Our route through the Resistance

Before giving you a detailed reading of our page on the Resistance in the Vézère Valley during the Second World War, we would like to suggest the following an itinerary dedicated to the resistanceA journey of discovery, initiation and memory. 

We invite you to visit 3 special places, marked by the German army, but also synonymous with resistance and determination. This journey of remembrance can be made by carbut also by bike through 17km of pretty country roads. 

Rouffignac Saint-Cernin

A.Borderie

Rouffignac, a traumatised and partially destroyed village.

A place of remembrance recounting one of the most significant episodes of the Second World War.

Why is the village of Rouffignac so typical of the Périgord?

"We rebuild houses, not people".

31st March 1944During a week of German repression in Périgord, the village of Rouffignac was destroyed by fire set by the Nazis.

 The various Resistance movements were well established in Périgord, but the incessant attacks by the maquisards had set the Germans on fire. The division commanded by General Brehmer stayed in the Dordogne for a week, spreading terror and desolation everywhere. The German soldiers methodically searched the entire countryside for Maquis and Jews, and when they didn't find any, they attacked the population. 

The martyrdom of Rouffignac

At 8.30 a.m., the Germans surrounded the village, blocking the roads and laying automatic weapons everywhere. Two officers asked where the maquis was stationed, but as they received no reply, the order was given to all the inhabitants of the village to assemble in the square. It was impossible to escape as a cordon of soldiers surrounded the square. An officer spoke with the mayor:

 "Which would you prefer? That I shoot the men or that I burn your whole village?

The Mayor replied:

"We rebuild houses, not people".

All afternoon it was a sad, anguished move. Then the soldiers looted the village, flamethrowers went into action and the houses burned like sheaves of straw. 

The end of the nightmare?

 The people of Rouffignac lived through hours of terror; the loss of life and property was extremely heavy, but on 2 April, the Germans appeared again, still looking for the "terrorists", and once again set fire to 20 houses in the lower and upper villages (including the Château de la Falquette): Rouffignac no longer existed, only the church and 3 houses were spared.

Photos, pages of moving text and an educational model will guide you through this dark period in the history of France. Rouffignac at the Espace Mémoire. This "museum" tells in detail what the men and women of this village in the Périgord Noir experienced in 1944.

Fanlac

Best known for being the home village of Jacquou le CroquantFanlac was also a major centre of the Resistance and a theatre of Nazi horror. Fanlac was home to the Ecole des Cadres de l'Interrégion FTPF (or "FTPF Interregion Cadres School").School of Resistance"). Take a stroll through the village and you'll come across a stele that is still in bloom in memory of the Aubarbier couple, murdered by the German army for their dedication to the Resistance.

Fanlac

Le Sablou

A commemorative monument retraces the history of the Sablou internment camp and its "Sablousards", French people deemed undesirable by the German enemy. It is located between the village of Fanlac and the Château du Sablou.


The Second World War hit the Dordogne hard, and the Resistance set up very early on in the countryside.

Few homes in France were equipped with radios to hear General de Gaulle's call to the Resistance. To counter German propaganda, it was first necessary to wage a battle of opinion and, from the 1940s onwards, distribute leaflets and underground newspapers to the French. To galvanise the energy of the people of Périgord, networks were formed around old rifles and a radio. These people ran the risk of being totally committed or of providing occasional support. Farmers and railway workers acted as smugglers near the demarcation line for those who had to leave France.

To get an idea of the life of a Perigordian scrublandin the years 1943-44, it is necessary to follow "the Durestal maquisa remembrance trail that intersects with a hiking loop starting at Journiac : "the Péchorel loop".

In this maquis, stayed (among others) André Malrauxfor two days at the end of May 1944. He was impressed by the number of Resistance fighters present, to the point of describing it as "a sort of town in the woods". There were huts, dormitories, kitchens and even graves dug for traitors who had been shot.

The importance of the Resistance in Périgord is still very present in the memory of its inhabitants.

¾ of the Dordogne was in the free zone. Only the west of the département was occupied by the Germans. Nevertheless, traces of this past can be seen in the Green, White, Purple and Black Périgord.

At the time of the landing, the fighters from Périgord slowed the advance of the armoured division by 43 actions carried out against the Vichy government, which considered these resistance fighters to be terrorists. In the Thiviers area, the threshing strike (refusal to feed the occupiers) and sabotage of railway infrastructure and machinery hampered the occupiers' activities. For fear of reprisals, large-scale actions were forbidden.

 Why are so many communes in the Dordogne twinned with Alsace?

Before 1939, there were very few Jews in Périgord, but Vichy's anti-Semitic policies prompted some Alsatians to take refuge in the Dordogne. They were spread across 186 communes, including Sarlat, Nontron, Terrasson, Les Eyzies, Bergerac, Ribérac and Thiviers, but the majority of the Jewish community was in Périgueux. The passage of the Brehmer division in the Dordogne attempted to suppress the Resistance and terrorise the population while searching for, executing and deporting Jews. This was the "Final Solution". In remembrance, 13 towns and villages in the Dordogne, including Plazac, Le Bugue or Rouffignachave created a twinning with towns in Alsacein this department of eastern France. Families continue to forge links generation after generation...

We had to "subdue the little maquis".

Some communes suffered reprisals: Mouleydier near Bergerac was burnt down by the Germans in 1944 after a fierce battle, 25 hostages were executed in Sainte-Marie de Chignac and 40 in Brantôme. In Mussidan, thirty-five hostages were arrested by the Germans for acts of resistance. They were deported to German labour camps...  


Traces of the Second World War in the Dordogne

The Château du Sablou in Fanlac It was used as an internment camp for communist militants from January to December 1940. 50 years later, a stele in memory of those interned was erected in the Fanlac valley, near the Thonac stream. 

Périgueux is perhaps one of the towns in France where the memory of the Second World War is most keenly felt. The National Association of Veterans and Friends of the Resistance (Anacr) organises guided tours on the history of the town at that time, called "chemins de la Mémoire".

The Resistance memorial at Saint-Etienne de Puycorbier in the Double forest is associated with André Voulgre museum. This place of remembrance retraces the struggles of the Resistance fighters in the Isle valley during the Second World War through an educational trail, films and an exhibition of materials left over from that period.

Numerous books have been written about this period in French history that had such an impact on the Périgord Noir. Through the pages of the book The Dordogne in the Second World WarIn this book, not one but several historians recount the daily life of the country's farmers in the face of the Vichy army. The author, Pierre Louty, gives a detailed and accurate account of the involvement of young people, particularly in the Resistance. 

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Notre itinéraire sur la résistance

Avant de vous proposer une lecture détaillée de notre page sur la résistance en vallée Vézère durant la seconde guerre mondiale, nous vous proposons un itinéraire dédié à la résistance, qui peut être fait de découvertes, d’initiation ou de mémoire. 

Nous vous proposons la visite de 3 lieux particuliers, marqués par l’armée Allemande, synonymes aussi de résistance et de détermination. Ce trajet de mémoire peut se faire en voiture, mais aussi à vélo à travers 17km de  jolies routes de campagne. 

Rouffignac Saint-Cernin

©A.Borderie

Rouffignac, village traumatisé et partiellement détruit.

Un lieu de mémoire retraçant l’un des épisodes les plus marquants de la seconde guerre mondiale.

Pourquoi le village de Rouffignac présente une architecture si peu périgourdine ?

« On refait des maisons, on ne refait pas des hommes »

Le 31 mars 1944, le bourg de Rouffignac disparaissait dans l’incendie provoqué par les Nazis, pendant une semaine de répression allemande en Périgord.

 Les différents mouvements de la Résistance étaient bien implantés en Périgord mais les attaques incessantes des maquisards ont mis le feu aux poudres du côté allemand. La division commandée par le Général Brehmer va rester une semaine en Dordogne semant partout la terreur et la désolation. Les soldats allemands quadrillaient méthodiquement toute la campagne à la recherche des maquisards et des juifs et quand ils n’en trouvaient pas, ils s’acharnaient sur la population. 

Le martyre de Rouffignac

Dès 8h30, les Allemands cernent le village, barrent les routes et disposent un peu partout des armes automatiques, deux officiers demandent le lieu de stationnement du maquis mais comme aucune réponse ne leur est faite, l’ordre est alors donné à tous les habitants du pays de se réunir sur la place. Il est impossible de s’échapper car un cordon de soldats ceinture la place. Un officier parlemente avec le Maire :

 «  Que préférez-vous ? Que je fusille les hommes ou que je brûle tout votre village ?

Le Maire répond :

« On refait des maisons, on ne refait pas des hommes »

Tout l’après-midi ce fut un triste déménagement dans un climat d’angoisse. Puis les soldats pillèrent le village, des lance-flammes entrèrent en action et les maisons brûlèrent comme des gerbes de paille. 

La fin du cauchemar ?

 La population de Rouffignac a traversé des heures d’épouvantes ; les pertes humaines ou matérielles ont été extrêmement lourdes mais le 2 avril, nouvelle apparition des Allemands qui cherchaient toujours les « terroristes » et qui incendièrent à nouveau 20 maisons du bas et du haut bourg (dont le Château de la Falquette) : Rouffignac n’existait plus, seule l’église et 3 maisons avaient été épargnées.

Des photos, pages de texte émouvants ainsi qu’une maquette pédagogique vous guide dans cette période sombre de l’histoire de Rouffignac à l’Espace Mémoire. Ce “musée” raconte en détail ce que les hommes et femmes de ce village du Périgord Noir ont vécu lors de cette année 1944.

Fanlac

Plus connu pour être le village d’origine de Jacquou le Croquant, Fanlac est aussi un haut lieu de la résistance ainsi que le théâtre de l’horreur nazie. Fanlac a hébergé l’Ecole des Cadres de l’Interrégion FTPF (ou appelée “Ecole de la Résistance”). En vous promenant dans le village, vous verrez une stèle toujours fleurie à la mémoire du couple Aubarbier, assassiné par l’armée allemande pour leur dévouement à la résistance.

Fanlac

Le Sablou

Un monument commémoratif retrace l’histoire du camp d’internement du Sablou et ses « Sablousards », ces français jugés indésirables par l’ennemi Allemand. Il se situe entre le village de Fanlac et le Château du Sablou.


La seconde guerre mondiale a frappé durement le département de la Dordogne qui vit la Résistance s’installer très tôt dans les campagnes.

Peu de foyers en France étaient équipés de postes de radio pour entendre l’appel du Général de Gaulle qui exhortait à la Résistance. Pour contrer la propagande allemande, il a fallu mener d’abord une bataille d’opinions et diffuser dès les années 40, tracts et journaux clandestins aux français. Pour galvaniser l’énergie des Périgourdins, des réseaux se sont constitués autour de vieux fusils et d’un poste de radio. Ces gens couraient des risques qu’ils soient totalement engagés ou qu’ils apportent un soutien ponctuel. Des paysans ou des cheminots ont fait office de passeurs aux abords de la ligne de démarcation pour ceux qui devaient quitter la France.

Pour se faire une idée de la vie d’un maquis périgourdin, dans les années 1943-44, il faut suivre « le maquis de Durestal », un chemin de la mémoire qui croise une boucle de randonnée dont le départ se situe à Journiac : «la boucle de Péchorel».

Dans ce maquis, a séjourné (entre autres) André Malraux, pendant deux jours fin mai 1944. Il fut impressionné par le nombre de résistants présents, au point d’évoquer “une sorte de ville dans les bois”. Cabane en feuillard, dortoir, cuisine…et même des tombes creusées pour les traitres fusillés.

L’importance de la Résistance en Périgord reste très présente dans la mémoire de ses habitants.

La Dordogne était aux ¾ en zone libre. Seul l’Ouest du département était occupé par les Allemands. Néanmoins des traces de ce passé sont visibles dans les Périgord Vert, Blanc, Pourpre et Noir.

Au moment du débarquement, les combattants Périgourdins ont ralenti la remontée de la division blindée par 43 actions menées contre le gouvernement de Vichy qui considérait ces résistants comme des terroristes. Dans le secteur de Thiviers, la grève des battages (refus de nourrir l’occupant) et les sabotages visant l’infrastructure ferroviaire et les machines entravaient l’activité de l’occupant. Par peur des représailles, des actions de grande ampleur étaient interdites.

 Pourquoi tant de communes de Dordogne jumelées avec l’Alsace ?

Avant 1939, il y avait très peu de juifs en Périgord mais la politique antisémite de Vichy incita des Alsaciens à se réfugier en Dordogne. Ils furent répartis en 186 communes dont Sarlat, Nontron, Terrasson, Les Eyzies, Bergerac, Ribérac et Thiviers, mais la majeure partie de la communauté juive était à Périgueux. Le passage de la division Brehmer en Dordogne tenta de réprimer la Résistance et terroriser la population tout en recherchant, exécutantr et déportantr des juifs. C’était la « solution finale ». En souvenir, 13 villes et villages de Dordogne, dont Plazac, Le Bugue ou Rouffignac, ont créé un jumelage avec des communes d’Alsace, ce département de l’est de la France. Des familles continuent de tisser des liens génération après génération…

Il fallait “mater le petit maquis”

Des communes subirent des représailles : Mouleydier près de Bergerac fut incendiée par les Allemands en 1944 au terme d’un combat acharné, à Sainte-Marie de Chignac, 25 otages furent exécutés, 40 à Brantôme. À Mussidan, trente-cinq otages furent arrêtés par les Allemands pour faits de résistance. Ils seront déportés vers les camps de travail allemands…  


Traces de la seconde guerre mondiale en Dordogne

Le château du Sablou à Fanlac servi de camp d’internement pour les militants communistes de janvier à décembre 1940. 50 ans après, une stèle à la mémoire de ces internés fut érigée dans le vallon de Fanlac, près du ruisseau, le Thonac. 

Périgueux est peut-être l’une des villes de France où la mémoire de la Seconde Guerre mondiale se fait le plus sentir. L’Association nationale des anciens combattants et ami(e)s de la Résistance (Anacr) organise des visites guidées sur l’histoire de la ville à cette époque, appelées « chemins de la Mémoire ».

Le mémorial de la Résistance de Saint-Etienne de Puycorbier dans la forêt de la Double est associé au musée André Voulgre. Ce lieu de mémoire retrace les combats des résistants de la vallée de l’Isle durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale à travers un parcours didactique, des films et une exposition des matériaux laissés par cette période.

De nombreux ouvrages relatent cette période de l’histoire de France qui a impacté le Périgord Noir. À travers les pages du livre La Dordogne dans la seconde guerre mondiale, ce ne sont pas un auteur mais des auteurs historiens qui racontent le quotidien des paysans du pays face à l’armée de Vichy. L’auteur Pierre Louty raconte lui avec détails et précision l’engagement des jeunes notamment dans cette Résistance. 

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu