The Lascaux cave
After the Second World War, Lascaux was open to the public for several years until 1963. Many visitors came to visit the site, around 1500 visitors a day, but the carbon dioxide in the human breath soon began to damage the prehistoric paintings of the painted cave.
Today, the original Lascaux cave is closed. The painting cave is under close surveillance in order to preserve this site which is registered as a the World Heritage of the Humanity by UNESCO (Unesco world Heritage site).
History of the Lascaux Discovery
In September 1940, Marcel Ravidat found a cavity on Lascaux Hill. On the 12th September 1940, he came back with Gerorges Agniel, Simon Coencas and Jacques Marsal. The 4 young boys decided to explore the hill, they made the cavity larger so as to slip into the cave. Just with a lamp. They were the first ones to discover the painting caves. They found some great and unique treasures… The Lascaux cave is the finest of all prehistoric painted caves made by Cro Magnon man.