal ever discovered in Europe, dating from 80,000 years B.C. In 1957, Roger Constant revealed this archaeological treasure as he was searching for a second entrance to Lascaux. You will get the chance to familiarize yourself with Neanderthal man before viewing the open-air deposit.
Don't miss the living bears that have been reintroduced to the site. Your tour finishes in the museum, where the artefacts found in the deposit are exhibited. The 1967 film The Two of Us, starring Michel Simon, was shot on location here.
Activities upon reservation: painting, engraving
On site: picnic area and snack bar. Archaeological digs held on-site in July and August. Treasure hunts with prizes to be won.

Le Regourdou
24290 MONTIGNAC
Phone: +33 5 53 51 81 23
Mail : micheleconstant@wanadoo.fr

Accueil

Saturday, 9 February, 2019 to Friday, 5 April, 2019
Saturday, 6 April, 2019 to Sunday, 30 June, 2019
Monday, 1 July, 2019 to Saturday, 31 August, 2019
Sunday, 1 September, 2019 to Monday, 30 September, 2019
Tuesday, 1 October, 2019 to Friday, 18 October, 2019
Saturday, 19 October, 2019 to Sunday, 3 November, 2019
Monday, 4 November, 2019 to Monday, 11 November, 2019
Dates et Horaires: 
From 09/02/2019 to 05/04/2019, from 13:00 to 18:00
From 06/04/2019 to 30/06/2019, from 11:00 to 18:00
From 01/07/2019 to 31/08/2019, from 10:00 to 19:00
From 01/09/2019 to 30/09/2019, from 11:00 to 18:00
Langues parlées: 
French
English

Services

Shop
Games area
Activités sur place: 
Specific themed events
Workshop for children
Conferences

Equipements

Picnic area
Restaurant
Projection room

Tarifs & Moyens de Paiement

Basic price - full adult price : 6,50 €
Discounted rate : 3,50 €
Discounted rate : 5,50 €
Discounted rate : 3 €
Basic price - full adult price : 3 €
Moyens de paiement: 
Payment cards
Cheques and postal orders
Chèques Vacances
Cash
Facebook