A peaceful town full of charm

Aubas is proud to have been able to retain its lock built for navigability on the Vézère. This was never used, as a railway line was built at the same time.
Thanks to the various dams along its length, the Vézère has never been short of water... (remember that the Vézère used to be navigable as far as Limeuil). Although all the other dams have been razed to the ground, Aubas has kept its own, firstly used as a mill and then a power station. As a result, the village got electricity very early on. This hydraulic heritage and its environment should be taken into account when you walk through Aubas. It is a key feature of the local landscape.
In the centre of the village, a huge plane tree, several hundred years old, shades the small square.

Hiking from the village of Aubas

In the square, walkers and mountain bikers will find the start of the Châteaux loop, where they can see Château de Sauveboeuf, in the Louis XIII style, which stands on the banks of the Vézère. The two-storey main building, adorned with beautiful sculpted dormer windows, is flanked by two pavilions set at right-angles, with rusticated corners. A classical gateway adorned with fire pots precedes the main courtyard. Sauveboeuf was the seat of an important seigneury that became a marquisate, and belonged to the Ferrières de la Brunie and Riqueti families. Mirabeau was exiled here.

L'Escaleyrou, panoramic viewpoint situated on a steep cliff called "Le Bout du Monde", dominates the Vézère Valley. Upstream, you can admire the Château de la Petite Filolie and La Fleunie, and downstream the Château de Sauveboeuf.

At the end of the walk, the path once again overlooks the Vézère and offers magnificent views of the village of Aubas, the dam and the entire valley as far as Montignac-Lascaux.

Aubas: from Prehistory to the Renaissance

At the heart of the Périgord Black, Sauveboeuf Castle Museum is a magnificent 17th-century French château, and its 14th-century cellars hide a treasure trove: a prehistory museum comprising a large private collection. Some very fine pieces from the most famous sites: Lascaux, La Madeleine, Cro-Magnon, la Ferrassie... A prehistoric heritage well preserved by its passionate owner: Claude Douce.

The little extras in the village of Aubas

  • Viewpoint and orientation table on the côteau de l'Escaleyrou

Contact

Aubas Town Hall

Le Bourg

24290 Aubas

Tel.: 05 53 51 73 40

Mail: [email protected]

Website : www.aubas.fr

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Commune paisible et pleine de charme

Aubas peut se vanter d’avoir pu conserver son écluse bâtie pour la navigabilité sur la Vézère. Celle-ci n’a jamais servi puisqu’une ligne de chemin de fer fut construite en même temps.
Grâce aux différents barrages qui jalonnent la rivière sur toute sa longueur, la Vézère n’a jamais manqué d’eau… (rappelons que le Vézère était navigable jusqu’à Limeuil auparavant). Si tous les autres barrages ont été rasés, Aubas conserve le sien, d’abord utilisé comme moulin puis usine électrique. Ainsi le village a obtenu l’électricité très tôt. Ce patrimoine hydraulique et son environnement sont à prendre en compte lors de votre promenade à Aubas. Il constitue un marqueur du paysage de ce territoire.
Au centre du village un immense platane, plusieurs fois centenaire, donne de l’ombre à la petite place.

Randonner au départ du village d’Aubas

Sur la place, le promeneur et le vététiste trouveront le départ de la boucle des Châteaux, qui lui permettra d’apercevoir le Château de Sauveboeuf, de style Louis XIII, qui s’élève au bord de la Vézère. Le corps de logis à étage, agrémenté de belles lucarnes sculptées, s’accompagne de deux pavillons en retour d’équerre, aux angles traités en bossage. Un portail classique orné de pots à feu précède la cour d’honneur. Siège d’une importante seigneurie érigée en marquisat, Sauveboeuf a appartenu aux Ferrières de la Brunie et aux Riqueti. Mirabeau y fut exilé.

L’Escaleyrou, point de vue panoramique situé sur une falaise abrupte appelée « Le Bout du Monde », domine la Vallée de la Vézère. En amont, on peut admirer le Château de la Petite Filolie et de La Fleunie, en aval celui de Sauveboeuf.

Sur la fin du circuit de randonnée, le chemin domine à nouveau la Vézère et permet de découvrir un paysage magnifique sur le bourg d’Aubas, le barrage et toute la vallée jusqu’à Montignac-Lascaux.

Aubas : de la Préhistoire à la Renaissance

Au coeur du Périgord Noir, le Château musée de Sauveboeuf est un magnifique château français du XVIIème, ses caves du XIVème cachent un trésor : un musée de préhistoire constitué d’une importante collection privée. De très belles pièces provenant des sites les plus célèbres : Lascaux, La Madeleine, Cro-Magnon, la Ferrassie,… Un patrimoine préhistorique bien gardé par son propriétaire passionné : Claude Douce.

Petits + du village d’Aubas

  • Belvédère et table d’orientation du côteau de l’Escaleyrou

Contact

Mairie d’Aubas

Le Bourg

24290 Aubas

Tél : 05 53 51 73 40

Mail : [email protected]

Site Internet : www.aubas.fr

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu