To discover Périgueux is to fall under the spell of a town that has been awarded the "d'Art et d'Histoire" (Art and History) label. Close to the Périgord Noir, the capital of the Dordogne boasts a wealth of cultural attractions.

Diving into the heart of Roman times

Périgueux, built on a domus, keeps the numerous remains from the Gallo-Roman era. Le Vésone districtVesunna, where one of the city's 28 towers still stands, along with the remains of the stronghold where the Petrocores lived, boasts the Vesunna Museum, designed by world-renowned architect Jean Nouvel. As you enter the museum, you can see how the city was laid out in those days, thanks to a scale model, before descending onto the footbridges overlooking the domus. 
All around, the wooded park of Vésone makes for great family Sundays at the foot of the Vésone tower.

Another museum in Périgueux has Gallo-Roman remains: MAAP. The Musée d'Art et d'Archéologie du Périgord guides visitors through the different periods of history that have shaped the Dordogne: from prehistory through antiquity to the Middle Ages.

Périgueux, a medieval city

Two distinct districts attract visitors to Périgueux. The Vésone districtatypical in the Dordogne, and the city's hypercentre with its medieval streets, more traditional in Périgord. Visit guided tours are organised to discover the hidden interiors of the town's many private mansions. 
The charm of the administrative capital lies in these squares nestling in the heart of the town, where restaurants, shops and local life mingle with the history of the place. Périgueux has managed to preserve and protect its town centre, with many medieval houses still visible, particularly along the quays of the Isle. An itinerary Terra Aventura will help you discover all these treasures.

Getting around Périgueux

The tourist areas are just a few kilometres away. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes' walk from Parc de Vésone to Place de la Clautre. 
A little tourist train allows you to visit these two parts of the city in 45 minutes without tiring. The town centre is largely pedestrianised in summer. To get to Périgueux, buses serve the four corners of the Périgord and the station provides a relatively easy link between the Dordogne and Bordeaux, Agen or Limoges.

A stopover for pilgrims

While Périgueux has preserved its medieval streets intact, you'll find something special in the rue de la sagesse Between the cobblestones are words to ponder. Rue LimogeanneThis narrow artery, the main street in the medieval quarter, is littered with shells. This is the landmark that guides pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela. 
Périgueux is a stop on the GR 654 which departs from Vézelay to reach Galicia's most famous town, where believers from all over the world meet up after covering many kilometres and a packed credencial.

Saint-Front Cathedral

A true emblem of the city, the building at the white stoneThe route, which is typical of this part of Périgord, has been a World Heritage Site since 1998 as part of the Pilgrim's Way to Santiago de Compostela. It is possible to visit the cloister and its roofs only with professional guides (ask at the tourist office) but the door to Saint-Front cathedral is still open. open for self-guided tours. Saint-Front cathedral is famous for its domes, restored by the architect Paul Abadie, who used the same technique at the Sacré Coeur in Paris. It also has two organs, which give magnificent concerts in summer.

A lively town all year round

In winter, the markets punctuate the weeks of Pétrocoriens. Fat markets and truffle markets in Place Saint-Louis are held alongside the traditional markets in Place de la Clautre, Place des Halles and Rue Taillefer on Saturdays.


During the summer months the quays of the Isle which come alive with a special layout featuring concerts, pedalos, salsa classes and beach volleyball competitions.
And throughout the year, bars, shopkeepers and cultural venues such as the Sans Réserve and the Odyssée theatre liven up the evenings.

Greater Périgueux

Sorges

Just a few kilometres from the administrative capital of the Dordogne, Sorges taunts its neighbour by clearly revealing its ambitions.
The best truffles de Dordogne are from Sorges". That's what you read when you arrive in this village that lives around the black gold of the Périgord. The truffle inn, the truffle eco-museum, the interpretation trail and, of course, the renowned specialist market are just some of the reasons why this village is so proud of its reputation. 

DEG_Truffes_november 2017©A.Borderie (2)

Vergt

A little further south of the Périgueux conurbation, another village enjoys the good fortune of possessing an exceptional agricultural terroir. Vergt and the surrounding area specialise in the cultivation of strawberry. Every year, the strawberry festival in Vergt attracts thousands of visitors.

The Isle Valley

Périgueux is the epicentre of the River Isle. The port, quays and half-timbered houses such as the Maison des Consuls tell the story of the town's river past. Boats stopped plying the Isle a long time ago, but you can still enjoy the peace and quiet of the river on a canoe trip or along it thanks to the landscaped greenway for almost 100 kilometres.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Découvrir Périgueux, c’est tomber sous le charme d’une ville labellisée d’Art et d’Histoire. À proximité du Périgord Noir, la capitale de la Dordogne possède de nombreuses richesses culturelles.

Plongée au coeur de l’époque romaine

Périgueux, construite sur un domus, garde de nombreux vestiges de l’époque gallo-romaine. Le quartier de Vésone, où trône encore l’une des 28 tours de la ville et des vestiges de la place forte où vivaient les Pétrocores, peut s’enorgueillir de posséder le musée Vesunna, pensé par l’architecte de renommée mondiale : Jean Nouvel. En poussant les portes du musée, on découvre l’aménagement de la ville de l’époque grâce à une maquette avant de descendre sur les passerelles qui surplombent le domus. 
Tout autour, le parc arboré de Vésone permet de beaux dimanches en famille au pied de la tour de Vésone.

Un autre musée de Périgueux possède des vestiges gallo-romains : le MAAP. Le Musée d’Art et d’Archéologie du Périgord guide le visiteur à travers les différentes périodes de l’histoire qui ont construit la Dordogne : de la Préhistoire au Moyen-Âge en passant par l’Antiquité.

Périgueux, ville médiévale

Deux quartiers bien distincts séduisent les visiteurs de Périgueux. Le quartier de Vésone, atypique en Dordogne, et l’hypercentre de la ville avec ses ruelles médiévales, plus traditionnel en Périgord. Des visites guidées sont organisées pour découvrir les intérieurs cachés des hôtels particuliers dont regorge la ville. 
Le charme de la capitale administrative réside dans ces placettes nichées dans le cœur de ville où restaurants, boutiques et vie locale se mêlent à l’histoire du lieu. Périgueux a su conserver et protéger son centre ville : de nombreuses maisons médiévales sont visibles, notamment le long des quais de l’Isle. Un parcours Terra Aventura vous amène à découvrir tous ces trésors.

Se déplacer à Périgueux

Les quartiers touristiques sont distants de quelques kilomètres. Il faut compter environ 15 à 20 minutes de marche du parc de Vésone à la place de la Clautre. 
Un petit train touristique permet de visiter ces deux parties de la ville en 45 minutes et sans fatigue. Le centre ville est en grande partie piétonnier en période estivale. Pour accéder à Périgueux, des bus desservent les quatre coins du Périgord et la gare permet de relier la Dordogne à Bordeaux, Agen ou Limoges assez facilement.

Un arrêt pour les pélerins

Si Périgueux a conservé ses ruelles médiévales intactes, mais vous découvrirez une particularité dans la rue de la sagesse : entre les pavés sont apposés des mots qui laissent à méditer. La rue Limogeanne, artère étroite et rue principale du quartier médiéval est quant à elle jonchée de coquilles au sol. C’est le repère qui guide les pélerins sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. 
Périgueux est un arrêt sur le GR 654 qui part de Vézelay pour rejoindre la plus célèbre des villes de Galice ou croyants du monde entier se retrouvent après de nombreux kilomètres parcourus et un crédenciale bien rempli.

La cathédrale Saint-Front

Véritable emblème de la ville, l’édifice à la pierre blanche, typique de cette partie du Périgord, est classé au Patrimoine Mondial depuis 1998 au titre des chemins de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Il est possible de visiter son cloitre et ses toits uniquement avec des guides professionnels (rapprochez vous de l’office de tourisme) mais la porte de la cathédrale Saint-Front reste toujours ouverte pour une visite libre. La cathédrale Saint-Front est célèbre pour ses coupoles restaurées par l’architecte Paul Abadie qui reproduisit la même technique au Sacré Cœur de Paris, elle possède également deux orgues qui offrent de magnifiques concerts en été.

Une ville animée toute l’année

En hiver, les marchés ponctuent les semaines des pétrocoriens. Marchés au gras et marchés aux truffes sur la place Saint-Louis jouxtent les marchés traditionnels de la place de la Clautre, de la place des halles et de la rue Taillefer les samedi.


En période estivale, ce sont les quais de l’Isle qui s’animent avec un aménagement particulier où concerts, pédalos, cours de salsa et compétition de beach volley se succèdent au gré des envies.
Et tout au long de l’année, ce sont les bars, commerçants et scènes culturelles comme le Sans Réserve ou le théâtre de l’Odyssée qui animent les soirées des périgourdins.

Le Grand Périgueux

Sorges

À quelques kilomètres de la capitale administrative de la Dordogne, Sorges nargue sa voisine en révélant clairement ses ambitions.
Les meilleures truffes de Dordogne sont de Sorges”. Voilà ce qu’on peut lire lorsque l’on arrive dans ce village qui vit autour de l’or noir du Périgord. L’auberge de la truffe, l’écomusée de la truffe, le sentier d’interprétation et bien sûr son marché spécialisé et reconnu donnent raison à cette commune qui affiche ses prétentions. 

DEG_Truffes_novembre 2017©A.Borderie (2)

Vergt

Un peu plus au sud de l’agglomération de Périgueux, un autre village savoure la chance de posséder un terroir exceptionnel pour l’agriculture. Vergt et ses alentours se sont spécialisés dans la culture de la fraise. Chaque année, la fête de la fraise de Vergt attire des milliers de visiteurs.

La vallée de l’Isle

Périgueux est l’épicentre de la rivière Isle. Le port, les quais et les maisons à colombages tels que la maison des consuls racontent le passé fluvial de la ville. Les bateaux ne naviguent plus sur l’Isle depuis longtemps, toutefois on peut apprécier la quiétude de la rivière lors d’une promenade en canoë ou en longeant celle-ci grâce à la voie verte aménagée sur près de 100 kilomètres.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu