Back Back
SAINT-LEON-SUR-VEZERE

The favourite of Vélo Silex

SAINT-LEON-SUR-VEZERE

VTT

Jaune

Nature (faune, flore)

Starting from Saint Léon sur Vézère, listed as one of the most beautiful villages in France, this walk will take you to some superb viewpoints: "La cote de Jor", where you can see the peaks of the Massif Central (if the weather is clear), the exotic "Fleur de vie" hammam, the Thot cave art centre, and the leaning tower of Vermondie. For those with a little energy left over, don't miss a trip to the village's little "courrédoux", well worth the diversions!

The favourite of Vélo Silex

Distance : 20.5 km

Your itinerary

Step 1

Departure from the town centre near the "i" sign.
Watch out, we're off to a great start! Head north, after 500m of tarmac on a slight climb towards the "4 routes" crossroads (D706), and you'll immediately begin the first big difficulty: the climb up Côte de Jor, 160m of D+ in 1.5km! Halfway up, you'll come to a Y-shaped crossroads, so turn right and prepare to suffer! The steepest part is also narrow, steep and wet! One last "ass-whupping" between the wooden houses at La Péchardie, and you're at the summit.
Cross the road and continue along the path opposite, which is actually the boundary between Thonac and Plazac. If the weather is clear, you'll get some great views.

Step 2

After the exotic "Fleur de vie" Hammam, take the first path on the left, the one that goes uphill (again!). Cross the D45 to take the path opposite to the Argiller water reservoirs. This is the highest point on this walk, at an altitude of 260m. If the weather is clear, you can see the summits of the Massif Central to the east (snow-capped in winter). Take the road down to the hamlet of Argiller, and head for the bottom of the valley. Be careful on the last part, there are some sharp bends and not much grip. At the crossroads below, turn right into the Fongran valley. Once you reach the ponds, you can walk around them (path on the left, after the first pond), fill up with water at the spring (between the two buildings), have a picnic in the shelter or even use real toilets!
Once back on the road, head downhill for around 500m to take the first path marked with a yellow post on the left as you round the bend. Follow the Thonac valley, a small stream that flows into the Vézère at the village of the same name, for 2km.

Step 3

At the end of the path you always follow the route marked with the yellow posts, i.e. right on the road, then left, then right again. You can see straight away that it's a steep climb, and it will be for 1.5km, but it's on tarmac... easy! When you get to the top, take the path straight ahead, beside the old vineyards, and always follow the path marked with the yellow posts. At the highest point you come to a large, open crossroads called Les Quatre Chemins. This is the furthest point from St Léon and you are very close to Montignac and the Lascaux caves. Turn right onto the "white" path (crushed limestone) that runs along the crest of the hill, slightly downhill to the Thot cave art centre, where you'll probably see some "prehistoric" animals. In fact, you follow the G.R. with its white and red markings all the way to St Léon.

Step 4

From the Thot car park, take the path on the right towards Maillol, and once you've passed the hamlet, you'll see a small castle with a strange square tower on the hill opposite: it's the leaning tower of Vermondie. This is also going to be the most difficult part of the route! First of all, it's downhill, on tarmac, then on the first track on the right, a beautiful stony descent to a lovely little valley. Turn left, then straight ahead and at the crossroads, go straight ahead again. Once you've passed the beautiful St Chabran water mill with its Lauzes roof, turn right onto the tarmac road, then take the first track on the left. And then it's 1.5km of stones, rocks and steep gradients, so you'll be suffering on the bike... or walking. Take a look at the chateau grounds in passing, they're well worth a visit! When you reach the D45, cross the road and take the path opposite to finish this steep climb, but more gently. At the end of the path, turn left onto the large white ridge path that you will follow as far as Hauteclair farm. As the name suggests, from up there you'll have a great view all around, especially of the southern Vézère valley.

Step 5

Once past the farm, take the white path that descends steeply and let go of everything - it's safe. Once you've passed the few houses in Les Tuilières, take the first path on the right as you round a bend in the tarmac road. Be careful, there are rocks and it's a bumpy ride! When you get to the bottom, at the rubbish bins, watch out for the D706. Take the first small road on the left and go down to the cemetery. From here, leave the GR and cross the D66 to take the small road opposite the football stadium. Follow the stadium signs. Finally, at a bend in the road, take the first path on the right, where you will also see an old stone barn. Follow the yellow posts to the right along the banks of the Vézère, below the Château de Clérans, then past the 12th-century Romanesque church and the village of St Léon. After a short stretch under the Eiffel bridge, you'll reach the "i" point in the village, and that's the end of your enjoyable outing.
If you've still got a bit of energy left, take a stroll through the little "courrédoux" (narrow streets) of the village. St Léon is a member of the association of the most beautiful villages in France, and it's well worth the diversions!

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Retour Retour
SAINT-LEON-SUR-VEZERE

Le coup de coeur du Vélo Silex

SAINT-LEON-SUR-VEZERE

VTT

Jaune

Nature (faune, flore)

Cette randonnée au départ de Saint Léon sur Vézère, classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France vous permettra d’accéder, tour à tour, à de superbes points de vue: "La cote de Jor", pour apercevoir les sommets du Massif Central(si le temps est dégagé), de passer devant le Hammam exotique "Fleur de vie", le centre d'art pariétal du Thot, d'apercevoir la tour penchée de la Vermondie. Pour ceux a qui il restera un peu d'énergie, ne manquer pas de faire un tour dans les petits "courrédoux" du village, ça vaut le détour !

Le coup de coeur du Vélo Silex

Distance : 20,5 km

Votre itinéraire

Étape 1

Départ dans le centre bourg près du point « i ».
Attention on commence fort ! Tu prends vers le nord, après 500m de goudron en légère côte vers le carrefour « des 4 routes » (D706), tu entames tout de suite la première grosse difficulté : la montée de la côte de Jor, 160m de D+ en 1.5km ! À mi-chemin, tu trouveras un carrefour en Y, prends à droite, et prépares toi à souffrir ! La partie la plus raide est aussi étroite, encaissée et humide ! Un dernier « petit coup de cul » entre des maisons en bois à la Péchardie, et t’es au sommet.
Tu traverses la route pour continuer sur le chemin en face qui est en fait la limite de commune entre Thonac et Plazac. Si le temps est dégagé, tu vas avoir de super points de vue.

Étape 2

Après l’exotique Hammam « Fleur de vie », prends le premier chemin à gauche, oui celui qui monte (encore !). Traverses la D45 pour reprendre le chemin en face jusqu’aux réservoirs d’eau d’Argiller. C’est le point le plus haut de cette rando, soit 260m d’altitude. Si le temps est dégagé, tu peux apercevoir, plein est, les sommets (enneigés en hiver) du Massif Central. Tu prends la route qui descend vers le hameau d’Argiller, et tu fonces jusqu’au fond du vallon. Attention sur la dernière partie, de gros virages et peu d’accroche. Au carrefour en bas prendre à droite dans le vallon de Fongran. Arrivé aux étangs, tu peux en faire le tour (chemin à gauche, après le premier étang), faire le plein d’eau à la source (entre les deux bâtiments), faire un pique-nique à l’abri ou même utiliser de vrais toilettes !
Une fois revenu sur la route, tu descends sur 500m environ pour prendre le premier chemin marqué d’un poteau jaune à gauche, dans le virage. Tu vas suivre tranquillement pendant 2km le vallon du Thonac, petit ruisseau qui tombe dans la Vézère au village du même nom.

Étape 3

Au bout du chemin tu suis toujours le tracé marqué avec les poteaux jaunes, soit à droite sur la route, puis à gauche, puis de nouveau à droite. Et là, tu vois tout de suite que ça grimpe sec, et ça va le faire pendant 1.5km, mais c’est sur du goudron…facile ! Arrivé en haut, tu prends le chemin tout droit, à côté des vielles vignes et tu suis toujours le chemin balisé avec les poteaux jaunes. Au point le plus haut tu arrives à un grand carrefour bien dégagé qu’on appelle les Quatre Chemins. C’est le point le plus éloigné de St Léon et tu es tout près de Montignac et des grottes de Lascaux. Tu prends à droite, le chemin « blanc » (concassé calcaire) qui reste sur la crête de la colline, légèrement descendant jusqu’au centre d’art pariétal du Thot, ou tu verras probablement quelques animaux « préhistoriques ». En fait tu suis le G.R. avec son marquage blanc et rouge, et ce jusqu’à St Léon.

Étape 4

Au parking du Thot tu prends le chemin à droite vers Maillol, et une fois passé le hameau tu vois sur la colline en face un petit château avec une drôle de tour carrée : c’est la tour penchée de la Vermondie. Ca va être aussi la plus grosse difficulté de ce parcours ! Mais d’abord de la descente, sur le goudron, puis sur le premier chemin à droite, belle descente caillouteuse pour arriver dans un beau petit vallon. Tu prends à gauche, puis tout droit et au carrefour toujours tout droit. Une fois passé le beau moulin à eau de St Chabran avec le toit en Lauzes, tu tournes à droite sur la route goudronnée, puis le premier chemin à gauche. Et là, c’est 1.5km de pierres, de rochers et de la grosse pente, donc tu vas souffrir sur le vélo…ou marcher. Admire en passant le parc du château, ça vaut le coup d’œil ! Arrivé sur la D45, tu traverses et prend le chemin en face pour finir cette sacré côte, mais plus en douceur. Au bout du chemin prendre à gauche sur le grand chemin blanc de crête que tu vas suivre jusqu’à la ferme de Hauteclair. Comme son nom l’indique tu auras de là-haut un super point de vue tout autour, et surtout sur le sud de la vallée de la Vézère.

Étape 5

Passé la ferme tu prends le chemin blanc qui descend bien raide et tu lâches tout, y’a pas de danger. Une fois passé les quelques maisons des Tuilières tu prends, dans un virage de la route goudronnée le premier chemin à droite. Attention, y’a du cailloux et ça secoue ! Arrivé en bas, aux containers à poubelles, attention à la traversée de la D706. Prend la première petite route à gauche et descend jusqu’au cimetière. De là tu quittes le GR et traverses la D66 pour prendre la petite route du stade de foot en face. Suis les panneaux « stade ». Enfin, dans un virage de cette route, tu prends le premier chemin à droite où tu verras aussi une ancienne grange en pierre. Suis les poteaux jaunes qui vont t’emmener à droite sur les berges de la Vézère, en dessous du château de Clérans, puis le long de l’église romane du 12ème et du bourg de St Léon. Après un petit passage sous le pont Eiffel, tu rejoins le point « i » du village et c’est la fin de ta belle sortie sportive.
Si t’as encore un peu d’énergie, va faire un tour dans les petits « courrédoux » (ruelles) du bourg. St Léon fait partie de l’association des plus beaux villages de France, et ça vaut le détour !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu