Les Eyzies, world capital of prehistory

The village of Les Eyzies has many attractions: its architecture troglodytic an exceptional natural environment, an art of living, a genuine sense of conviviality and, of course, a sense of community. Prehistory. Through the ages, people have occupied the area: from the Palaeolithic period to the present day, through the Hundred Years' War and the industrial period... and maintained their activities: developing agriculture, inventing prehistoric science, establishing tourism.

The village presents itself as "world capital of prehistory". It has to be said that local tourism was born as soon as the first archaeological discoveries were made. It was here that prehistory was developed as a science, illustrated by some great names: PeyronyLartet, Capitan, Abbées Breuil and Glory. Major discoveries were also made here: Cro-Magnon Man in the eponymous shelter, the world's finest examples of cave art, including Font-de-Gaumethe last polychrome cave open to the public.

Les Eyzies is home to the National Museum of Prehistory, The museum is an absolute reference for the Upper Palaeolithic, and most of its collections come from sites and deposits in the Vézère valley, which is so rich in prehistory. The museum stands on a natural terrace above the village centre. famous statue Paul Dardé's Prehistoric Man, a symbol of prehistory in Périgord.

PCU_Pole d'Interprétation Préhistoire_chemin_Les Eyzies_Aout 2022©ALR

The Prehistory Interpretation Centre has been adding to the Prehistory tourist offer since 2010.

Activities for everyone

Visit family or with friends, you can discover the beautiful corners of this village by following the discovery trail offered by the Tourist Office, or work up your stamina by taking one of the four hiking trails starting from the village.

  • Mouthe loop
  • 7-lap loop
  • Micoque loop
  • Loop of Gorges d'enfer

Do you prefer cycling? There are mountain bike circuits starting from the village, as well as road circuits.
Enjoying the river? There are several canoeing bases in the village, with routes ranging from one hour to a full day.
On horseback? A riding centre and pony club welcome you to discover the Vézère valley effortlessly.

The little extras

Practical information

You've probably already seen the name Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil. And if you do any research into the commune of Les Eyzies, you're bound to see a lot of web pages talking about Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil... Well, that's a mistake! In fact, since 1er On 1 January 2019, Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil became simply Les Eyzies. More practical, isn't it? This is rather the opposite of the village of Montignac-Lascaux, which has decided to change its name to Les Eyzies. Montignac-Lascaux, because the famous Lascaux cave is located in this commune. 

To help you find your way around, the village of Eyzies(and not Les Eyzies de Tayac Sireuil 🙂 ) is bordered by :

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Les Eyzies, capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire

La commune des Eyzies possède de nombreux attraits : une architecture troglodytique toute particulière, un espace naturel exceptionnel, un art de vivre, une véritable convivialité et bien sûr la Préhistoire. À travers les âges, les hommes ont occupé le territoire : du Paléolitique à aujourd’hui, en passant par la Guerre de Cent Ans ou la période industrielle… et maintenu des activités : développement de l’agriculture, invention de la science préhistorique, mise en place du tourisme.

Le village se présente comme «capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire». Il faut dire que le tourisme local est né dès les premières découvertes archéologiques. C’est ici que s’est construite la Préhistoire en tant que science, illustrée par des grands noms : Peyrony, Lartet, Capitan, les abbées Breuil et Glory. C’est ici aussi que des découvertes majeures ont été faites : l’Homme de Cro-Magnon dans l’abri éponyme, les merveilles mondiales de l’art pariétal dont Font-de-Gaume, dernière grotte ornée polychrome ouverte au public.

C’est aux Eyzies qu’est implanté le Musée national de Préhistoire, référence absolue pour le Paléolithique supérieur et dont les collections proviennent en grande partie des sites et des gisements de la vallée de la Vézère si riche de sa Préhistoire. C’est sur une terrasse naturelle, appartenant au musée, au dessus du centre du village, que se dresse la célèbre statue de l’Homme Préhistorique de Paul Dardé, symbole de la Préhistoire en Périgord.

PCU_Pole d'Interprétation Préhistoire_chemin_Les Eyzies_Aout 2022©ALR

Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire complète l’offre touristique autour du thème de la Préhistoire depuis 2010.

Des activités pour tous

En famille ou entre amis vous pouvez découvrir les beaux coins de ce village en suivant le sentier de découverte proposé par l’Office de Tourisme ou travailler votre endurance en parcourant les quatre sentiers de randonnée au départ du village.

  • Boucle de la Mouthe
  • Boucle des 7 tours
  • Boucle de la Micoque
  • Boucle de Gorges d’enfer

Plutôt vélo ? Des circuits VTT vous sont proposés au départ du village, mais aussi des circuits sur route.
Profiter de la rivière ? Plusieurs bases de canoës sont implantées sur le village, vous proposant des parcours allant d’une heure à la journée.
À cheval ? Un centre équestre et un poney club vous accueillent pour partir à la découverte de la vallée de la Vézère sans effort.

Les petits +

Information pratique

Vous avez sans doute déjà vu le nom de Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil. Et si vous faites des recherches sur la commune des Eyzies, il est certain que vous verrez de nombreuses pages web parler des Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil… Et bien c’est une erreur ! En effet depuis le 1er janvier 2019, les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil sont devenus tout simplement Les Eyzies. Plus pratique n’est-ce pas ? C’est un peu l’inverse du village de Montignac-Lascaux, qui lui a décidé de s’appeler maintenant Montignac-Lascaux, en raison du fait bien sûr que la célèbre grotte de Lascaux se trouve sur cette commune. 

Afin de mieux vous repérer, le village des Eyzies, (et non les Eyzies de Tayac Sireuil 🙂 ) a pour communes limitrophes :

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu