If I were told the story of Rouffignac ...


This municipality in the Barade forest, situated on the highest hills in the Black PerigordSurrounded by a variety of natural landscapes (hillsides, small valleys and beautiful forests), it offers some sumptuous scenery.

The architecture of the village of Rouffignac-Saint Cernin-de-Reilhac differs from that of the surrounding villages. its tragic history During the Second World War: on 31 March 1944, the village of Rouffignac was destroyed by incendiary bombs. Only the church, with its 1530 portal and flamboyant interior, and a few neighbouring houses were spared. The village was completely rebuilt in 1948.

Visits to Rouffignac

A true emblem of the Barade forest, the Château de l'Herm built at the end of the 15th century, was abandoned following a number of crimes. Later, Eugène le Roy used it as the setting for his novel : Jacquou le Croquant adapted for television in 1969 and for the cinema by Laurent Boutonnat in 2007. Today, the château is not open to visitors, but there's no doubt that once it has been restored, it will be well worth the trip!

It is in Rouffignac that you can visit the Rouffignac caveThe cave paintings can be dated to the Final and Middle Magdalenian periods, i.e. 11,000 BC.

Hiking from the village of Rouffignac

You can follow the path with walks ranging from 2 km to 9 km.

  • Boucle des Abîmes
  • Pinque loop
  • The Saint Cernin loop
  • The Mammoth Loop
  • Herm loop

The bikers There are also four loops starting from the village:

The little extras in the village of Rouffignac

Contact

Rouffignac Town Hall
24580 Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac
Tel : 05.53.05.46.46
[email protected]
Website


Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Si Rouffignac m’était conté …


Cette commune de la forêt Barade, située sur les collines les plus élevées du Périgord Noir, entourée par une nature variée (côteaux, petits vallons et belles forêts) offre de somptueux paysages.

L’architecture du bourg de Rouffignac-Saint Cernin-de-Reilhac diffère de celle des villages alentours, cela est dû à son histoire tragique pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale : le 31 mars 1944, le bourg de Rouffignac disparaissait sous les bombes incendiaires. Seule l’église avec son portail daté de 1530, son intérieur de style flamboyant et quelques maisons avoisinantes furent épargnées. Le village a été entièrement reconstruit à partir de 1948.

Des visites à Rouffignac

Véritable emblème de la forêt Barade, le Château de l’Herm construit à la fin du XVème siècle, sera abandonné suite à de nombreux crimes. Plus tard, Eugène le Roy y placera le décor de son roman : Jacquou le Croquant adapté à la télévision en 1969 et au cinéma par Laurent Boutonnat en 2007. Le château, aujourd’hui, ne se visite pas, mais nul doute qu’après sa restauration le déplacement en vaudra la peine !

C’est à Rouffignac que l’on peut visiter la Grotte de Rouffignac, nommée aussi “grotte aux cents Mammouths”, dont les peintures rupestres peuvent être datées du Magdalénien final et moyen, soit 11 000 ans avant JC.

Randonner au départ du village de Rouffignac

Vous pourrez arpenter le chemin avec des boucles de randonnées allant de 2 km à 9 km

  • Boucle des Abîmes
  • Boucle de Pinque
  • Boucle de Saint Cernin
  • Boucle des Mammouths
  • Boucle de l’Herm

Les vététistes trouveront aussi leur bonheur avec quatre boucles au départ du village :

Les petits + du village de Rouffignac

Contact

Mairie de Rouffignac
24580 Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac
Tel : 05.53.05.46.46
[email protected]
Site internet


Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu