There are so many wonders to discover in our region! Just imagine: from troglodyte caves to medieval castles and extraordinary gardens, you're spoilt for choice. But we're going to add another line to your already packed programme, with a visit to the bastides of Périgord. Typical of the Dordogne, they too will take you to another time and place. So don't hesitate! Follow the guide through some of the most beautiful bastides in the region. You won't be disappointed...

What is a bastide in Périgord?

If you're not from around here, you may not be familiar with this type of town or village, whose layout is always more or less the same.

History of the term "bastide

The term "bastide" comes from the word "bastida", which means to build.

Originally, the term was used to describe a wooden tower used by attackers to lay siege to fortresses. This new but temporary construction was then used to reinforce the weak point of the enclosure. 

Finally, this term is used to define the new towns founded for the King of France or England during the 13th century.e century and the XIVe century. 

A new type of city

They are new because they have a different layout to the one previously used: the town is not organised around a castle or a church, but around a "town square". square with arcades

It was created "ex nihilo" to bring together the personnel who would look after the lands of a lord. In the Périgord, people living near the castles migrated to restructure around a new village, such as Beaumont. But the typical example that all town planners and historians remember is Monpazier. Other bastide lovers will tell you about Eymet, DommeBeaumont, Villefranche, Saint-Aulaye: they are the backdrop for a host of events, including festivals and truffle and foie gras markets.

Why is the Périgord nicknamed the "land of fortified towns"?

These villages are not confined to the Périgord: you can find bastides all over south-west France. Between 1222 and 1373, 400 bastides were built, including 25 in Périgord. The Périgord region has preserved many of them. 

What are the special features of each bastide in the Dordogne?

All the bastides of Périgord have their own special characteristics. We'd be delighted to invite you to visit Monpazier and Domme, both of which have been awarded the "Most Beautiful Villages in France" label.

Monpazier, the must-see bastide in the Dordogne

You'll fall under the spell of Monpazier and its famous Place des Cornières, which forms an almost perfect square. Its arcades welcome you in the cool shade. The former Récollets convent is also well worth a visit: it houses the Bastideum, a space where you can find all the information you need on the history of the bastides of Périgord. And don't forget to visit the church of Saint Dominique and the central market hall.

Domme and its exceptional esplanade overlooking the Dordogne valley

You'll enter the bastide through a medieval gateway - there are three in the village, and two of them are your gateways into the village. Let yourself be carried along the narrow streets to the incredible panorama of the esplanade de la Barre, or venture underground to visit the natural cave beneath the village.

Beaumont-du-Périgord, the English model of the Périgord country house

The bastides were built by the French, but also by the English. This is essentially due to the history of this part of New Aquitaine. It became English following the marriage of Eleanor of Aquitaine to the future King of England, Henry II Plantagenet.
You'll discover all the charm of this bastide town with its fortified houses and the remains of the ramparts. Not forgetting the magnificent church of Saint-Laurent-et-Saint-Front, which withstood the onslaught of the 100 Years' War! 

Is there a tour of the bastides in Périgord?

But of course! With this tour of the bastides (fortified towns), you won't miss a thing of these marvellous villages. Let's set off for a stroll through Périgord's bastide country!

Start with the bastide town of Monpazier, then head for Villefranche du Périgord, 17 km away. Then it's time to head for the bastide town of Domme and its incredible panorama. Want to keep going? Then it's time to discover Beaumont-du-Périgord on the way to the châteaux of Beynac-et-Cazenac and Cadouin Abbey. Then continue on to the bastide town of Eymet. 

For your information, here is a list of all the other bastides you can visit in the Dordogne during your holiday:

  • Beaumont-du-Périgord ;
  • Lalinde ;
  • Molières ;
  • Monestier ;
  • Monpazier ;
  • Puyguilhem ;
  • Saint-Aulaye ;
  • Tocane ; 
  • Vergt ;
  • Villefranche-de-Lonchat ;
  • Villefranche-du-Périgord.

Don't forget to drop in at the Tourist Office in each village or bastide. Tourism professionals will be able to give you all the information you need about activities, heritage and monuments not to be missed!

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Notre région offre de nombreuses merveilles à découvrir ! Imaginez : des grottes troglodytiques aux châteaux moyenâgeux, en passant par les jardins extraordinaires, vous avez l’embarras du choix. Mais nous allons rajouter une ligne à votre programme déjà chargé, avec la visite des bastides du Périgord. Typiques de notre Dordogne, elles vous emmènent elles aussi dans un autre espace-temps. Alors n’hésitez pas ! Suivez le guide parmi les plus belles bastides du territoire. Vous ne serez pas déçus…

Qu’est-ce qu’une bastide du Périgord ?

Si vous n’êtes pas du coin, vous ne connaissez peut-être pas ce type de ville ou de village dont le plan est toujours plus ou moins le même.

Histoire du terme “bastide”

Le terme de “bastide” vient du mot “bastida” qui signifie bâtir.

À l’origine, cela désignait surtout une tour en bois que les assaillants plaçaient pour assiéger les forteresses. Cette construction neuve, mais provisoire, sert ensuite à renforcer le point faible de l’enceinte. 

Finalement ce terme est utilisé pour définir les villes nouvelles fondées pour le roi de France ou d’Angleterre au cours du XIIIe siècle et du XIVe siècle. 

Une ville d’un nouveau type

Elles sont nouvelles car leur plan est différent de celui qui était jusque-là utilisé : la ville n’est pas organisée autour d’un château ou d’une église, mais d’une place avec des arcades

Elle est créée “ex nihilo” pour regrouper le personnel qui va s’occuper des terres d’un seigneur. Dans le Périgord, les populations, vivant près des châteaux, vont migrer et se restructurer autour d’un nouveau village comme Beaumont, par exemple. Mais l’exemple typique que tous les urbanistes et historiens retiennent est Monpazier. D’autres amoureux des bastides vous évoqueront Eymet, Domme, Beaumont, Villefranche, Saint-Aulaye : elles sont le décor de multiples manifestations, comme des festivals ou des marchés aux truffes ou aux foies gras.

Pourquoi le Périgord est surnommé le "pays des bastides" ?

Ces villages ne sont pas présents uniquement dans le Périgord : vous pouvez trouver des bastides dans tout le sud-ouest de la France. Entre 1222 et 1373, 400 bastides ont été construites dont 25 en Périgord. Le Périgord a su conserver nombre d’entre elles. 

Quelles sont les particularités de chaque bastide en Dordogne ?

Toutes les bastides du Périgord ont leurs spécificités. Et nous ne pouvons que vous inviter à visiter Monpazier, mais aussi Domme, deux villages labelisés également “Plus Beaux Villages de France”.

Monpazier, l’incontournable bastide de Dordogne

Vous allez tomber sous le charme de Monpazier et de sa célèbre place des Cornières qui forme un carré presque parfait. Ses arcades vous accueillent à l’ombre, dans la fraîcheur. L’ancien couvent des Récollets mérite aussi une visite : il abrite le Bastideum, un espace où sont réunies toutes les informations sur l’histoire des bastides du Périgord. Lors de votre balade, n’oubliez pas non plus de visiter l’église Saint Dominique, ainsi que la halle centrale.

Domme et son esplanade exceptionnelle sur la vallée de la Dordogne

Votre entrée dans la bastide se fera par une porte médiévale, le village en comporte trois et deux d’entre elles sont vos points d’accès au village. Laissez-vous porter au fil des ruelles jusqu’à l’incroyable panorama de l’esplanade de la Barre, ou aventurez-vous sous terre pour visiter la grotte naturelle qui se situe sous le village.

Beaumont-du-Périgord, modèle anglais de la bastide périgourdine

Les bastides ont été érigées par les Français, mais aussi par les Anglais. C’est essentiellement dû à l’histoire de cette partie de la Nouvelle-Aquitaine. En effet, elle est devenue anglaise suite au mariage d’Aliénor d’Aquitaine avec le futur roi d’Angleterre, Henri II Plantagenêt.
Vous allez découvrir tout le charme de cette bastide avec ses maisons fortifiées ainsi que les vestiges des remparts. Sans oublier la magnifique église Saint-Laurent-et-Saint-Front qui a résisté aux assauts de la Guerre de 100 ans ! 

Existe-t-il un circuit des bastides dans le Périgord ?

Mais bien sûr ! Ce circuit des bastides vous permet de ne rien rater de ces merveilleux villages. c’est parti pour une balade en Périgord au pays des bastides !

La bastide de Monpazier pour commencer, puis vous pouvez vous diriger vers Villefranche du Périgord qui se trouve à 17 km. Ensuite, il est temps de rejoindre la bastide de Domme et son panorama incroyable. Vous voulez continuer ? C’est le moment de découvrir Beaumont-du-Périgord sur la route des châteaux de Beynac-et-Cazenac et de l’abbaye de Cadouin. Pour ensuite continuer vers la bastide d’Eymet. 

Pour info, voici la liste de toutes les autres bastides que vous pouvez visiter en Dordogne pendant vos vacances :

  • Beaumont-du-Périgord ;
  • Lalinde ;
  • Molières ;
  • Monestier ;
  • Monpazier ;
  • Puyguilhem ;
  • Saint-Aulaye ;
  • Tocane ; 
  • Vergt ;
  • Villefranche-de-Lonchat ;
  • Villefranche-du-Périgord.

Pensez aussi à pousser la porte de l’Office de Tourisme de chaque village ou bastide. Les professionnels du tourisme pourront vous donner des informations sur les activités, le patrimoine ou encore les monuments à ne pas manquer !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu