denis peryrony

Prehistorian

  • From Périgord
  • Teacher at Les Eyzies

Born in Cussac in the Dordogne in 1869 and died in Sarlat in 1954, Denis Peyrony was a key figure in the prehistory of the Périgord Noir. A schoolteacher in Les Eyzies from 1891 to 1910, he quickly developed a passion for this period of history. 

An extraordinary career

At the end of the First World War, he founded the National Museum of Prehistory Les Eyzies, of which he was the first director, as well as inspector of prehistoric monuments.
He was a pupil of Émile Cartailhac and an excavation companion of theabbé Henri Breuil and Louis Capitan, with whom he discovered the Combarelles cave and that of Font-de-Gaume.

It is said that in his youth, he visited the Grotte du Sourd, also known as "Font-de-Gaume", where he inscribed his surname:

People visited it for a long time without suspecting what it contained, so much so that Mr Peyrony himself, when he started teaching, wrote his name on a beautiful painting of a bison without seeing it.

What he perhaps regretted, when he wrote to Abbé Henri Breuil than

"Beautiful paintings, unfortunately a little damaged by visitors' inscriptions".

A new era, Prehistory

It was a time when the railway line between Périgueux and les Eyzies It was a time when 'antediluvian' man was necessarily primitive and when excavations were more a matter of blasting than precise stratigraphic surveys. In short, it was a forerunner of the archaeological science we know today.

At Savignac-de-Miremont, he excavated the La Ferrassie site (1901-1921), a major Neanderthal site which confirmed, following the discovery of Chapelle aux Saints, that Neanderthals did perform burials. He also excavated at La Madeleine, Le Moustier, Le Ruth, La Micoque, Le Fourneau du diable, L'abri Castanet, L'abri du Poisson, Laugerie-Haute, etc.

From prehistory to tourism

In 1920, he was behind the creation of the syndicat d'inititative des Eyzies, where he organised the first visits to prehistoric sites in the region. Finally, in 1931, he attended the inauguration of the famous statue ofPrimitive Manby Paul Dardé. For the record, Capitan and Peyrony were already talking about creating this statue in 1923:

"For this famous sculptor Dardé, who wants to make a primitive man, to stick the statue in a natural environment, as they insist on doing at the fine arts school, it will be necessary to study the matter (entrance to the château? Under the shelter of the château? At Laugerie-haute?) but above all it will be necessary to prevent him from being fanciful"?

At that time, far from any fantasy, it was considered that this Neanderthal man was 

"The prehuman emerging from animality like a diamond from its gangue".

Denis Peyrony played an active role in making the Eyzies, the "world capital of prehistory".The aim of the project is to promote the conservation of prehistoric remains, the development of tourism and the dissemination of prehistoric knowledge to the general public.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

denis peryrony

Préhistorien

  • Périgourdin
  • Instituteur aux Eyzies

Né à Cussac en Dordogne en 1869 et mort à Sarlat en 1954, Denis Peyrony est un acteur important de la Préhistoire du Périgord Noir. Instituteur aux Eyzies de 1891 à 1910, il se passionnera rapidement pour cette période de l’Histoire. 

Un parcours hors norme

À la fin de la première guerre mondiale, il fonde le Musée National de Préhistoire des Eyzies, dont il sera le premier directeur, ainsi qu’inspecteur des monuments préhistoriques.
Il fut l’élève d’Émile Cartailhac et compagnon de fouille de l’abbé Henri Breuil et de Louis Capitan, avec qui, il découvrit la grotte des Combarelles et celle de Font-de-Gaume.

On dit d’ailleurs que dans sa jeunesse, il se serait rendu dans cette Grotte du Sourd, également nommée “Font-de-Gaume”, où il y aurait inscrit son patronyme:

On la visita longtemps sans se douter de ce qu’elle contenait, si bien que M. Peyrony lui-même, quand il débutait dans l’enseignement, y inscrivit son nom sur une belle peinture de bison sans la voir

Ce qu’il regretta peut-être, quand il écrivit à l’abbé Henri Breuil que des

« Peintures de toute beauté malheureusement un peu dégradées par les inscriptions des visiteurs”.

Une nouvelle ère, la Préhistoire

C’est une époque où la ligne de chemin de fer entre Périgueux et les Eyzies était toute neuve et où les antiquaires et autres commerçants pouvaient encore se confondre avec les préhistoriens… C’est une époque où l’homme “antédiluvien” était forcément primitif et où les fouilles faisaient plus l’objet d’enquêtes à l’explosif que de relevés stratigraphiques précis. Bref, c’était un temps précurseur de la science archéologique que l’on connaît aujourd’hui.

À Savignac-de-Miremont, il fouille le site de la Ferrassie (1901-1921), gisement néandertalien majeur qui confirme, suite à la découverte de la Chapelle aux Saints, que l’homme de Néandertal procédait à des sépultures. Il fouilla également à la Madeleine, au Moustier, au gisement du Ruth, à la Micoque, au Fourneau du diable, à l’abri Castanet, l’abri du Poisson, Laugerie-Haute…

De la Préhistoire au tourisme

En 1920, il fut à l’origine de la création du syndicat d’inititative des Eyzies, où il organisa les premières visites des sites préhistoriques de la région. Enfin en 1931, il se rendit à l’inauguration de la célèbre statue del’Homme Primitifde Paul Dardé. Pour la petite histoire, Capitan et Peyrony, en 1923, parlaient déjà de la création de cette statue :

« Pour ce fameux sculpteur Dardé qui veut faire un homme primitif, coller la statue dans un milieu naturel comme ils y tiennent aux beaux-arts il faudra étudier la chose (entrée du château ? Sous l’abri du château ? À Laugerie-haute ?) mais surtout il faudra l’empêcher de faire de la fantaisie » ?

À cette époque, loin de toute fantaisie, on considérait que cet homme de Néandertal était 

“Le préhomme sortant de l’animalité comme le diamant de sa gangue”

Denis Peyrony participa ainsi activement à faire des Eyzies la “capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire”, à la patrimonialisation des vestiges préhistoriques, ainsi qu’au développement du tourisme et à la vulgarisation des connaissances préhistoriques avec le grand public.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu