The Dordogne department, also known as Périgord, is divided into four colours. The Bergeracois is a vast region in the south-west of the Dordogne, corresponding to the Purple Périgord, which includes the town of Bergerac, from which it takes its name, as well as other communes, such as the bastides of Monpazier, Beaumont du Périgord and Lalinde, and charming little villages such as Paunat and Molière.

Bergerac

The town of Bergerac is one of sub-prefecture of the Dordogne. Close to the Gironde and Lot-et-Garonne départements, it is a gateway to the département, thanks in particular to its airport. Regular links to the UK and the rest of Europe make it a cosmopolitan city.

Many visitors to the Périgord plan to visit Bergerac during their stay for two main reasons: Cyrano de Bergerac and Bergerac vineyards. However, these are not the only assets of this town: when you walk around it, you fall under its spell and discover its fascinating history.

Cyrano de Bergerac, THE character of the town

©pixabay

This famous character, invented by Edmond Rostand, doesn't feature much in the medieval town of Bergerac. Only two statues in the effigy of the character from the novel of the same name can be seen in the narrow streets.

The most remarkable is certainly the bronze one near the Place des Halles.

But what would Cyrano be without Roxane? Bergerac honours the play's heroine by giving her the name of Rocksane to its concert hall.

The town of Bergerac

Bergerac - Riverside

There are many ways to discover Bergerac. You can 

  • let yourself be carried away by the small train. Leaving from the rue des Récollets, you will walk along the quays and then visit the medieval streets.
  • sailing aboard a gabarre. Bergerac, once a major port, no longer trades on its river. However, it is interesting to understand the link between the river Dordogne and the construction of this port town, which was totally built around the transport of wine.
  • stroll through the city centre at your own pace. On a discovery trail or on a guided tour organised by the town, you can explore the rue des fontaines with its little stalls, the Récollet cloister and its exhibitions, or the Notre Dame de Bergerac church and its bell tower perched almost 80 metres high.

The Bergerac vineyards

©pixabay

The town of Bergerac was built around the wine trade, as the exceptional terroir close to the medieval town has enabled the development of the wine industry. vine growing. 


Discover the vineyards of Monbazillac, Pécharmant or Saussignac on your own or with a guide:

- visit to the cellar with the cellar master
- visit to the vineyards accompanied by the producer
- a simple bike ride through the vineyards
- discover the Château de Monbazillac and its well-stocked cellar
- purchase from the Sigoulès winegrowers' cellar

It's up to you to choose the package that's right for you...

After admiring all these vines, we invite you to to enjoy Bergerac wines ! Many wine merchants, restaurants and bars in the Bergerac area offer wine tastings. We recommend the rooftop terrace of the Bergerac Tourist Office, which is a great place for wine tasting. wine bar to delight your eyes and taste buds 😉 You'll also find valuable advice on the various tour options mentioned above and a list of the most popular ones. list of wineries who are delighted to welcome the amateur public.

The Bastides

All around the town of Bergerac, there are villages known as bastides to visit. Each of them has its own particularity but they all retain the original layout.

What is a bastide?

A bastide responds to a architecture composed of a central square and alleys arranged all around in the form of orthogonal. The Dordogne is full of bastides in its southern part, particularly in the Bergerac region, but this type of architecture can also be seen in the Gers, Landes and nearby Lot et Garonne.

Which bastide to visit?

Monpazier ? Eymet ? Beaumont du Périgord ? Villefranche du Périgord ? Lalinde ?

Good to know

If you want to explore the Dordogne and discover the 4 Périgords, our itinerary has been designed for you. Practical" proposals.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le département de la Dordogne, aussi appelé Périgord, est divisé en quatre couleurs. Le bergeracois est une vaste région du sud ouest de la Dordogne qui correspond au Périgord pourpre et qui comprend la ville de Bergerac, qui lui donne son nom, mais également d’autres communes, comme les bastides de Monpazier, Beaumont du Périgord ou encore Lalinde, ainsi que des petits villages plein de charme comme Paunat et Molière.

Bergerac

La ville de Bergerac est une des sous-préfecture de la Dordogne. Proche des départements de la Gironde et du Lot et Garonne, elle est une porte d’entrée dans le département, notamment grâce à son aéroport. Des liaisons régulières vers le Royaume-Uni et le reste de l’Europe en font une ville cosmopolite.

Nombre de visiteurs du Périgord programment la ville de Bergerac pendant leur séjour pour deux raisons principales : Cyrano de Bergerac et les vignobles de Bergerac. Toutefois, ce ne sont pas là les seuls atouts de cette ville: lorsque l’on s’y promène, on tombe sous le charme et on y découvre son histoire tout à fait passionnante.

Cyrano de Bergerac, LE personnage de la ville

©pixabay

Ce célèbre personnage inventé par Edmond Rostand est finalement peu présent dans la ville médiévale de Bergerac. Seules deux statues à l’effigie du personnage du roman éponyme sont visibles au détour des ruelles.

La plus remarquable est certainement celle en bronze près de la place des halles.

Mais que serait Cyrano sans Roxane ? Bergerac fait honneur à l’héroïne de la pièce de théâtre en offrant le nom de Rocksane à sa salle de concert.

La ville de Bergerac

Bergerac - Bordure de rivière

La découverte de la ville de Bergerac peut se faire de différentes manières. Vous avez la possibilité de 

  • vous laissez porter par le petit train. Au départ de la rue des Récollets, vous longerez les quais puis visiterez les ruelles médiévales.
  • naviguer à bord d’une gabarre. Bergerac, autrefois port important, ne commerce plus par sa rivière. Toutefois, il est intéressant de comprendre le lien entre la rivière Dordogne et la construction de cette ville portuaire, totalement aménagée autour du transport du vin.
  • arpenter le centre-ville à votre rythme. Grâce à un sentier de découverte ou à travers une visite guidée organisée par la ville, vous découvrirez la rue des fontaines avec ses petites échoppes, le cloitre du récollet et ses expositions ou encore l’église Notre Dame de Bergerac et son clocher perché à près de 80 mètres de hauteur.

Les vignobles de Bergerac

©pixabay

La commune de Bergerac s’est construite autour de la négoce du vin car tout près de la cité médiévale, un exceptionnel terroir a permis de développer la culture de la vigne. 


Découvrez les vignobles de Monbazillac, Pécharmant ou Saussignac en autonomie ou en version accompagnée :

– visite du caveau avec le maitre de chai
– visite des vignobles accompagnés par le producteur
– simple balade à vélo à travers les pieds de vignes
– découverte du château de Monbazillac et son caveau bien fourni
– achat à la cave des vignerons de Sigoulès

À vous de choisir la formule qui vous convient…

Après avoir admirer tous ces ceps de vigne, on vous invite à déguster les vins de Bergerac ! Nombre de cavistes, restaurants ou bars des alentours de Bergerac proposent des dégustations. On vous recommande le toit terrasse de l’Office de Tourisme de Bergerac, un bar à vins y est installé pour le plaisir des yeux et des papilles 😉 Vous trouverez également de précieux conseils sur les différentes formules de visite citées précédemment et une liste des domaines viticoles qui accueillent avec grand plaisir le public d’amateurs.

Les Bastides

Tout autour de la ville de Bergerac, des villages connus sous le nom de bastides sont à visiter. Chacune d’entre elles a sa particularité néanmoins elles conservent toutes le plan initial.

Qu’est-ce qu’une bastide ?

Une bastide répond à une architecture particulière composée d’une place centrale et de ruelles disposées tout autour sous forme orthogonale. La Dordogne regorge de bastides dans sa partie sud et particulièrement en bergeracois, toutefois ce plan architectural est également visible dans le Gers, dans les Landes ou bien tout près : dans le Lot et Garonne.

Quelle bastide visiter ?

Monpazier ? Eymet ? Beaumont du Périgord ? Villefranche du Périgord ? Lalinde ? …

Bon à savoir

Vous souhaitez vadrouiller en Dordogne et partir à la découverte des 4 Périgords, un itinéraire est conçu pour vous dans nos propositions “Pratique”.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu