Sheltered and covered in forest, surrounded by limestone cliffs, the Beune valley in the Vézère valley is a haven of nature.

The Beunes valleys, unspoilt nature

Of course, the absence of large towns and industrial areas is a major factor in this preservation. But the valley also boasts a number of protected areas, i.e. areas recognised for the richness of their natural heritage. natural heritage. In addition to UNESCO's recognition of the status of " biosphere reserve "It is home to a number of sites "Natura 2000 protected under a European directive.

Take the Beunes valleys, for example

Petite and Grande Beune are tributaries of the the Vézère. They contain rare and fragile environments such as peat bogs or reed beds and are home to several protected species. You may come across otters, salamanders or Marsh copper (a rare butterfly).

Salamander ©pixabay

In the same way, we know that this part of France served as a refuge, during the ice ages, for our prehistoric ancestors. Here they found abundant game and a source of inspiration for their art. The two valleys of the Beunes are home to the largest concentration of decorated caves in the world Some fifteen sites, only some of which are accessible. The caves of Font-de-Gaume, Combarelles, Bernifal and theCap Blanc shelter are among them.

So take a deep breath, look around, enjoy your walks, horse rides or cycle rides and help us preserve this wilderness!

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Encaissée et couverte de forêts, cernée par des falaises calcaires, la vallée de la Beune en vallée Vézère est un havre de nature.

Les vallées des Beunes, une nature préservée

Bien sûr, l’absence de grandes villes et de zones industrielles compte pour beaucoup dans cette préservation. Mais pas seulement, la vallée compte aussi nombre d’espaces protégés, c’est-à-dire de zones reconnues pour la richesse de leur patrimoine naturel. Outre la reconnaissance par l’UNESCO du statut de « réserve de biosphère », elle abrite en son sein plusieurs sites « Natura 2000 » protégés au titre d’une directive européenne.

Prenez les vallées des Beunes par exemple

Petite et Grande Beune sont des affluents de la Vézère. Elles renferment des milieux rares et fragiles comme les tourbières ou les roselières et abritent plusieurs espèces protégées. On peut y croiser des loutres, des salamandres ou des cuivrés des marais (c’est un papillon rare).

Salamandre ©pixabay

De la même manière, on sait que cette partie de la France a servi de refuge, pendant les périodes glaciaires, à nos ancêtres préhistoriques. Ils y trouvaient là un gibier abondant et une source d’inspiration pour leur art. Les deux vallées des Beunes abritent ainsi la plus grande concentration de grottes ornées au monde : une quinzaine de sites dont seuls certains sont accessibles. Les grottes de Font-de-Gaume, Combarelles, Bernifal et l’Abri du Cap Blanc en font partie.

Alors respirez, observez, profitez durant vos promenades à pied, à cheval ou à vélo et aidez-nous à préserver cette nature sauvage !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu