Shimmering colours, autumnal flavours, forest walks and peace and quiet... It's autumn in the Périgord Noir, and we've got all the advice you need to make the most of your stay in the Dordogne during this beautiful season.

©ALR

Incredible colours

In autumn, the landscapes of the Périgord Noir are decked out in warm colours. Explore the parks and footpaths of the Dordogne to discover all the beauty of our department.

 

A walk through the forests of the Périgord Noir

Put on your best pair of trainers and set off to discover the unspoilt nature of the Dordogne. From Montignac-Lascaux to Limeuil, the Vézère valley is full of (no, it's not truffle season yet) hiking trails like that of 7 Tours at Les Eyzies and Péchorel in Journiac. All of them offer you a unique opportunity to discover the area: the forest decked out in golden hues, walnut and chestnut trees lining your path... Our little piece of advice: Listen carefully and keep your eyes wide open. Who knows, you might just catch a glimpse of the king of our forests: the deer.

ALR

Lascaux remains open

The Centre International de l'Art Pariétal is open from February to December. Make the most of the autumn calm to book your visit.

Visit at your own pace

While some sites close their doors at the end of the season... Others are still open and ready to welcome you during your stay.
Take advantage of the peaceful autumn to brush up on your historical knowledge with a visit to the Roque Saint-Christophe or de la Madeleine. Then go to National Museum of Prehistory or to the Prehistory Interpretation CentreLocated in the heart of the village of Les Eyzies, you can find out all about our ancestors. We promise you won't be bored: the Proumeyssac chasmthe Grotte du Grand Roc or theAquarium du Périgord NoirYou're spoilt for choice.

Fun with family and friends

In autumn, the Vézère valley and the Périgord Noir come alive with activities and events for all ages. Organised walks, musical events or activities for children... There's plenty to do! Coming for the All Saints' Day holidays? The sites offer a whole host of new activities to celebrate the holidays and the famous Halloween festival. From fun activities to thrills and chills, there's something for everyone.

Strolling through the narrow streets of our villages 

Stroll from village to village to discover the charm and beauty of our local architecture. 

Stop off at Saint-Léon-sur-VézèreTake a stroll through the narrow streets and push open the doors of our craftsmen's workshops. They'll be delighted to chat with you and share their well-preserved skills.

©ALR

Fresh walnut season

The health benefits of walnuts are well established. Walnuts from Périgord can be enjoyed as a dressing for salads or in cakes. Mmm!

Tasty products made in Périgord

Autumn is the season for mushrooms, walnuts and chestnuts... they adorn the stalls of the local shops. local markets and bring an autumnal touch to your dishes. We love a good duck breast with chestnut purée and a drizzle of walnut oil! And to satisfy your sweet tooth, the icing on the cake is a slice of Lascaux, a walnut-based cake made in the best bakery in Montignac-Lascaux. What better way to accompany this delicious meal than with a bottle of Bergerac wine. Autumn is also harvest season, so make the most of your stay in the Dordogne to visit the Bergerac vineyards and bring back a bottle or two as a souvenir.

Need help planning your holiday?

Contact the Lascaux-Dordogne, Vézère Valley Tourist Office. We'll guide you before and during your stay: activities to do, events not to miss depending on your school holiday zone, the perfect hotel for you and your family or nature accommodation to relax in. Our local experts will answer all your questions.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Couleurs chatoyantes, saveurs automnales, balades en forêts et tranquillité.. C’est l’automne en Périgord Noir et on vous donne tous nos bons conseils pour profiter pleinement de votre séjour en Dordogne pendant cette belle saison.

©ALR

Des couleurs incroyables

En automne, les paysages du Périgord Noir se parent de couleurs chaudes. Explorez les parcs et sentiers de randonnées de Dordogne pour découvrir toute la beauté de notre département.

 

On arpente les forêts du Périgord Noir

Chaussez votre meilleure paire de baskets et partez à la découverte de la nature préservée de la Dordogne. De Montignac-Lascaux à Limeuil, la vallée de la Vézère est truffée (non, ce n’est pas encore la saison des truffes) de sentiers de randonnées comme celle des 7 Tours aux Eyzies et celle de Péchorel à Journiac. Toutes vous offrent une découverte unique du territoire : la forêt parée de couleur dorée, les noyers et châtaigniers bordant votre chemin.. Notre petit conseil : Tendez l’oreille et ouvrez grand les yeux, qui sait, peut-être aurez vous la chance d’apercevoir le roi de nos forêts : le cerf.

ALR

L'incontournable Lascaux reste ouvert

Le Centre International de l’Art Pariétal est ouvert de février à décembre. On profite du calme de l’automne pour réserver sa visite.

On visite à son rythme

Si quelques sites ferment leurs portes en fin de saison.. D’autres sont encore bien ouverts et prêts à vous accueillir pendant votre séjour.
Profitez de la tranquillité de l’Automne pour peaufiner vos connaissances historiques avec une visite de la Roque Saint-Christophe ou de la Madeleine. Rendez-vous ensuite au Musée national de Préhistoire ou bien au Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire, situés au cœur du village des Eyzies, pour tout savoir de nos ancêtres. On vous le promet vous n’allez pas vous ennuyer : le Gouffre de Proumeyssac, la Grotte du Grand Roc ou encore l’Aquarium du Périgord Noir, vous avez l’embarras du choix.

On s’amuse en famille ou entre amis

En automne, la vallée de la Vézère et le Périgord Noir s’animent d’activités et d’évènements pour petits et grands. Randonnées organisées, événements musicaux ou activités pour enfants.. Il y a de quoi faire ! Vous venez pour les vacances de la Toussaint ? Les sites offrent des activités inédites à l’occasion des vacances et de la célèbre fête d’Halloween. Entre activités ludiques et grands frissons, il y en a pour tous les goûts.

On flâne dans les ruelles de nos villages 

Promenez vous de villages en villages pour découvrir tout le charme et la beauté de notre architecture locale. 

Faites une halte à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère, baladez vous dans ses ruelles et profitez en pour pousser la porte des ateliers de nos artisans. Ils seront ravis de discuter avec vous et de vous partager leur savoir-faire si bien garder.

©ALR

La saison de la noix fraîche

Les vertus de la noix pour la santé ne sont plus à prouver. On savoure la noix du Périgord en assaisonnement de nos salades ou en gâteau. Hum !

On déguste de savoureux produits “made in Périgord”

L’automne, c’est la saison des champignons, des noix et des châtaignes.. ils garnissent les étalages des marchés locaux et apportent une touche automnale à vos assiettes. Un bon magret de canard, sa purée de châtaigne, son filet d’huile de noix.. nous on adore ! Et pour satisfaire votre gourmandise, cerise sur le gâteau, dégustez une part du Lascaux, un gâteau à base de noix, élaboré dans la meilleure boulangerie de Montignac-Lascaux. Quoi de mieux pour accompagner ce bon repas, qu’une bouteille de vin de Bergerac. L’automne, c’est aussi la saison des vendanges, profitez de votre séjour en Dordogne pour faire un saut dans les vignobles bergeracois et ramener une ou deux bouteilles en souvenir.

Besoin d'aide pour préparer vos vacances ?

Contacter l’Office de Tourisme Lascaux-Dordogne, Vallée Vézère. Nous vous guiderons avant et pendant votre séjour :  activités à pratiquer, événements à ne pas rater en fonction de votre zone de vacances scolaires, l’hôtel parfait pour vous et votre famille ou l’hébergement nature pour vous relaxer. Nos experts du territoire répondront à toutes vos questions.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu