©agenceurope

A week close to the world capital of prehistory!

Mode of transport : electric bike / car

Ideal season : Le Printemps

Recommended starting point : Les Eyzies

Leaving from Les Eyzies, the world capital of prehistory, you'll discover all the prehistoric riches of the Vézère valley on this itinerary. We'll take you on a tour of the most famous of the prehistoric caves, Montignac-Lascaux, and then on to Le Bugue for more prehistoric fun.

DAY 01

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1: The Prehistory Interpretation Centre

📍Etape 1: The Prehistory Interpretation Centre

PIP

Located in Les Eyzies, the Prehistory Interpretation Centre welcomes you to the heart of the Vézère valley, occupied by man for 400,000 years. It's the ideal place to find out about and understand the valley's heritage, cultural and landscape resources.

📍Stage 2: National Prehistory Museum

National Museum of Prehistory

Situated in the heart of the Vézère valley in the Dordogne, between Le Bugue and the Lascaux cave at Montignac-Lascaux, the village of Les Eyzies well deserves its nickname of prehistory capital. An ideal introduction to any visit to the World Heritage sites, the National Prehistory Museum invites you to discover the oldest traces left by mankind.

📍Etape 3: Restaurant Le 1862

Les Glycines

The former coaching inn of Les Eyzies, a charming hostelry with character since 1862. Surrounded by greenery, a panoramic terrace overlooks a lush garden. You can enjoy gourmet cuisine prepared with vegetables from the garden.

DAY 02

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1: The Font-de-Gaume cave

📍Etape 1: The Font-de-Gaume cave

©Ph.Jugie - Centre des monuments nationaux

Located in Les Eyzies, in the heart of the Périgord Noir region, the Font-de-Gaume cave is one of the finest Palaeolithic sanctuaries in the world. Famous for its polychrome paintings and engravings, it features animal figures and numerous "signs" dating back some 14,000 years.

📍Etape 2: Restaurant le Nosco

Nosco

Table locale - Wine bar located in the heart of Les Eyzies, the world capital of prehistory. Nosco is a convivial place where you can taste local products selected for their quality and drink French wines and local beverages.

📍 Stage 3: Canoeing on the Vézère river

AVCK

Enjoy an incredible adventure on the Vézère with a choice of different canoe trips, exploring this wild, family-friendly river that flows through the Périgord. Your journey will take you past majestic châteaux and historic villages, offering a unique experience in the heart of nature and heritage.

DAY 03

Étape
1/3

📍Stage 1: The Prehistoric Labyrinth

📍Stage 1: The Prehistoric Labyrinth

Prehistoric maze

Come and see Cro-Magnon for real! Become explorers and set off on an expedition in search of the last surviving Cro-Magnon, discovered by the famous archaeologist Professor Jean Netessur. Over an area of more than 1,000 m2, you'll have to solve 35 riddles as you make your way through 7 different atmospheres...

📍Etape 2: Heading for the Beunes valley and picnic at Cap Blanc

A.Borderie
View of Château de Laussel from Commarque

On the way, take in the view of the unspoilt landscape and the Grand Site de France label. Go to theCap Blanc shelter for an intimate and fascinating tour. Then enjoy a picnic at one of the tables with a view of Commarque castle.

📍Etape 3: The Village of la Madeleine

THE VILLAGE OF LA MADELEINE

The troglodyte village of La Madeleine has been home to mankind for thousands of years. World-famous for its eponymous Magdalenian prehistoric site (17,000 BC - 12,000 BC), this large natural site is made up of caves that have been developed since the early Middle Ages and were inhabited until the end of the 19th century.

DAY 04

Étape
1/3

📍Stage 1: The Rouffignac cave

📍Stage 1: The Rouffignac cave

plassard

The Rouffignac cave is one of the largest known decorated caves, with eight kilometres of gallery. Initially frequented by cave bears, it was decorated around 15,000 years ago by prehistoric artists, who drew and engraved more than 250 representations of bison, horses, ibex...

📍Etape 2: Restaurant de Laugerie Basse

©ALR
Low Laugerie

Ask for a table in the troglodytic part of the restaurant for a complete change of scenery!

📍Etape 3: The Grotte du Grand Roc

DAN COURTICE

North of Les Eyzies in the Périgord Noir, travel back in time to discover the wonders of the Périgord region. Grotte du Grand Roc. Discovered in 1924 and opened to the public in 1927, this natural cave is nestled in a cliff overlooking the river Vézère, with a terrace on the side of the rock offering a panoramic view of the village of Les Eyzies and the river valley.

DAY 05

©La Nouvelle Croze
guitare_spot_rouffignac©La Nouvelle Croze

Rest... and enjoy!

Short walks, markets, strolls, siestas... The choice is yours!

DAY 06

Étape
1/3

📍Stage 1: Lascaux IV

📍Stage 1: Lascaux IV

Dan Courtice

The International Centre for Cave Art

In the Périgord Noir region, the Lascaux cave is a masterpiece of prehistoric art, with frescoes depicting around 600 animals (horses, bulls, deer, cats, etc.) and enigmatic signs. The site is now being rediscovered in the International Centre for Cave ArtThe Lascaux Museum, an area of over 8,000m² at the foot of Lascaux hill.

📍Etape 2: Walk around Montignac-Lascaux

Image Maker
Town of Montignac

With the help of the "discovery trail" offered by the Tourist Office, you can enjoy the charm of the town. As you walk along the quays, you'll appreciate the houses on the right bank. This pleasant walk will take you on a tour of the town's middle-class, timber-framed and stilted dwellings.

📍Etape 3: Regourdou Neanderthal site

Michèle Constant

800 metres above the Lascaux cave, at Montignac-Lascaux in the Dordogne, the Regourdou Neanderthal Site is a major archaeological site. The story of its discovery is told on this exceptional site, which contains the oldest Neanderthal burial site in Western Europe.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

©agenceurope

Une semaine proche de la capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire !

Mode de transport : vélo électrique / voiture

Saison idéale : Le Printemps

Point de départ conseillé : Les Eyzies

Au départ des Eyzies, capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire, vous découvrirez toute la richesse préhistorique de la vallée de la Vézère à travers cet itinéraire. On vous emmène visiter la plus célèbre des grottes préhistoriques à Montignac-Lascaux et vous amuser toujours sur le thème de la Préhistoire au Bugue.

JOUR 01

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1 : Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire

📍Etape 1 : Le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire

PIP

Situé aux Eyzies, le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire vous accueille au cœur de la vallée de la Vézère, occupée par l’Homme depuis 400 000 ans. Il est le lieu idéal pour s’informer et comprendre les ressources patrimoniales, culturelles ou encore paysagères de la vallée.

📍Etape 2 : Musée national de Préhistoire

© Musée National de Préhistoire

Situé au cœur de la vallée de la Vézère en Dordogne, entre Le Bugue et la grotte de Lascaux à Montignac-Lascaux, le village des Eyzies mérite bien son surnom de capitale de la préhistoire. Introduction idéale à toute visite des sites classés au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité, le Musée national de Préhistoire vous invite à découvrir les plus anciennes traces laissées par l’Homme.

📍Etape 3 : Restaurant Le 1862

©Les Glycines

Ancien relais des postes des Eyzies, hostellerie de charme et de caractère depuis 1862. Entourée d’un écrin de verdure, une terrasse panoramique surplombe un jardin luxuriant. Vous pourrez déguster une cuisine gastronomique, élaborée avec les légumes du potager.

JOUR 02

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1 : La Grotte de Font-de-Gaume

📍Etape 1 : La Grotte de Font-de-Gaume

©Ph.Jugie – Centre des monuments nationaux

Située aux Eyzies, au cœur du Périgord Noir, la Grotte de Font-de-Gaume est l’un des plus beaux sanctuaires paléolithiques du monde. Célèbre pour ses peintures polychromes, mais aussi ses gravures, elle réunit des figurations animales et de nombreux « signes » datés d’environ 14 000 ans.

📍Etape 2 : Restaurant le Nosco

Nosco

Table locale – Bar à vin situé aux cœur des Eyzies, capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire. Nosco est une table conviviale où l’on peut déguster des produits locaux sélectionnés pour leur qualité et où l’on peut s’abreuver avec des vins français et des boissons locales.

📍Etape 3 : Canoë sur la Vézère

© AVCK

Profitez de l’incroyable aventure sur la Vézère avec différentes descentes en canoë au choix, explorant cette rivière sauvage et familiale qui traverse le Périgord. Votre parcours sera agrémenté de châteaux majestueux et de villages historiques, offrant une expérience unique au cœur de la nature et du patrimoine.

JOUR 03

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1 : Le Labyrinthe Préhistorique

📍Etape 1 : Le Labyrinthe Préhistorique

Labyrinthe Préhistorique

Venez surprendre Cro-Magnon en vrai ! Devenez des explorateurs, partez en expédition à la recherche du dernier Cro-Magnon encore en vie, découvert par le célèbre archéologue : le professeur Jean Netessur. Sur plus de 1000 m2, il vous faudra résoudre 35 énigmes tout au long de votre parcours en traversant 7 atmosphères différentes…

📍Etape 2 : Cap sur la vallée des Beunes et pique-nique à Cap Blanc

©A.Borderie
Vue du Château de Laussel depuis Commarque

Sur la route, profitez du coup d’œil sur le paysage préservé et labellisé Grand Site de France. Rendez-vous à l’Abri de Cap Blanc pour une visite intime et passionnante. Puis pique-niquez sur les tables à disposition avec vue sur le château de Commarque.

📍Etape 3 : Le Village de la Madeleine

LE VILLAGE DE LA MADELEINE

Le village troglodytique de la Madeleine abrite l’Homme depuis des millénaires. Mondialement connu pour son gisement préhistorique éponyme du Magdalénien (- 17 000 / – 12 000 avant J.C. ), ce grand site naturel est fait de cavités aménagées depuis le haut Moyen Âge et habitées jusqu’à la fin du XIXe siècle.

JOUR 04

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1 : La Grotte de Rouffignac

📍Etape 1 : La Grotte de Rouffignac

plassard

La Grotte de Rouffignac est l’une des plus grandes grottes ornées connues, avec huit kilomètres de galerie. D’abord fréquentée par l’ours des cavernes, elle fut décorée, il y a environ 15000 ans, par les artistes préhistoriques qui y dessinèrent et gravèrent plus de 250 représentations de bisons, chevaux, bouquetins…

📍Etape 2 : Restaurant de Laugerie Basse

©ALR
Laugerie basse

Cuisine simple du terroir, demandez une table dans la partie troglodytique du restaurant pour un dépaysement total !

📍Etape 3 : La Grotte du Grand Roc

DAN COURTICE

Au nord des Eyzies en Périgord Noir, voyagez dans le temps à la découverte des merveilles de la Grotte du Grand Roc. Découverte en 1924 et ouverte au public en 1927, cette cavité naturelle est nichée dans une falaise surplombant la Vézère, une terrasse à flanc de rocher offrant d’ailleurs un panorama sur le village des Eyzies et la vallée de la rivière.

JOUR 05

©La Nouvelle Croze
guitare_spot_rouffignac©La Nouvelle Croze

On se repose… et on profite !

Petite promenade, marchés, flâneries, sieste… À vous de choisir !

JOUR 06

Étape
1/3

📍Etape 1 : Lascaux IV

📍Etape 1 : Lascaux IV

© Dan Courtice

Le Centre International de l’Art Pariétal

En Périgord Noir, la Grotte de Lascaux est un chef d’œuvre de l’art préhistorique aux fresques représentant environ 600 animaux (chevaux, taureaux, cerfs, félins, …) et des signes énigmatiques. Le site se redécouvre aujourd’hui au Centre International de l’Art Pariétal, espace de plus de 8000m² au pied de la colline de Lascaux.

📍Etape 2 : Promenade dans Montignac-Lascaux

©tailleurd’images
Ville de Montignac

Aidé par le “sentier de découverte” proposé par l’Office de Tourisme, vous profiterez du charme de la ville. En longeant les quais, vous apprécierez les maisons de la rive droite. Cette promenade agréable vous emmène à la découverte des habitations bourgeoises, à pilotis ou à pans de bois.

📍Etape 3 : Site Néandertal de Regourdou

©Michèle Constant

À 800 mètres au-dessus de la grotte de Lascaux, à Montignac-Lascaux en Dordogne, le Site Néandertal de Regourdou est un site archéologique majeur. L’histoire de la découverte vous est contée sur un lieu exceptionnel livrant la sépulture néandertalienne la plus ancienne de l’ Europe de l’ouest.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu