A writer worth rediscovering to understand the soul of our region.

19th century writer

  • Born in Hautefort
  • Author of Jacquou le Croquant
  • Retirement at Montignac-Lascaux

If there's one work in France that has made a lasting impression thanks to its television adaptation, it's the book : Jacquou le Croquant . Many of you visit the Vézère Valley looking for filming locations of this soap opera, in 1969 moved the whole of France. This is the perfect opportunity to discover the Périgord region and its little-known villages, such as Auriac du Périgord, Fanlac or even Château de l'Herm whose owners are working to restore it to its former glory. 

Seeking harmony between man and nature

While Eugène Le Roy may not have had as important a place in French literature as some other 'regionalist' writers, his novels are deeply rooted in the region, with strong characters and well-crafted plots.

Born in 1830 at Hautefort castle where his parents were simple servants, he was placed in the care of a local farmer. His childhood memories will leave a strong mark her works in which future abandoned childrenas in many books of his time. From 1841 to 1847, he studied at the rural school in Hautefort, then in 1848 attended the Brothers' School. in Périgueuxthe capital of Périgord. In 1851, he refused to enter the seminary and became a grocer's clerk in Paris. He was then soldier and tutor. By travelling a lot in the countryside, rubbing shoulders with the farmers, he looks around and heritage. In 1877, he applied for membership of the Périgueux Masonic Lodge, but was not initiated until 1878. From then on, he wrote in local newspapers, notably Republican and anti-clerical articles.

Périgourdins keep in mind the man of lettersthe author of the book Jacquou le Croquant published in 1899, which depicts the farming world which fought against poverty under the reigns of Louis XVIII and Charles X. Originally published as a serial in the Revue de Paris under the title: " Barade forest "It was not with this work that Eugène Le Roy achieved success. Its adaptation for television French is a historic monument which may well have led to a rediscovery of the author. In 2007, Laurent Boutonnat adapted the novel for the cinema and shot many scenes from the film in the Périgord Noir.

Eugène Leroy conveys partisan views

Another of his books, : Le Moulin du Frau which tells the story of the narrator's life, is also situated in Périgord. This book, published in 1891, is a real lesson in radicalism under the Third Republic. In 1896, he published Mademoiselle de la Ralphie which recounts the downfall of a noblewoman consumed by passion during the July monarchy. In 1899, he published the book The people of Aberoque set in the provincial bourgeoisie under the Second Empire and the Third Republic. In 1900, it was : Little Nicette and Big Snowy and in 1902 : The rustic year in Périgord.

If Eugène Leroy is known as novelistHe has also written extensively for local newspapers (Le Réveil de la Dordogne) Republican and anti-clerical articles. This committed free thinkermember of Freemasonrywas also the author of a pamphlet showing his hostility to the clergy: " A critical study of Christianity ". Many of Eugène Leroy's works can be discovered here in libraries of the Périgord Noir at Bugue or à Montignac - Lascaux.

It takes his retirement to Montignac-Lascaux and refused the Legion of Honour. He died in 1907 and leaves a last book: The enemy of death .

An emblem of the department

Today, Bergerac secondary school, establishments (Salle Eugène Leroy in Le Buguethe media library at Montignac-Lascaux) or a in Hautefort honour the life and work of the famous writer by bearing his name

Gérard Fayolle, former mayor of Le Bugue and vice-president of arts and letters in Périgord, has written extensively about the Dordogne. The Périgord of Jacquou le Croquant which he wrote, brings to life a Périgord that has disappeared and describes a society in the throes of change. It was during his term of office that he gave the writer's name to this Bugu village hall.

Writers from the Périgord are part of our heritage

Whether they were born in Périgord, lived here or spent time here, our department has left its mark on them. From the troubadours onwards, Bertran de Born, Arnaut Daniel in the Renaissance with Pierre de Bourdeille, Montaigne and La Boétie to the present day with Claude Seignolle, Thalie of Molènes, Michel Testut and Martin Walker... they have all left us works that form the narrative identity of our region, stories and little stories that have shaped the Périgord.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Un écrivain à redécouvrir pour comprendre l’âme de notre région.

Écrivain du XIXème

  • Né à Hautefort
  • Auteur de Jacquou le Croquant
  • Retraite à Montignac-Lascaux

S’il est une œuvre en France qui a marqué les esprits grâce à son adaptation télévisuelle, c’est bien le livre : Jacquou le Croquant . Vous êtes nombreux à visiter la Vallée Vézère en voulant retrouver les lieux de tournage de ce feuilleton qui, en 1969 avait ému toute la France. C’est l’occasion de partir découvrir le Périgord et des villages méconnus comme Auriac du Périgord, Fanlac ou même le château de l’Herm dont les propriétaires œuvrent pour lui redonner son âme d’antan. 

Recherche de l’harmonie entre l’homme et la nature

Si Eugène Le Roy n’a pas eu comme certains écrivains « régionalistes » une place très importante dans la littérature française, ses romans sont profondément ancrés dans la région avec des personnages forts, des intrigues très travaillées.

Né en 1830 au château de Hautefort où ses parents étaient de simples domestiques, il fut placé en nourrice chez une paysanne des environs. Ses souvenirs d’enfance marqueront fortement ses œuvres futures dans lesquelles abondent les enfants abandonnés, comme dans beaucoup de livres de son époque. De 1841 à 1847, il étudie à l’école rurale d’Hautefort puis en 1848 fréquente l’Ecole des frères à Périgueux, capitale du Périgord. En 1851, il refuse le séminaire et devient commis d’épicier à Paris. Il est ensuite militaire et précepteur. En se déplaçant beaucoup dans les campagnes, en côtoyant les paysans, il observe les lieux et le patrimoine. En 1877, il fait une demande d’admission à la loge maçonnique de Périgueux mais il n’y sera initié qu’en 1878. À partir de ce moment il écrit dans les journaux locaux, notamment des articles républicains et anticléricaux.

Les Périgourdins gardent en mémoire l’homme de lettres, l’auteur du livre Jacquou le Croquant publié en 1899 qui dépeint le monde paysan qui lutte contre la misère sous les règnes de Louis XVIII et Charles X. Initialement publié en feuilleton dans la revue de Paris sous le titre : « La forêt Barade », ce n’est pas avec cet ouvrage qu’Eugène Le Roy connut le succès. Son adaptation à la télévision française est un monument historique qui a peut-être permis de redécouvrir l’auteur. En 2007, Laurent Boutonnat adapte ce roman au cinéma et tourne de nombreuses scènes du film en Périgord Noir.

Eugène Leroy véhicule des opinions partisanes

Coutumier d’un cadre réaliste, un autre de ses livres : Le Moulin du Frau qui raconte la vie du narrateur se situe aussi en Périgord. Dans ce livre paru en 1891, on peut y déceler une véritable leçon de radicalisme sous la IIIème République. En 1896, il publie Mademoiselle de la Ralphie qui raconte la déchéance d’une fille de la noblesse dévorée par la passion pendant la monarchie de Juillet. En 1899, il publie le livre Les gens d’Aberoque dont l’histoire se situe dans la bourgeoisie provinciale sous le Second empire et la Troisième République. En 1900, c’est : La petite Nicette et le Grand Milou et en 1902 : L’année rustique en Périgord.

Si Eugène Leroy est connu comme romancier, il a aussi beaucoup écrit pour les journaux locaux (Le Réveil de la Dordogne) des articles républicains et anticléricaux. Ce libre penseur, engagé, membre de la Franc-maçonnerie, est aussi l’auteur d’un pamphlet montrant son hostilité au clergé : « Etude critique sur le christianisme ». De nombreuses œuvres d’Eugène Leroy sont à découvrir dans les bibliothèques du Périgord Noir notamment au Bugue ou à Montignac – Lascaux.

Il prend sa retraite à Montignac-Lascaux et refuse la légion d’honneur. Il meurt en 1907 et laisse un dernier ouvrage : L’ennemi de la mort .

Un emblème du département

Aujourd’hui, le collège de Bergerac, des établissements (Salle Eugène Leroy au Bugue, la médiathèque à Montignac-Lascaux) ou encore un espace à Hautefort honorent la vie et l’œuvre du célèbre écrivain en portant son nom

Gérard Fayolle, ancien maire du Bugue et vice-président des arts et des lettres du Périgord a beaucoup écrit sur la Dordogne. Le Périgord de Jacquou le Croquant dont il est l’auteur fait revivre ce Périgord disparu et décrit une société en pleine mutation. C’est lors de son mandat qu’il attribue le nom de l’écrivain à cette salle des fêtes buguoise.

Les écrivains du Périgord font partie du patrimoine

Qu’ils soient nés en Périgord, qu’ils y aient vécu ou séjourné, notre département les a marqués. Depuis les troubadours, Bertran de Born, Arnaut Daniel à la Renaissance avec Pierre de Bourdeille, Montaigne et La Boétie jusqu’à nos jours avec Claude Seignolle, Thalie de Molènes, Michel Testut et Martin Walker… tous nous ont laissé des œuvres qui forment l’identité narrative de notre région, des histoires et des petites histoires qui ont façonné le Périgord.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu