The troglodyte village of La Madeleine is one of the jewels in the crown of Tursac, a small commune in the Périgord region that is fortunate enough to be nestled in an unspoilt valley: the Vézère Valley. Opposite is the Château de Marzac, a few kilometres upstream is the Lascaux cave, and downstream is the world capital of prehistory. A visit to La Madeleine is a must on your trip through the Périgord Noir!

A cliff inhabited since prehistoric times

In the Dordogne, it is not uncommon to find troglodyte sitesLa Roque Saint-Christophe is just a few kilometres from the village of La Madeleine. Nevertheless, the troglodytic site of La Madeleine has a special feature that makes it the most famous of the region's troglodytic sites.one of the major prehistoric sites.
He gave his name to a prehistoric period: the Magdalenian. Archaeological research has dated human occupation of the site back to 17,000 BC.

Coflocs
©OT_Vézère_Valley_By_Les_Coflocs_LaMadeleine-2 Village

For safety reasons, the village of la Madeleine is unable to open its site, where fragments of mammoth ivory, engravings and flint tools were discovered, to visitors. However, a museography at the entrance to the site to find out more about this prehistoric occupation. If you'd like to find out more, head a few kilometres further down the valley to the village of Les Eyzies, reputed to be a prehistoric settlement. the capital of prehistory. Museum and Interpretation Centre await you.

An impressive troglodyte village

LesCoflocs

La Madeleine has a rich history!


The village, carved out of the cliff, allowed the inhabitants of Périgord to protect themselves during the wars. Norman invasions around the year 1000.
Then it was the turn of Hundred Years' War to ravage the Dordogne a few centuries later. Once again, the troglodyte village of La Madeleine provided shelter and refuge. A whole way of life was organised on the cliffside. The chapel, still visible today, is one of the best-preserved remains of this part of the Madeleine's history.

Activities to relive medieval times

During the summer months, the troglodyte village of La Madeleine comes alive to the rhythm of the troubadours and other craftsmen who once worked near the castle on the site (few remains of which are visible today).
Your children are sure to marvel at these trades of yesteryear !

There are activities on offer every day for all those who visit the site. For example, you can try your hand at the hardwood trade, learn basket-making, watch the blacksmith or watch bread being baked in a traditional wood-fired oven.

Balls are also organised to recapture the festive atmosphere of the village of yesteryear. For dates, see our Agenda.

The village of la Madeleine is also a farm

Since 2020, a special development has been taking place at the foot of the cliff. In order to reconnect with the surrounding nature and preserve the valley classified as a Grand Site de FranceLa Madeleine has decided to revive its tradition ofLocal and small-scale farming by setting up an "educational" farm.
A tobacco drying shed has been renovated. Inside you can admire an exhibition on the world of farming. Nature activities such as animal feeding or the animal tracking. These workshops allow children to rediscover the work of farmers before the invention of modern machinery. Find out more about the full programme at Madeleine website.

Below flows the Vézère

LesCoflocs

Many troglodytic sites are built close to a river. The troglodyte village of La Madeleine is no exception.


The Vézère flows at its foot, and it may well have been during one of these canoe trip that the immensity of the site is best appreciated. From the village of Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère to the village of Les Eyzies, you can admire the spectacular height of this cliff. You will be able to admire the light reflected on the ochre stone de la Madeleine.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le village troglodytique de la Madeleine est l’un des joyaux de Tursac, cette petite commune du Périgord qui a la chance d’être nichée dans une vallée préservée : la vallée de la Vézère. En face, se situe le château de Marzac, quelques kilomètres en amont, la grotte de Lascaux, et en aval, la capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire. La visite de la Madeleine est une étape incontournable lors de votre périple en Périgord Noir !

Une falaise habitée depuis la Préhistoire

En Dordogne, il n’est pas rare de trouver des sites troglodytiques, la Roque Saint-Christophe est d’ailleurs à quelques kilomètres du village de la Madeleine. Néanmoins le site troglodytique de la Madeleine a une particularité qui en fait l’un des sites majeurs de la Préhistoire.
Il a donné son nom à une période préhistorique : le Magdalénien. Des recherches archéologiques ont permis de dater une occupation humaine du site dès -17000 ans avant JC.

Les Coflocs
©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_VillagedeLaMadeleine-2

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le village de la Madeleine ne peut ouvrir à la visite son gisement où furent découvert des fragments d’ivoire de mammouth, des gravures et des outils en silex. Toutefois, une muséographie à l’entrée du site vous permet d’en apprendre plus sur cette occupation préhistorique. Si vous souhaitez approfondir le sujet, rendez-vous quelques kilomètres plus bas sur la vallée : au village des Eyzies, réputée pour être la capitale de la Préhistoire. Musée et Pôle d’Interprétation vous y attendent.

Un village troglodytique impressionnant

LesCoflocs

L’histoire de la Madeleine est riche !


Le village creusé dans la falaise permit aux habitants du Périgord de se protéger lors des invasions normandes autour de l’an mille.
Puis ce fût au tour de la Guerre de Cent Ans de ravager la Dordogne quelques siècles plus tard. Là encore, le village troglodytique de la Madeleine servit d’abri et de refuge. Tout une vie s’organisa à flanc de falaise. D’ailleurs la chapelle, toujours visible aujourd’hui, est l’un des vestiges les mieux conservés de cette partie de l’histoire de la Madeleine.

Des animations pour revivre l’époque médiévale

En période estivale et de manière ponctuelle, le village troglodytique de la Madeleine revit au rythme des troubadours et autres artisans qui travaillaient autrefois près du château présent sur le site (dont peu de vestiges sont visibles de nos jours).
Pour sûr, vos enfants s’émerveilleront devant ces métiers d’antan !

Des animations sont proposées chaque jour pour tous ceux qui font la visite du site. Ainsi, vous pouvez tester le métier de feuillardier, apprendre la vannerie, regarder le forgeron ou assister à la cuisson du pain dans un four traditionnel au feu de bois.

Des bals sont également organisés pour retrouver l’ambiance festive du village d’antan. Pour retrouver les dates, consultez notre Agenda.

Le village de la Madeleine, c’est aussi une ferme

Depuis 2020, un aménagement particulier a été réalisé au pied de la falaise. Afin de renouer avec la nature environnante et préserver la vallée classée Grand Site de France, la Madeleine a décidé de renouer avec l’agriculture paysanne et locale en aménageant une ferme “pédagogique”.
Un séchoir à tabac a été rénové. Vous pourrez admirer à l’intérieur de celui-ci une exposition sur le monde paysan. Des activités nature sont proposées comme le nourrissage des animaux ou le pistage animalier. Ces ateliers permettent aux enfants de redécouvrir le travail des agriculteurs avant l’invention des machines modernes. Découvrez le programme complet sur le site internet de la Madeleine.

Au dessous coule la Vézère

LesCoflocs

Nombre de sites troglodytiques sont construits proche d’un cours d’eau. Le village troglodytique de la Madeleine ne fait pas exception à la règle.


La Vézère coule à ses pieds et c’est d’ailleurs peut-être lors d’une balade en canoë que l’on perçoit le mieux l’immensité du site. En partant du village de Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère pour arriver au village des Eyzies vous admirerez la hauteur spectaculaire de cette falaise. Vous pourrez admirer la lumière qui se reflète sur la pierre ocre de la Madeleine.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu