The Vézère Valley: a hiking destination in the Dordogne!

With its waterways, woodlands and many historic sites, the Vézère valley is a great place for walking. And not just on foot: there are circuits and trails for walkers, but also for horse-riders and mountain bikers. For each activity, you'll find family paths, routes, more technical trails or a loop that will lead you to discover castles and exceptional landscapes. 

Hiking: discover the Vézère valley on foot, by bike or even on horseback 

Why is the Dordogne an ideal hiking destination?

In the heart of the Dordogne, the Vézère valley has arguments that will not leave hiking enthusiasts indifferent. Visit bucolic landscapes from Périgord can be discovered along the trails. Some walks can be combined with a visit to an exceptional tourist attraction.
A walk in the forest or near a riverAlong the Vézère or Dordogne rivers, you can enjoy a moment of peace and relaxation in the heart of nature. 

Tours for all levels

Going for a walk with your family with young childrenyou're looking for a path more technical or a more challenging tour? On foot or by mountain bike, the Vézère valley in the Dordogne offers hundreds of kilometres of walks to suit all abilities. Experienced walkers and cyclists will even be able to take advantage of the challenging gradients to excel.

Touring or looping? Adventurous or organised?

Whatever your mode of hiking - walking, cycling or horse riding -You can prepare your tour on your own or be guided. The Dordogne's equestrian centres, for example, offer guided walks. And why not opt for an itinerant tour? There are a number of loops you can follow each day, passing from village to village and discovering the whole of the Vézère valley. Maps are available from the Lascaux-Dordogne tourist offices. Choose the length of your walk, the distance and off you go on the trails of the Périgord Noir!

Hiking in the Dordogne: the best routes

Trails to discover the landscapes and tourist attractions of the Vézère valley

Nearly 675 kilometres of footpaths have been laid out around the area. Montignac-Lascaux and Eyzies. Several routes are recommended for families or for a leisurely walk: opt for a short, gentle circuit. Depending on the route you choose and the length of your walk, you may also pass by some exceptional historic sites: a medieval church or chapel, a village in bloom, a fortified castle, a prehistoric cave... 

  • The Micoque trail, in Les Eyzies, offers two walks in the footsteps of our ancestors; 
  • The Mas de Sireuil hiking trail, starting from the outlying hamlet of Les Eyzies village;
  • The Vézère green route, for a walk along the Vézère;
  • The loop of the Virgin in Tursac highlights the valley's small heritage;
  • Or the Polissoir hiking trail in Forêt de Campagne, with its many woodland paths. 

A range of routes for those who enjoy a more challenging hike, with a difference in altitude and distance!

Put on your best hiking boots: with its woods and valleys, the Vézère valley and the surrounding area offers many more technical and sporty trails, ideal for trail running. Signs at the start of each loop indicate the planned distance. The duration varies according to your walking pace.

Discover the Vézère valley by bike

If you're more interested in cycling, the good news is that the Périgord Noir is particularly well-suited to it. There are several greenways There are safe family trails and more challenging paths. Many places offer bike hire: electric bikes or mountain bikes, you're sure to find one to suit you.

Cycle routes and circuits for families 

Are you humming "when we set off early in the morning" at the thought of your next bike ride? There are a number of routes and paths to satisfy your desire for nature and tourism: take a trip along the Dordogne's greenways.

  • The Vézère valley greenway: from Limeuil to Les Eyzies (currently being developed);
  • The greenway from Thiviers to Saint-Pardoux-la-Rivière ;
  • The greenway between Mauzac and Prigonrieux;
  • The green route between Sarlat and Cazoulès. 

Or on cycle routes:

  • The Céou cycle route ;
  • The Isle Valley cycle route. 

Mountain bike trails in the forest for the more active

The trails in the Dordogne are perfect for mountain biking: in the Vézère valley, you'll find several circuits and routes through the woods or along the river. You can even combine your bike ride with a visit to one of the many tourist spots in the Périgord Noir. 

Discover the Dordogne on horseback: horse trekking along the Vézère river 

Horse-riding for a few hours or a day... 

Equestrian centres and farms offer rides, for several hours or a day, with horses used to riding in the open country. The route from the centre can be adapted to suit your level of ability. You can also hire a guide to introduce you to equestrian tourism.

You can also hire a horse, pony or ... a donkey! The animal will walk with you all the way, carrying your picnic. And children will be delighted to have a companion for the hike! 

... or a tour of the Périgord!

If you're looking for adventure and trekking, there are plenty of footpaths in the Dordogne accessible to horse riders. Whether you're experienced or beginnerYou're bound to find trails to suit your level of ability. On the internet, associations of horse-riding enthusiasts share their itineraries, with indications of the length of the ride, the distance and the gradient to be covered, as well as the villages where to stop, or ask at the Tourist Office for information on signposted routes.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

La Vallée de la Vézère : destination randonnée en Dordogne !

Avec ses cours d’eau, ses bois et ses nombreux sites historiques, la vallée de la Vézère appelle à la randonnée. Pas uniquement à pied : il existe des circuits et des sentiers pour les marcheurs, mais aussi pour les amateurs de balade à cheval ou en VTT. Pour chaque activité, vous trouverez des chemins familiaux, des parcours, des sentiers plus techniques ou une boucle qui vous mèneront à la découverte de châteaux et de paysages exceptionnels. 

Randonnées : la vallée de la Vézère se découvre à pied, en vélo ou même à cheval 

Pourquoi la Dordogne est une destination idéale pour la randonnée ?

Au cœur de la Dordogne, la vallée de la Vézère a des arguments qui ne laisseront pas indifférents les amateurs de randonnée. Les paysages bucoliques du Périgord sont à découvrir aux détours des sentiers. Certaines randonnées peuvent être couplée avec la visite d’un lieu touristique exceptionnel.
Une balade dans la forêt ou près d’un cours d’eau, le long de la Vézère ou de la Dordogne, permet de vivre un vrai moment de calme et de détente en pleine nature. 

Des circuits pour tous les niveaux

Vous vous promenez en famille avec de jeunes enfants, vous recherchez un sentier plus technique ou un circuit plus sportif ? À pied ou en VTT, la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne offre des centaines de kilomètres de randonnées pour tous les niveaux. Les marcheurs et les cyclistes aguerris auront même à leur dispositions des dénivelés stimulants pour se surpasser.

Des randonnées itinérantes ou en boucle ? À l’aventure ou organisé ?

Quel que soit votre mode de randonnée – la marche, le vélo ou les chevaux -, vous pouvez préparer votre circuit seul ou bien être guidé. Les centres équestres de Dordogne proposent par exemple des randonnées accompagnées. Et pourquoi ne pas opter pour un circuit itinérant ? De nombreuses boucles sont à parcourir chaque jour pour passer de village en village et découvrir l’ensemble de la vallée Vézère. Des cartes sont à disposition dans les offices de tourisme Lascaux-Dordogne. Vous déterminez la durée de votre rando, la distance et vous voilà parti sur les sentiers du Périgord noir !

Les randonnées pédestres en Dordogne : les meilleurs itinéraires

Des sentiers pour découvrir les paysages et les lieux touristiques de la vallée de la Vézère

Près de 675 kilomètres de sentiers sont aménagés pour la marche à pied autour de Montignac-Lascaux et des Eyzies. Plusieurs parcours sont recommandés pour les familles ou pour une randonnée tranquille : misez sur un circuit de faible distance, sans dénivelé. Selon le circuit choisi et la durée de votre balade, vous pourrez aussi passer non loin de lieux historiques exceptionnels : église ou chapelle médiévale, village fleuri, château-fort, grotte préhistorique… 

  • Le sentier de la Micoque, aux Eyzies, offre deux parcours de marche sur la trace de nos ancêtres ; 
  • La boucle de randonnée du Mas de Sireuil, au départ du hameau excentré du village des Eyzies ;
  • La voie verte de la Vézère, pour une marche le long de la Vézère ;
  • La boucle de la Vierge à Tursac fait la part belle au petit patrimoine de la vallée ;
  • Ou encore la boucle de randonnée du Polissoir, à Forêt de Campagne, et ses nombreux sentiers dans les bois. 

Des circuits pour les amateurs de randonnée sportive : dénivelé et distance !

Enfilez vos meilleures chaussures de randonnée : avec ses bois et ses vallons, la vallée de la Vézère et ses alentours proposent de nombreux chemins plus techniques et sportifs, idéaux pour la pratique du trail. Les panneaux au départ de chaque boucle indiquent la distance prévue. La durée varie selon votre rythme de marche.

Randonner à vélo pour découvrir la vallée de la Vézère

Si vous visez plutôt la rando vélo, bonne nouvelle, le Périgord noir s’y prête particulièrement bien. Il existe plusieurs voies vertes sécurisées pour la balade en famille et des sentiers plus sportifs. De nombreux lieux proposent une location de vélos : vélo électrique ou VTT, vous trouverez certainement celui qui vous convient.

Des itinéraires et circuits vélos pour les familles 

Vous chantonnez « quand on partait de bon matin » à l’idée de votre prochaine rando vélo ? Plusieurs parcours et sentiers combleront vos envies de nature et de tourisme : rendez-vous sur les voies vertes de Dordogne.

  • La voie verte de la vallée Vézère : de Limeuil aux Eyzies (en cours d’aménagement) ;
  • La voie verte de Thiviers à Saint-Pardoux-la-Rivière ;
  • La voie verte entre Mauzac et Prigonrieux ;
  • La voie verte entre Sarlat et Cazoulès. 

Ou sur les vélo routes :

  • La vélo route du Céou ;
  • La vélo route Vallée de l’Isle. 

Des parcours VTT en forêt pour les plus sportifs

Les sentiers de Dordogne se prêtent parfaitement à une randonnée VTT : dans la vallée de la Vézère, vous trouverez plusieurs circuits et parcours dans les bois ou le long de la rivière. Il est même possible de coupler votre rando vélo avec la visite d’un des nombreux spots touristiques du Périgord noir. 

Découvrir la Dordogne à cheval : des randonnées équestres le long de la Vézère 

Une randonnée équestre pour quelques heures ou une journée… 

Des centres et fermes équestres proposent des randonnées, pour plusieurs heures ou à la journée, avec des chevaux habitués à la promenade en pleine nature. Le circuit au départ du centre peut être aménagé en fonction de votre niveau. Vous pouvez aussi faire appel à un guide pour vous initier au tourisme équestre.

Il est aussi possible de louer un cheval, un poney ou … un âne de bat ! L’animal vous accompagne, au pas, tout au long du chemin, pour porter votre pique-nique. Et les enfants seront ravis d’avoir un compagnon pour la randonnée ! 

… ou une randonnée itinérante à travers le Périgord !

Vous misez plutôt sur l’aventure et le trek ? Il existe de nombreux chemins de randonnée accessibles aux cavaliers en Dordogne. Que vous soyez expérimenté ou débutant, vous trouverez forcément des sentiers qui correspondent à votre niveau. Sur internet, des associations de passionnés de randonnée équestre partagent leurs itinéraires, avec des indications sur la durée de la balade, la distance et le dénivelé à parcourir ainsi que les villages où s’arrêter ou renseignez-vous auprès de l’Office de Tourisme pour connaître les parcours balisés.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu