Take time to explore the village of Sergeac!

Sergeac is a charming village situated on the banks of the Vézère river, 5 km south of Montignac-Lascaux. Surrounded by high cliffs, the village is home to numerous prehistoric sites. As you enter the village, you won't want to miss the monumental hosannière cross. In the centre of the village, you can still see the beautiful fortified round tower of the Château de Cramirat. For many years, it served as the residence of the master tutors of the Templar Community of Sergeac, until they were wiped out on 13 October 1307. The church of Sergeac, a discreet treasure faithful to the original Templar plans, is also just a few steps away. The Hospitallers of Saint John of Jerusalem, who inherited the Sergeac Commandery in 1312, reconstituted a community and in 1316 installed their commander Guillaume de Crémirac in the castle. After being fortified, the castle became the "hospitum de Cramiraco".

Sergeac: a rich prehistoric past

Long before the Knights Templar, the Sergeac site was popular with prehistoric man, as evidenced by the Castel Merle site. This site is home to one of the highest concentrations of deposits in Europe. With no fewer than 10 rock shelters, occupied by man from Neanderthal 85,000 years ago, then by the Man of Cro-Magnon 35,000 years ago.

Sergeac walks and hikes

There's plenty to do around Sergeac! Whether you opt for long distances or simple strolls, a number of walks will enable you to discover the Vézère Valley. Sergeac's trails take you on a journey through nature, history, culture and heritage. Don't forget that these routes can also be used for other activities, such as horse riding and mountain biking.


Two loops of around 2 hours leave from the village:

  • Huts loop
  • The Brandes loop

Practical info

Please note! If you're looking for a hotel in SergeacThere aren't any. The hotel you're probably looking for is the Hotel de Castel Merle, just a few hundred metres away.

Contact

Sergeac Town Hall
Le Bourg
24290 Sergeac
Telephone: 05 53 50 77 80 :
E-mail: [email protected]

Website

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Prenez le temps de découvrir le village de Sergeac !

Sergeac est une charmante commune située en bordure de Vézère à 5 km au sud de Montignac-Lascaux. Bordé de hautes falaises, le village concentre de nombreux gisements préhistoriques. En entrant dans le village, vous ne pourrez pas manquer la monumentale croix hosannière. Dans le centre du village subsiste toujours la belle tour ronde fortifiée du château de Cramirat. Elle servit longtemps de résidence aux maîtres Précepteurs de la Communauté des Templiers de Sergeac, jusqu’à leur anéantissement le 13 octobre 1307. À quelques pas également vous trouverez l’église de Sergeac, un trésor discret, fidèle aux premiers plans des Templiers. Les Hospitaliers de Saint Jean de Jérusalem, héritiers en 1312 de la Commanderie de Sergeac, reconstituèrent une communauté et installèrent en 1316 leur commandeur Guillaume de Crémirac dans le château. Celui-ci, après avoir été fortifié, devint l’ « l’hospitum de Cramiraco ».

Sergeac : un riche passé préhistorique

Bien avant les Templiers, le site de Sergeac a été un lieu apprécié par les hommes préhistoriques, comme en témoigne le site de Castel Merle. Ce site abrite une des plus fortes concentrations de gisements en Europe. Avec pas moins de 10 abris sous roche, occupés par l’Homme de Néandertal il y a 85 000 ans, puis par l’Homme de Cro-Magnon il y a 35 000 ans.

Escapades et randonnées de Sergeac

Des belles escapades vous attendent autour de Sergeac ! Que vous choisissiez de grandes distances ou de simples balades, plusieurs randonnées vous permettent de découvrir la Vallée de la Vézère. Les sentiers de Sergeac vous mènent à la rencontre de la nature, son histoire, sa culture, son patrimoine. N’oubliez pas que ces itinéraires peuvent être fréquentés par d’autres pratiques, à savoir la randonnée équestre et le VTT.


Deux boucles d’environ 2 heures partent du village :

  • Boucle des cabanes
  • Boucle des Brandes

Info pratique

Attention ! Si vous cherchez un hôtel dans Sergeac, il n’y en a pas. L’hôtel que vous cherchez sans doute est l’hôtel de Castel Merle, à quelques centaines de mètres.

Contact

Mairie de Sergeac
Le Bourg
24290 Sergeac
Téléphone : 05 53 50 77 80 :
Courriel : [email protected]

Site internet

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu