At what age can you start discovering the Périgord?

Lovers of the Périgord Noir will tell you that there's no age limit for marvelling at a castle or a cave.
Your tribe ranges from 3 to 20 years old, so don't worry, we've got everything you need!
For a successful holiday, choose places and activities that suit their age. Here's some advice from our local experts.

Travelling with young children or a newborn? 

For a family holiday just a stone's throw from Sarlat, the Périgord may not be a high-altitude destination, but it owes its beauty to its hilly landscapes and its its villages sometimes high up. For your walks a pushchair and baby carrier to help you get around comfortably.

Equipped ? the Vézère Valley opens up to you. Continue your visits as you wish and at your child's pace.
Lunch break ? Our restaurant owners will be delighted to reheat a small dish or offer you a children's menu. Some are even equipped with changing tableAs well as tourist and other sites.
Petite siesta in the shade? Visit castle park de Campagne is ideally placed for a break between two visits. With free access, its hundred-year-old sequoias and cedars offer shady areas ideal for siestas.

Clever! Are you looking for a place where you don't have to carry your baby for an hour? We've listed the accessible sites in wheelchairs, and therefore accessible by pushchair.

 

Is your child more of a knight/princess, dinosaur or Cro magnon?

Rest assured, we've all been there! Why not visit a castle during your stay?

Little princesses will be amazed by the costumes of Joséphine Baker at the Château des Milandes, where they will think they are the Queen during the visit of the Losse castle in Thonac. For the great warriors, go to Commarque castle to Les Eyzies to admire the 80-metre-high fort... 

If baby-chou is more of a Dino team, we've got you covered too! Go to Conquil, in Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. The shady park promises a journey back to the time of the triceratops, diplodocus and other species that inhabited the Earth 200 million years ago. The reproductions are animated and a soundtrack will take your family on a timeless journey.

We immerse ourselves in prehistoric times to the caves at Roc de Cazelle or Castel-Merle by lighting a fire, hunting game with the thruster or by reproducing the gestures of the first cave artists. Follow the guide to find out about all the workshops on offer: Agenda

Children love animals

Visit Thot ParkThe exhibition is a unique opportunity for children to get up close and personal with the animals. The exhibition looks at the relationship between man and animals in prehistoric times, and presents a wide range of species, including aurochs, bison and Przewalski's horses, the ancestors of the animals painted on the walls of the Lascaux cave. But it is certainly the wolves that will grab their attention the most!   

Still on the theme of prehistory, the Regourdouknown for its prehistoric site, just a stone's throw from Lascaux, is presenting its 4 brown bearsCharly, Noisette, Cassy and Mishka, you'll discover their link with Neanderthal man. 

The Vézère valley is an unspoilt region, flora and fauna are still very much present. Difficult to spot the fish in the Vézère? We invite you to find them at theAquarium du Périgord Noir in Le Bugue. The tour begins with the world of myocastors, takes you on a journey through the aquatic world of fish freshwater and crocodiles and finally a vivarium. Fish-feeding activities will impress your little ones.

Geese, sheep, donkeys, rabbits, chickens... Alongside the aquarium, animals have their natural place at the Parc du Bournat. In a journey back to the XIXth A visit to the park will give you a feel for the village atmosphere that prevailed in Périgord at the time. You'll move from the miller at the potterywith a diversion to the brasserie.  The whole family will have a great day out in this park of old trades. Visit rides and period gamesLe Bournat is a must when you're staying in the Dordogne with children. 

Shall we continue? Heading towards Périgueux, the Mortemart wild boar waiting for you to visit.

A little further on horses return to equestrian centres in Sergeac, Les Eyzies or Campagne. 

Are your teenagers watching too much TV? We're going to make them want to get out and about! !

In search of thrills, physical activities ? Tree courses are a great way to challenge your limits while enjoying nature. Visit Prehistobranch offers a range of tours, and you can combine your visit with the Dinosaur Park and a visit to the prehistoric site of Conquil on the same site. There's something for all the family.

The Big Bird at Le Bugue, a 22-metre-high aerial course on 4 floors, is bound to catch your children's eye - there's no point resisting, they'll want to go! 

Another option is the Lazzer City In Journiac, as a team or individually, your teenagers will take on a dark, apocalyptic city. Who will emerge victorious on points?   

Looking for something cool? In the water park, at the Etangs du Bos Which of the children is the most agile at jumping, climbing and crossing inflatable structures on water WITHOUT FALLING! 

Cycling on the green lane The Green Route: one of a range of cycling routes, the Green Route is accessible to all, even the less sporty. With very little change in altitude, the 22 km can be swallowed up quickly and is a great way to get some fresh air. 

On a more cultural note, plan a holiday in the Dordogne to rediscover Prehistory with the whole family! The Dordogne is packed with prehistoric sites. 

In the Vézère valley, we have the most famous cave: the Lascaux cave. By visiting the Lascaux IV International Centre of Cave ArtWe promise you an interactive tour that's sure to please everyone. During the visit, a your guide to tell you all about the discovery of the cave and the techniques used in cave art.
For teenagers, thedigital world is very much in evidence. A touch-sensitive tablet will accompany them throughout their experience, tracking their movements in the different areas, activating the digital devices and providing them with information.

A must-see and unforgettable visit during your stay in Périgord.

Terra aventura, the app that makes all children walk, even teenagers!

Yes, yes, we promise. If you're new to geocaching, now's the time to get started. Last but not least, children will be able to use their mobile phones to visit the site!
By downloading the application Terra AventuraYou'll have access to walking routes graded according to difficulty and size. The what? The Poiz! It's a 'pin', as the old-timers would say, that you have to collect. Geocaching enthusiasts have them all over their rucksacks. It's easy to spot each other when you're a geocaching aficionado? The idea is to move forward using the application's GPS, answering questions along the way, like a quiz accessible to all by observing your surroundings, to finally get a geolocated address. Are you there yet? Then, much to the excitement of the children, it's off to the treasure hunt: you have to find the hiding place where the famous poiz is.

It's an excellent way for families to discover the Vézère valley in a fun (and sometimes sporting) way. The Dordogne offers a wide range of walking routes on a variety of themes. Download the Terra Aventura application. 

What activities are possible with children?

The Lascaux-Dordogne tourist sites put together a packed programme every summer to make your family holiday a real success. Visit our tourist offices to find out what's on.

Which town to choose in the Dordogne with children?

We chose Le Bugue for

  • events: gourmet market, local produce festival, Saint Louis festival, etc.
  • its wide range of tourist sites: the Bournat park, the Périgord Noir Aquarium, the Prehistoric Labyrinth, the Proumeyssac chasm, etc.
  • activities: canoeing, big bird, elf wood
  • mid-range and top-range campsites with kids' clubs

Montignac-Lascaux was chosen for

  • its prehistoric sites: Lascaux, Regourdou, Thot
  • events: culture aux cœurs festival, gourmet market, etc.
  • its holiday villages

Journiac was chosen for

  • amusement parks: Jacquou Parc, Lazzer Game, Axe Fun Game, etc.
  • its tranquillity
  • its holiday rentals

We chose Les Eyzies for

  • its prehistoric sites: National Museum, prehistoric shelters, Interpretation Centre, Roc de Cazelle cave
  • its hotels
  • its proximity to Sarlat

We choose Peyzac, Sergeac, Savignac de Miremont, Audrix or any other village in the Vézère valley for

  • have a wonderful family holiday.

Which sites are aimed at children?

The "Dordogne en famille" guide, the reference for parents

In the Dordogne, the family is as important as prehistory or our river, that's for sure! The Tourist Office has compiled a list in the departmental guide " Dordogne as a family The site also includes a "children's sites" section. You can find out how old you need to be to take part in the workshop on offer. Consult the list.

Explore the vezere valley with your family

A change from traditional visits, with adapted activities.

The descent into canoe is a must for any stay in the Dordogne. On a hot day, you can enjoy paddling while taking in the view: the Château de Belcayre (which can only be seen from the river) or the passage under the Roque Saint-Christophe. However, you'll need be able to swim and be at least 5 years old.
Ouch, your pitchoune doesn't meet these conditions, no worries. In that case, we'll sail on the Dordogne. At both Beynac and La Roque-Gageac, there are jigs The guide will show you the castles and villages along the way. No effort, just enjoy. 

If you'd like to get a bit of exercise with your children, we've got the right places for you. mini-golfs of the valley.

When it's hot, we've got what it takes

Many campsites of the Périgord Noir have a aquatic area to keep your children occupied. Find them in our section Campsite by selecting the "swimming pool" criterion.

And if you're looking for the perfect day, the Proumeyssac chasm ! Children love this natural cavity. Inside, there's a magical sound and light show to enchant young and old alike. Outside, an educational playground for budding explorers.

The Jacquou Parc is another great way to spend the day with the family. A wave pool and roller coasters will keep teenagers amused. Younger children will love the antique merry-go-rounds, the wooden horses, the carousel... This amusement park is suitable for all ages. 

Where to go with young children?

You can't do everything in a week. As we all know, children sleep.
Well, in principle?
If you're looking to "tire out" your children, here are a few places where they can run around:

The flat villages of Lascaux - Dordogne

We'll point you in the right direction to find a nice village to walk around where it's not too steep.
First, we take you to Campaign. It's the ideal place to taking your first steps for your child. Chalk paths intertwine in this green setting. Lawn or stable to start with? It's up to them to decide... In the park surrounding the château, the impressive two-hundred-year-old trees will be an inexhaustible source of fun. hide and seek for all the family. 

Then, why not visit Coly Saint-Amand, A country village surrounded by nature and Périgord stone. Situated on the road to Sarlat from Montignac-Lascaux, Coly Saint-Amand is packed with artisans and artists in its main street in summer. It's a great place for an after-summer stroll!
If you've brought your baby carrier with you, there's a walking trail around the village that tells the story of this "Most Beautiful Village in France" and offers exceptional views.
What if your child stays up lateAnd don't forget to visit the gourmet market on Tuesday evenings for a taste of the local cuisine.  

The Green Route


There's nothing like strolling along the river Vézère with a pushchair. There are a number of different sections, but we recommend a stroll along the quays of Le Bugue as far as the Pont de Campagne. This stretch is relatively wide and has excellent facilities for pushchairs. There is even a picnic area at the end of the quays, near Le Bournat, where you can take a lunch break.

Need a secure restaurant?

There's no doubt that your stomachs will be bursting after all these discoveries! We invite you to consult our page dedicated to restaurants in the area with an enclosed terrace. You can't put a price on dining with peace of mind.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

À partir de quel âge peut-on découvrir le Périgord ?

Les amoureux du Périgord Noir vous diront qu’il n’y a pas d’âge pour s’émerveiller devant un château ou une grotte.
Votre tribu va de 3 à 20 ans, pas de soucis, on a tout ce qu’il faut pour vous !
Pour des vacances réussies, choisissez des lieux, activités qui conviennent à leur âge. Voici quelques conseils de nos experts du territoire.

Vous partez avec de jeunes enfants ou un nouveau-né ? 

Pour des vacances en famille à deux pas de Sarlat, si le Périgord n’est pas une destination de haute montagne, il tient sa beauté à ses paysages vallonnés et à ses villages parfois haut perchés. Prévoyez pour vos balades une poussette et un porte-bébé pour vous aider à vous déplacer confortablement.

Equipés ? la Vallée Vézère s’ouvre à vous. Poursuivez vos visites au gré de vos envies et au rythme de votre enfant.
Pause déjeuner ? Nos restaurateurs seront ravis de faire réchauffer un petit plat ou de vous proposer un menu enfant. Certains se sont même équipés de table à langer, tout comme des sites touristiques ou autres.
Petite sieste à l’ombre ? Le parc du château de Campagne est idéalement placé pour une halte entre deux visites. En accès gratuit, ses séquoias et cèdres centenaires offrent des zones ombragées idéales pour la sieste.

Malin ! Vous cherchez un endroit où vous ne serez pas obligé de porter bébé pendant 1h dans les bras. On a recensé les sites accessibles en fauteuils roulants, et donc accessibles en poussette.

 

Votre enfant est plutôt chevalier/princesse, dinosaure ou Cro magnon ?

On vous rassure, on est tous passés par là ! Et si vous visitiez un château pendant votre séjour ?

Les petites princesses s’émerveilleront devant les costumes de Joséphine Baker au château des Milandes où se prendront pour la reine lors de la visite du château de Losse à Thonac. Pour les grands guerriers, rendez-vous au château de Commarque aux Eyzies pour contempler le fort haut de 80 mètres.. 

Si baby-chou est plutôt team Dino, on a aussi ! Rendez-vous au Conquil, à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Le parc ombragé vous promet un voyage aux temps des tricératops, diplodocus et autres espèces qui peuplaient la Terre il y a 200 millions d’années. Les reproductions sont animées et une ambiance sonore embarquera votre famille dans un voyage hors du temps.

On s’immerge aux temps préhistoriques aux grottes du Roc de Cazelle où à Castel-Merle en allumant un feu, en chassant le gibier grâce au propulseur ou en reproduisant les gestes des premiers artistes rupestres. Suivez le guide pour retrouvez tous les ateliers proposés : Agenda

Les enfants adorent les animaux

Au Parc du Thot, les enfants vivront un moment unique au plus près des animaux. A travers la relation Homme-Animal à l’époque préhistorique, de nombreuses espèces y sont présentées dont les aurochs, bisons, chevaux de Przewalski, ancêtres des animaux peints sur les parois de la grotte de Lascaux. Mais ce sont certainement les loups qui retiendront le plus leur attention !   

Toujours sur le thème de la Préhistoire, le site du Regourdou, connu pour son gisement préhistorique, à deux pas de Lascaux, vous présente ses 4 ours bruns, Charly, Noisette, Cassy et Mishka, vous y découvrirez leur lien avec l’homme de Neandertal. 

La vallée de la Vézère est une région préservée, la faune et la flore sont encore bien présentes.  Difficile d’apercevoir les poissons de la Vézère ?  On vous invite à les retrouver à l’Aquarium du Périgord Noir au Bugue. L’excursion commence par l’univers des myocastors, vous entraîne à travers le monde aquatique des poissons d’eau douce puis des crocodiles et enfin un vivarium. Les activités de nourrissage de poissons impressionneront vos plus petits.

Oies, moutons, ânes, lapins, poules… A coté de l’aquarium, les animaux ont tout naturellement leur place au Parc du Bournat. Dans une plongée au XIXème siècle, la visite du parc vous fait ressentir l’ambiance de village qui régnait en Périgord à cette époque. On passe de la maison du meunier à l’atelier de poterie, en faisant un détour par la brasserie.  Toute la famille passe une excellente journée dans ce parc aux vieux métiers. Les manèges et jeux d’époque, la fête foraine font du Bournat un incontournable lorsque l’on séjourne en Dordogne avec des enfants. 

On poursuit ? En direction de Périgueux, ce sont les sangliers de Mortemart qui vous attendent pour la visite.

Un peu plus loin, des chevaux rentrent aux centres équestres à Sergeac, aux Eyzies ou à Campagne. 

Vos ados sont trop sur les écrans ? on va leur donner envie de sortir !

A la recherche de sensations fortes, d’activités physiques ? Les parcours dans les arbres sont une belle façon de défier ses limites en profitant de la nature. Le Préhistobranche vous propose plusieurs circuits et offre la possibilité de jumeler votre visite avec le Parc aux dinosaures et la visite du site préhistorique du Conquil se trouvant sur le même lieu. Toute la famille y trouve son compte.

Le Big Bird au Bugue, parcours aérien haut de 22 mètres sur 4 étages, attirera forcément le regard de vos enfants, inutile de résister, ils voudront y aller ! 

Autre option, le Lazzer City à Journiac, en équipe ou en individuel, vos adolescents évolueront dans un décor sombre de ville apocalyptique. Qui sortira vainqueur au nombre de points ?   

Envie de fraicheur ? Coté parc aquatique, aux Etangs du Bos lequel des enfants est le plus agile pour réussir à sauter, escalader, traverser des structures gonflables sur l’eau SANS TOMBER ! 

Partir à vélo sur la voie verte : parmi les différentes possibilités de parcours à vélo, la voie verte est accessible à tous même pour les moins sportifs. Avec peu de dénivelé, les 22 km seront vite avalés et peuvent être une belle occasion de s’aérer. 

Sur un volet plus culturel, programmez des vacances en Dordogne pour redécouvrir la Préhistoire en famille ! La Dordogne regorge de sites préhistoriques. 

En vallée Vézère, nous avons la plus célèbre des grottes : la grotte de Lascaux. En visitant le Centre international de l’Art Pariétal Lascaux IV, on vous promet une visite interactive qui plaira à tout le monde. Lors de la visite, un guide vous accompagne pour vous raconter la découverte de la grotte ainsi que les techniques utilisées dans l’art pariétal.
Pour les adolescents, l’univers numérique est largement présent. Une tablette tactile pourra les accompagner tout au long de leur expérience, elle suivra leurs mouvements dans les différents espaces, activera les dispositifs numériques et leur fournira des informations.

Une visite incontournable et inoubliable lors d’un séjour en Périgord.

Terra aventura, l’application qui fait marcher tous les enfants, même les ados !

Si, si, on vous promet. Si vous ne connaissez pas le géocaching, c’est le moment de vous y mettre. Enfin, les enfants pourront utiliser un téléphone pour visiter !
En téléchargeant l’application Terra Aventura, vous aurez accès à des parcours de marche classés selon la difficulté et le poiz à trouver. Le quoi ? Le Poiz ! C’est un « pin’s » comme dirait les anciens qu’il faut collectionner. Les férus de géocaching en ont partout sur leur sac à dos. Vous vous repérez rapidement entre aficionados. ?  Le principe : avancer à l’aide du GPS de l’application, répondre à des questions tout au long du parcours, façon quizz accessible à tous en observant son environnement, pour obtenir au final une adresse géolocalisée. Vous y êtes ? A partir de là, à la plus grande excitation des enfants, c’est la chasse au trésor, il faut chercher la cache où se trouve le fameux poiz.

C’est un excellent moyen de découvrir la vallée de la Vézère en famille à travers une activité ludique (et parfois sportive). La Dordogne propose de nombreux circuits de marche sur des thèmes variés. Téléchargez l’application Terra Aventura. 

Quelles activités possibles avec des enfants ?

Les sites touristiques de Lascaux-Dordogne concoctent un programme dense chaque été pour que vos vacances en famille soient une vraie réussite. Rendez-vous dans nos offices de tourisme pour découvrir ce programme.

Quelle ville choisir en Dordogne avec des enfants ?

On choisit Le Bugue pour

  • ses animations : marché gourmand, fête du terroir, fête de la saint-louis, …
  • sa diversité de sites touristiques : le parc du Bournat, l’Aquarium du Périgord noir, le Labyrinthe préhistorique, le gouffre de proumeyssac
  • ses activités : le canoë, le big bird, le bois des lutins
  • ses campings moyenne et haute gamme avec club enfants

On choisit Montignac-Lascaux pour

  • ses sites préhistoriques : Lascaux, le Regourdou, le Thot
  • ses animations : festival culture aux cœurs, marché gourmand, …
  • ses villages vacances

On choisit Journiac pour

  • ses parcs d’attraction : le Jacquou Parc, le Lazzer Game, l’Axe Fun Game, …
  • sa tranquillité
  • ses locations de vacances

On choisit Les Eyzies pour

  • ses sites préhistoriques : Musée national, abris préhistoriques, Pôle d’interprétation, grotte du Roc de Cazelle
  • ses hôtels
  • sa proximité avec Sarlat

On choisit Peyzac, Sergeac, Savignac de Miremont, Audrix ou tout autres villages de la vallée Vézère pour

  • passer de merveilleuses vacances en famille.

Quels sites sont à destination des enfants ?

Le guide « Dordogne en famille », la référence pour les parents

En Dordogne, la famille c’est aussi important que la Préhistoire ou notre rivière, c’est vous dire ! L’Office de Tourisme recense à travers le guide départemental  « Dordogne en famille » les sites particulièrement adaptés aux enfants. Il permet de connaître l’âge nécessaire pour participer à l’atelier proposé notamment. Consultez la liste.

Explorez la vallee de la vezere en famille

Changer des visites traditionnelles, et pratiquer des activités adaptées.

La descente en canoë est un incontournable pour un séjour en Dordogne. Par temps caniculaire, on apprécie de pagayer tout en découvrant la vue : le château de Belcayre (que l’on ne voit que de la rivière ) ou le passage sous la Roque Saint-Christophe. Néanmoins, cela nécessite de savoir nager et d’avoir au moins 5 ans.
Aïe, votre pitchoune ne remplit pas ces conditions, pas de soucis. On navigue sur la Dordogne dans ce cas. À Beynac comme à la Roque-Gageac, des gabarres vous attendent pour une découverte au fil de l’eau, le guide vous dépeint les châteaux et villages qui surplombent. Aucun effort, il suffit d’apprécier. 

Vous souhaitez vous dépenser un peu avec vos enfants, on vous indique les mini-golfs de la vallée.

Quand il fait chaud, on a ce qu’il faut

De nombreux campings du Périgord Noir possèdent un espace aquatique pour occuper vos enfants. Retrouvez les dans notre rubrique Camping en sélectionnant le critère « piscine ».

Et si l’on cherche une journée parfaite, le gouffre de Proumeyssac ! Les enfants adorent cette cavité naturelle. À l’intérieur, un spectacle féérique de sons et lumières qui enchante petits et grands. À l’extérieur, un parc ludo-pédagogique pour les découvreurs en herbe.

Le Jacquou Parc est une autre option pour occuper la journée en famille. Une piscine à vagues et les roller coasters amuseront les ados. Les plus jeunes apprécieront les manèges anciens, les chevaux de bois, le carrousel… Ce parc de loisirs convient à tous les âges. 

Où se promener avec enfant en bas âge ?

En une semaine, vous ne pourrez pas tout faire. On le sait, un enfant, ça dort.
Enfin, en principe ?
Si vous cherchez à « fatiguer » vos enfants, on vous donne quelques endroits où ils pourront gambader :

Les villages plats de Lascaux – Dordogne

On vous aiguille pour trouver un village sympa où se balader mais où ça ne grimpe pas trop.
En premier lieu, on vous emmène à Campagne. C’est le lieu idéal pour faire faire ses premiers pas à votre enfant. Des allées en castine s’entremêlent dans cet écrin de verdure. La pelouse ou la stabilité pour commencer ? À lui de voir …  Dans le parc qui entoure le château, des arbres bicentenaires impressionnants seront une source inépuisable de cache-cache pour toute la famille. 

Ensuite, pourquoi ne pas visiter Coly Saint-Amand, village de campagne entre nature et pierre du Périgord. Situé sur la route de Sarlat en partant de Montignac-Lascaux, Coly Saint-Amand regorge d’artisans et d’artistes dans sa rue principale l’été. Pour une balade post-sieste, c’est assez sympa !
Si vous avez emporté le porte-bébé, un circuit de randonnée autour du village permet de découvrir l’histoire de ce « Plus Beaux Villages de France » et offre un panorama exceptionnel.
Et si votre enfant veille tard, profitez du marché gourmand du mardi soir pour goûter à la gastronomie locale.  

La Voie verte


Pour se balader en poussette, rien de tel que de longer la rivière Vézère. Différents tronçons sont possibles mais on vous conseille une balade sur les quais du Bugue jusqu’au pont de Campagne. Cette partie est relativement large et très bien aménagée pour les poussettes. Une aire de pique-nique se trouve même à la sortie des quais, proche du Bournat, pour une pause déjeuner.

Besoin d’un resto sécurisé ?

Nul doute que les estomacs vont se creuser après toutes ces découvertes ! On vous invite à consulter notre page dédiée aux restaurants du secteur qui possèdent une terrasse fermée. Un dîner avec l’esprit tranquille, ça n’a pas de prix.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu