Are you thinking of taking your bike or opting for a rental during your trip to the Dordogne? Good idea ! Périgord and the Vézère valley offer beautiful roads and numerous routes dedicated to racing, touring and mountain bikes. All you have to do is choose your route: a flat road bike, a slight elevation change or a large mountain bike loop? Between Périgord castles, typical villages and the river, you will have plenty to enjoy with family or friends. Prepare your water bottle and backpack, and get on the saddle!

Road bike, electric bike or mountain bike: everything is possible in Dordogne

Périgord, country of tourism and cycling

©Agence Urope
LOI_VAE_Les Eyzies_August22©Agence Urope (10)

Less often cited as land of bike Compared to other regions of France, Périgord Noir has unsuspected riches. Its paths, roads and facilities dedicated to the little queen, not to mention the variety of its landscapes, make it an ideal region to discover by bike. Oh no, it's not just the canoeing in the Dordogne! The more sporty will appreciate the difference in altitude of the Vézère valley, while beginners will enjoy routes from town to town, or around the most beautiful villages et castles from Dordogne. 

Greenways and bike routes, ideal for families

Neither road nor cycle path: the greenway Vézère by Bike offers a secure route, reserved for bicycles and non-motorized vehicles. We don't race there: we relax! Often along rivers, the greenways are ideal for a little cycling tourism in the Dordogne. The cycle routes too, with the difference that you may encounter motor vehicles, are shared routes.

Some itinerary ideas:

  • Greenway of the Vézère valley;
  • Greenway between Sarlat and Cazoulès;
  • Céou road bike;
  • Greenway from Thiviers to Saint-Pardoux-la-Rivière;
  • Cycling route in the Isle valley around Neuvic, Saint-Astier and Périgueux;
  • Bergerac V91 road bike…

The Dordogne paths, a playground for mountain bikers

A route in the forest, a little difference in altitude, and the exceptional landscapes of the Périgord Noir: starting point for a walk in Moutain Biking ! You will inevitably find a route or a special marked mountain bike circuit in the Vézère valley in Dordogne. Are you afraid of difficulty? Opt for an electrically assisted bike to preserve your calves.

The essential routes to discover the Dordogne by bike

The Vézère valley greenway

From Limeuil, the greenway which largely runs along the Vézère river will ultimately make it possible to reach Montignac-Lascaux. The first sections can be covered this summer! Enjoy the quays of Buggy to admire the river and its buttercups, then take the path under the railway bridges to arrive at the road leading to the Eyzies.

LOI_VAE_Les Eyzies_August22©Agence Urope (17)

The greenway between Sarlat and Cazoulès: a classic

Departing from the town of Sarlat, this road offers a panorama of the most beautiful villages and landscapes of Dordogne. The bike route, built on an old railway line and ideal for families, takes you to the Lot border. You can also cool off in the river, enjoy a canoe break or take a sightseeing stop by visiting a garden or the Robert Doisneau train station.

The Céou bike route: it’s that way

With its 25 kilometers from the village of Castelnaud, near the castle of the same name, the Céou bike route is a perfect option for a day in the Dordogne. An easy route along a river, the landscapes of Périgord, its castles and villages... What more could you ask for?

The large loop of the Park by mountain bike, between Périgord and Limousin

Allow more than a day if you set out on this large 200 kilometer mountain bike loop! A route halfway between Dordogne and Limousin, to be reserved for the more sporty, experienced cyclists, or electric mountain bike enthusiasts.

The “flow bike” stops in Périgord

Do you know the bike flow that connects the Dordogne to Charente Maritime? You can discover part of it during your stay in the Dordogne or during a longer trip to the west of France: the route is 290 kilometers long!

Rental, guided ride: organize your cycling trip in Dordogne

You don't have a faithful steed? This is not a problem: in Périgord and in the Vézère valley in Dordogne, many bike rental places await you. Whether you are looking for a road bike, a mountain bike or an electrically assisted bike, you will find what you are looking for!

How to find a cycling route in Périgord?

Are you looking for the best route or path to enjoy a day of cycling or mountain biking during your stay? Many solutions :

  • download the GPS coordinates of the different cycle routes through the Vézère valley in Dordogne;
  • look for a path labeled by the FFC (French Cycling Federation).

Was this content useful to you?

Vous pensez emporter votre vélo ou opter pour une location pendant votre voyage en Dordogne ? Bonne idée ! Le Périgord et la vallée de la Vézère offrent de belles routes et de nombreux itinéraires dédiés aux vélos de course, de tourisme et aux VTT. Il ne vous reste plus qu’à choisir votre parcours : une vélo route sur du plat, un peu de dénivelé ou une grande boucle en VTT ? Entre châteaux du Périgord, villages typiques et rivière, vous aurez de quoi profiter en famille ou entre amis. Préparez gourde et sac à dos, et en selle !

Vélo de route, vélo électrique ou VTT : tout est possible en Dordogne

Le Périgord, pays de tourisme et de vélo

©Agence Urope
LOI_VAE_Les Eyzies_Août22©Agence Urope (10)

Moins souvent cité comme terre de vélo par rapport à d’autres régions de France, le Périgord noir possède des richesses insoupçonnées. Ses chemins, routes et aménagements dédiés à la petite reine, sans parler de la variété de ses paysages, en font une région idéale à découvrir à vélo. Eh non, il n’y a pas que le canoë en Dordogne ! Les plus sportifs apprécieront le dénivelé de la vallée de la Vézère, quand les débutants se régaleront sur des itinéraires de ville en ville, ou autour des plus beaux villages et des châteaux de Dordogne. 

Les voies vertes et vélo routes, idéales en famille

Ni route ni piste cyclable : la voie verte offre un itinéraire sécurisé, réservé aux vélos et aux véhicules non motorisés. On n’y fait pas la course : on se détend ! Souvent en bord de rivières, les voies vertes sont idéales pour faire un peu de tourisme à vélo en Dordogne. Les vélo routes aussi, à la différence près que vous pourrez y croiser des véhicules à moteurs, ce sont des voies partagées.

Quelques idées d’itinéraires :

  • Voie verte de la vallée de la Vézère ;
  • Voie verte entre Sarlat et Cazoulès ;
  • Vélo route du Céou ;
  • Voie verte de Thiviers à Saint-Pardoux-la-Rivière ;
  • Vélo route vallée de l’Isle autour de Neuvic, Saint-Astier et Périgueux ;
  • Vélo route Bergerac V91…

Les chemins de Dordogne, terrain de jeu pour les VTT

Un parcours en forêt, un peu de dénivelé, et les paysages exceptionnels du Périgord noir : top départ pour une balade en VTT ! Vous trouverez forcément un itinéraire ou un circuit balisé spécial VTT dans la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne. Vous craignez la difficulté ? Optez pour un vélo à assistance électrique pour préserver vos mollets.

Les parcours incontournables pour découvrir la Dordogne à vélo

La voie verte de la vallée de la Vézère

Au départ de Limeuil, la voie verte qui longe en grande partie la rivière Vézère permettra à terme de rejoindre Montignac-Lascaux. Les premiers tronçons sont à parcourir dès cet été ! Profitez des quais du Bugue pour admirer la rivière et ses renoncules, puis emprunter la voie sous les ponts ferroviaires pour arriver à la route menant aux Eyzies.

LOI_VAE_Les Eyzies_Août22©Agence Urope (17)

La voie verte entre Sarlat et Cazoulès : un classique

Au départ de la ville de Sarlat, cette route offre un panorama des plus beaux villages et paysages de Dordogne. L’itinéraire vélo, aménagé sur une ancienne voie ferrée et idéal à parcourir en famille, vous conduit à la frontière du Lot. Vous pourrez aussi vous rafraîchir dans la rivière, profiter d’une pause canoë ou faire une étape de tourisme en visitant un jardin ou la gare Robert Doisneau.

La vélo route du Céou : c’est par là

Avec ses 25 kilomètres au départ du village de Castelnaud, près du château du même nom, la vélo route du Céou est une option parfaite pour une journée en Dordogne. Un itinéraire sans difficulté le long d’une rivière, les paysages du Périgord, ses châteaux et ses villages… Que demander de plus ?

La grande boucle du Parc en VTT, entre Périgord et Limousin

Prévoyez plus d’une journée si vous vous lancez sur cette grande boucle en VTT de 200 kilomètres ! Un parcours à mi-chemin entre Dordogne et Limousin, à réserver aux plus sportifs, aux cyclistes aguerris, ou aux amateurs en VTT électrique.

La « flow vélo » fait étape dans le Périgord

Connaissez-vous la flow vélo qui relie Thiviers, au nord-est de Périgueux, à la Charente Maritime ? Vous pourrez en découvrir une partie pendant votre séjour en Dordogne ou à l’occasion d’un plus grand voyage dans l’ouest de la France : l’itinéraire est long de 290 kilomètres !

Location, balade guidée : organisez votre voyage à vélo en Dordogne

Vous n’avez pas de fidèle destrier ? Ce n’est pas un problème : dans le Périgord et dans la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne, de nombreux lieux de location de vélos vous attendent. Que vous cherchiez un vélo de route, un VTT ou un vélo à assistance électrique, vous trouverez votre bonheur !

Comment trouver un circuit pour faire du vélo dans le Périgord ?

Vous cherchez le meilleur itinéraire ou chemin pour profiter d’une journée à vélo ou en VTT pendant votre séjour ? Plusieurs solutions :

  • télécharger les coordonnées GPS des différents parcours vélos à travers la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne ;
  • chercher un chemin labellisé par la FFC (Fédération Française de Cyclisme) .

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu