Along the Vézère valley, in the villages, caves or castles around Lascaux, you can take advantage of guided tours. It's an opportunity to learn more about the Périgord region, but also to enjoy a different experience. Did you know, for example, that you can discover a medieval village by torchlight, for a night-time visit? Follow the guide... or rather the guides, as you discover the Vézère valley in the Dordogne!

Why discover the Vézère valley and the Dordogne with a guide? 

The Dordogne holds many secrets. Between its caves, castles and walks, there are a thousand places, sites and villages to discover along the Dordogne river. Vézère valley and the surrounding area. And there's nothing like follow a guide ! Some are guides professionals and reveal the history of a castle or cave in a different way. Others are voluntary, live in the village and know every nook and cranny. There are even guided tours led by actors.

Follow a guided tours of villages or tourist sitesIt's also a way of adapting the experience. A guide will be able to answer all your questions. children. Or find out more about the secrets of the caves and flower gardens of the Vézère valley in the Dordogne.

Guided tour on foot, by night... a rich and varied programme 

There are many ways to discover a place with a guide. Whatever you want to do, there are sure to be activities or ideas for tours for you and your children. By day, or by night!

Visit SAint Léon sur Vézère by night

Night-time guided tours in and around the Vézère valley

By the light of a torch or a lantern, the history of villages and remarkable sites is revealed in a whole new way. These night tours are possible at several sites: 

  • Montignac-Lascaux ;
  • Rouffignac ;
  • Limeuil ;
  • Les Eyzies ;
  • Le Bugue ;
  • Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère ;
  • Miremont ;
  • Plazac...

These guided tours are more often organised during the summer. Don't forget to book your place in advance!

The Sarlat-Périgord Noir Tourist Office also organises visits to villages such as Beynac and La Roque-Gageac.

Guided tours to complete your discovery of a museum

The museums also offer a wide range of guided tours. The National Museum of Prehistory, for example, is a must-see in Périgord. And why not continue your immersion in prehistory by following your guide to the Lascaux IV International Centre of Cave Art for a prestige tour with a torch?

A guided tour of the Dordogne valley on board a train or barge

Did you know that you can also discover the Dordogne valley in a gabare, the traditional boat found in the Dordogne, or in the carriages of a steam train? It's a chance to plunge back into the last century, but don't forget to take a look at the history of the region. reserve your place 

  • The steam train from Martel, Le Truffadou with a guide ;
  • Take a gabare trip from La Roque-Gageac, Beynac or Bergerac.

What are the must-see guided tours during the summer?

During the summer, the Vézère valley in the Dordogne reveals its treasures and its heritage through tours and guided visits of the following sites villages. This summer's programme is even richer, and here are a few ideas. Sites such as the Lascaux cavethe Commarque castlethe Losse castle or the village of la Madeleine offer evening events.

Guided tours of caves: Lascaux and the Vézère valley with a guide

The Vézère valley in the Dordogne is home to a wealth of underground treasures. The Lascaux cave is one of the must-see sites, and there are a number of different routes to explore. You can organise your visit to :

  • Lascaux II, with a torchlight guided tour ;
  • Lascaux IV and the International Centre of Cave Art;
  • The Rouffignac cave;
  • The Font-de-Gaume cave ;
  • The Bernifal cave... 

Guided tours are also available of remarkable geological sites, including Maxange and Lacave.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le long de la vallée de la Vézère, dans les villages, les grottes ou les châteaux autour de Lascaux, il est possible de profiter des visites guidées. C’est l’occasion d’en apprendre plus sur le Périgord, mais aussi de vivre une expérience différente. Saviez-vous par exemple, que vous pouvez découvrir un village médiéval à la lueur des torches, pour une visite nocturne ? Suivez le guide… ou plutôt les guides, à la découverte de la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne !

Pourquoi découvrir la vallée de la Vézère et la Dordogne avec un guide ? 

La Dordogne recèle bien des secrets. Entre ses grottes, ses châteaux et randonnées, mille lieux, sites et villages sont à découvrir le long de la vallée de la Vézère et dans les alentours. Et pour cela, rien de tel que de suivre un guide ! Certains sont guides professionnels et vous dévoilent autrement l’histoire d’un château ou d’une grotte. D’autres sont bénévoles, résident dans le village et en connaissent tous les recoins. Il existe même des visites guidées animées par des comédiens.

Suivre une visite guidée dans des villages ou des sites touristiques, c’est aussi la possibilité d’adapter l’expérience. Un guide pourra ainsi répondre à toutes les questions de vos enfants. Ou vous en dire plus sur les secrets des grottes et jardins fleuris de la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne.

Visite guidée à pied, de nuit… un programme riche et varié 

Il existe bien des façons de découvrir un lieu avec un guide. Quelles que soient vos envies, il existe certainement des activités ou des idées de circuits pour vos enfants et vous. En journée, ou de nuit !

Visite SAint Léon sur Vézère de nuit

Des visites guidées nocturnes dans la vallée de la Vézère et aux alentours

À la lueur d’une torche ou d’une lanterne, l’histoire des villages et des sites remarquables se dévoile autrement. Ces visites nocturnes sont possibles dans plusieurs sites : 

  • Montignac-Lascaux ;
  • Rouffignac ;
  • Limeuil ;
  • Les Eyzies ;
  • Le Bugue ;
  • Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère ;
  • Miremont ;
  • Plazac…

Ces visites guidées sont plus souvent organisées pendant l’été. N’oubliez pas de réserver votre place à l’avance !

L’Office de Tourisme Sarlat-Périgord Noir organise également des visites de villages comme Beynac ou La Roque-Gageac.

Des visites guidées pour compléter votre découverte d’un musée

Les musées proposent aussi de nombreuses visites guidées. Le Musée national de Préhistoire par exemple est un incontournable en Périgord. Et pourquoi ne pas continuer cette plongée dans la Préhistoire en suivant votre guide jusqu’au Centre International de l’Art Pariétal Lascaux IV pour une visite prestige à la torche ?

Une visite guidée à bord d’un train ou d’une gabare sur la vallée Dordogne

Saviez-vous que vous pouvez aussi découvrir la vallée Dordogne dans une gabare, ce bateau traditionnel que l’on retrouve en Dordogne, ou dans les wagons d’un train à vapeur ? L’occasion d’une plongée dans le siècle dernier, mais pensez à réserver votre place 

  • Le train à vapeur de Martel, Le Truffadou avec un guide ;
  • La promenade en gabare depuis La Roque-Gageac, Beynac ou Bergerac.

Quelles sont les visites guidées incontournables pendant l’été ?

Pendant l’été, la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne dévoile ses trésors et son patrimoine au fil de circuits et visites guidées des villages. Ce programme estival est encore plus riche, et en voici quelques idées. Les sites tels que la grotte de Lascaux, le château de Commarque, le château de Losse ou le village de la Madeleine proposent des nocturnes.

Visites guidées de grottes : Lascaux et la vallée de la Vézère avec un guide

La vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne renferme de nombreux trésors sous terre. La grotte de Lascaux fait partie des sites incontournables et plusieurs circuits de visite sont à découvrir. Vous pouvez notamment organiser votre visite de :

  • Lascaux II, avec une visite guidée au flambeau ;
  • Lascaux IV et le Centre International de l’Art Pariétal ;
  • La grotte de Rouffignac ;
  • La grotte de Font-de-Gaume ;
  • La grotte de Bernifal… 

Des visites guidées sont aussi proposées sur des sites géologiques remarquables : à Maxange et Lacave notamment.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu