©InstapadesStudio

For a long weekend

Mode of transport : bike / car

Ideal season : spring/autumn

Recommended starting point : Montignac-Lascaux

Do you like villages with character, but away from the crowds? The Vézère valley is full of charming villages, each offering exceptional views over the surrounding unspoilt countryside. A maze of narrow streets in Plazac, or a hike in Tursac to discover the region's heritage... A rejuvenating programme awaits you.

DAY 01

Lascaux Dordogne Vézère Valley

01

Village of Coly-Saint-Amand

Just a stone's throw from the Lascaux cave in the Dordogne and 20km from Sarlat, the beautifully restored village of Coly-Saint-Amand (Saint-Amand-de-Coly) is listed as one of the "Most Beautiful Villages in France". The village features a number of houses and dovecotes typical of the Périgord Noir region, but above all a majestic 12th-century abbey church considered to be the most beautiful fortified church in France...

See more

Dan Courtice - Sémitour Périgord

02

Lascaux IV - International Centre of Cave Art

In the Périgord Noir region, the Lascaux cave is a masterpiece of prehistoric art, with frescoes depicting around 600 animals (horses, bulls, deer, cats, etc.) and enigmatic signs. The site is now being rediscovered at the Centre International de l'Art Pariétal, an area of over 8,000 m² at the foot of Lascaux hill. This...

See more

©InstapadesStudio

03

Viewpoint at l'Escaleyrou in Aubas

Exceptional panorama

A panoramic viewpoint situated on a steep cliff called "Le Bout du Monde", l'Escaleyrou dominates the Vézère valley. From here you can see the valley, the plains and the breathtaking view over the river.

DAY 02

Village of Fanlac
Marion

01

Fanlac

Meet Jacquou le Croquant

The maze of little streets in Fanlac is one of the jewels of the Vézère valley, and the roads leading to and from it will take you to the high points of the valley and their many viewpoints as you descend to the village of Plazac.

©mascher

02

Créations Cuir de Poisson - Kristof Mascher

In the heart of the charming little village of Fanlac, you'll find the workshop of Mr Kristof Mascher, an artisan leatherworker showcasing his exceptional and unique work. Mr Mascher works with vegetable-tanned fish leather, an ancestral Siberian technique that has been rediscovered and modernised. These fish hides are inlaid in full grain cowhide to create a unique leather look.

See more

A.P.A

03

A.P.A Canoes

A.P.A is located in St-Léon-sur-Vézère, one of the "Most Beautiful Villages in France", and offers the most picturesque course on the Vézère. With 7 routes, from 4 to 30 km, A.P.A lets you admire the prestigious sites along the Vézère river at your own pace (Château de Losse, Castel Merle, Le Conquil, La Roque Saint...

See more

DAY 03

©ALR

01

Plazac

The enchanted cemetery

In the narrow streets of Plazac, discover the renovated church and its medieval cemetery (be careful, it's uphill!).

ALR

02

The Côte de Jor

At the top, you can admire the view of the village of Saint-Léon sur Vézère below and the meandering Vézère river.

The cliffs on the banks of the Vézère at Saint Léon.
Urope Agency

03

Eating out in Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

Lunch on the banks of the Vézère. Take advantage of the restaurants of the village where you can bring your own picnic, with tables available in the town centre.

 

Saint Léon sur Vézère, small village lane. The carreirous, these little village lanes transport you back to another era.
Urope Agency

04

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

Among the most beautiful narrow streets in France

Discover Saint-Léon on the banks of the Vézère, with its narrow streets, Romanesque church and medieval manor house.

DAY 04

Château de Belcayre
©Tailleurd'images

01

Belcayre

Stop opposite Belcayre Castle

Chateau de Belcayre has a unique charm, perched high above the river.
Not open to visitors, it can be admired from the left bank of the Vézère before heading off for a bite to eat.

Sergeac_Auberge du Peyrol
Peyrol

02

Auberge du Peyrol in Sergeac

We eat well at Jeanine's!

Traditional and authentic, you'll never be disappointed by this local cuisine!

©InstapadesStudio

03

Sergeac

Discover the Templar lanes

You will find an authentic Templar commandery and its fortified church in the narrow streets of Sergeac. You can also walk down to the river or continue on to the prehistoric site of Castel-Merle.

DAY 05

©ALR

01

Notre-Dame de Fontpeyrine in Tursac

A discreet miracle

Following a road through sublime scenery, you will arrive, hidden in the woods, at the small 15th-century chapel of Fontpeyrine, erected in honour of a miracle. The nearby spring is sacred, and its water is the subject of numerous ex-voto offerings.

PIP

02

Prehistory interpretation centre

The Prehistory Interpretation Centre at Les Eyzies in the Dordogne welcomes you to the heart of the Vézère valley, occupied by man for 400,000 years. Nestling on the outskirts of the village on the way to the Lascaux cave and Sarlat, it's the ideal place to find out about, understand and learn about...

See more

Town of Les Eyzies
©OT_Vézère_Valley_By_Les_Coflocs

03

Les Eyzies

The lanes of prehistory

Don't hesitate to visit us at the Tourist Office, where you can follow a discovery trail through the narrow streets of the World Capital of Prehistory.

Visit Les Eyzies

Loading
Loading

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

©InstapadesStudio

Pour un week-end prolongé

Mode de transport : vélo / voiture

Saison idéale : printemps /automne

Point de départ conseillé : Montignac-Lascaux

Vous aimez les villages de caractère mais loin de la foule ? La vallée de la Vézère regorge de villages charmants, offrant des points de vue toujours exceptionnels, sur la nature préservée environnante. Dédales de ruelles à Plazac, découverte de petit patrimoine à travers une randonnée sur Tursac… Un programme ressourçant vous attend.

JOUR 01

©Lascaux Dordogne Vallée Vézère

01

Village de Coly-Saint-Amand

À deux pas de la grotte de Lascaux en Dordogne et à 20km de Sarlat, le village de Coly-Saint-Amand, magnifiquement restauré est classé “Plus Beaux Villages de France” (Saint-Amand-de-Coly). Le village comporte plusieurs maisons et pigeonniers typiques du Périgord Noir mais surtout une majestueuse abbatiale du XIIe siècle considérée comme la plus belle église fortifiée…

Voir plus

®Dan Courtice – Sémitour Périgord

02

Lascaux IV – Centre International de l’Art Pariétal

En Périgord Noir, la Grotte de Lascaux est un chef d’œuvre de l’art préhistorique aux fresques représentant environ 600 animaux (chevaux, taureaux, cerfs, félins, …) et des signes énigmatiques. Le site se redécouvre aujourd’hui au Centre International de l’Art Pariétal, espace de plus de 8000 m² au pied de la colline de Lascaux. Ce lieu…

Voir plus

©InstapadesStudio

03

Point de vue l’Escaleyrou à Aubas

Panorama exceptionnel

Point de vue panoramique situé sur une falaise abrupte appelée “Le Bout du Monde”, l’Escaleyrou domine la vallée de la Vézère. Vous pourrez observer la vallée, les plaines et la vue imprenable sur la rivière.

JOUR 02

Village de Fanlac
©Marion

01

Fanlac

À la rencontre de Jacquou le Croquant

Le dédale des petites rues de Fanlac est un des bijoux de la vallée Vézère, les routes qui y mènent ou en partent vous feront découvrir les points hauts de la vallée et leurs nombreux points de vue en descendant sur le village de Plazac.

©mascher

02

Créations Cuir de Poisson – Kristof Mascher

Au coeur du charmant petit village de Fanlac, vous trouverez l’atelier de Mr Kristof Mascher, artisan maroquinier présentant son travail exceptionnel et unique. Mr Mascher travaille du cuir de poisson de tannage végétal, une technique ancestrale sibérienne redécouverte et modernisée. Ces cuirs de poisson sont incrustés dans du cuir de vachette plein fleur, pour réaliser…

Voir plus

A.P.A

03

Canoës A.P.A

A.P.A est situé à St-Léon-sur-Vézère, un des “Plus Beaux Villages de France”, et propose le plus pittoresque parcours de la Vézère. Avec 7 parcours, de 4 à 30 km, A.P.A vous permet d’admirer à votre rythme les sites prestigieux qui bordent la rivière Vézère (le Château de Losse, Castel Merle, Le Conquil, La Roque Saint…

Voir plus

JOUR 03

©ALR

01

Plazac

Le cimetière enchanté

Dans les petites rues de Plazac, à la découverte de cette église rénovée et son cimetière médiéval (attention ça monte!)

ALR

02

La Côte de Jor

Au sommet, on contemple la vue sur le village de Saint-Léon sur Vézère en contrebas mais également sur les méandres de la rivière Vézère.

Les falaises au bord de la Vézère à Saint Léon.
©Agence Urope

03

Manger à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

Pause déjeuner les pieds dans l’eau au bord de la Vézère. On profite des restaurants du village où l’on amène son pique-nique, des tables sont à disposition dans le centre bourg.

 

Saint Léon sur Vézère, petite ruelle du village. Les carreirous, ces petites ruelles du village transportent dans une autre époque.
©Agence Urope

04

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

Parmi les plus belles ruelles de France

La découverte de Saint-Léon au bord de la Vézère, avec ses petites rues, son église romane et son manoir médiéval.

JOUR 04

Château de Belcayre
©Tailleurd'images

01

Belcayre

Arrêt en face du chateau de Belcayre

Le chateau de Belcayre possède un charme unique, perché au dessus de la rivière.
Non ouvert à la visite, on l’admire en empruntant la rive gauche de la Vézère avant de partir se restaurer.

Sergeac_Auberge du Peyrol
©peyrol

02

Auberge du Peyrol à Sergeac

On mange bien chez Jeanine !

Une table traditionnelle et authentique, on n’est jamais déçu par cette cuisine du terroir !

©InstapadesStudio

03

Sergeac

Découvrir des ruelles templières

Vous trouverez une authentique commanderie templière ainsi que son église fortifiée dans les petites rues de Sergeac. On peut aussi descendre à la rivière ou poursuivre son chemin vers le gisement préhistorique de Castel-Merle.

JOUR 05

©ALR

01

Notre-Dame de Fontpeyrine à Tursac

Un miracle bien discret

En passant par une route aux paysages sublimes, vous arriverez, cachée dans les bois, à la petite chapelle de Fontpeyrine, du XVème siècle, érigée en l’honneur d’un miracle. La source à côté est sacrée, son eau fait l’objet de nombreux ex-voto.

PIP

02

Pôle d’interprétation de la Préhistoire

Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire, situé aux Eyzies en Dordogne, vous accueille au cœur de la vallée de la Vézère occupée par l’Homme depuis 400 000 ans. Niché à la sortie du village en direction de la grotte de Lascaux et de Sarlat, il est le lieu idéal pour s’informer, comprendre et s’initier aux…

Voir plus

Ville des Eyzies
©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs

03

Les Eyzies

Les ruelles de la préhistoire

N’hésitez pas à nous rendre visite à l’Office de Tourisme, un sentier de découverte vous permet d’arpenter les ruelles de la Capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire.

Visiter Les Eyzies

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu