mountain biker on the Vézère Valley greenway in Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

For a long weekend -4 days

Mode of transport : bike

Ideal season : Spring fall

Recommended starting point : the Flow bike

Accommodation method : campsite and guesthouse

Circuit type : roaming

Leave Flow Vélo for a four-day getaway in the Vézère Valley. A Grand Site de France destination, known for its numerous UNESCO World Heritage sites. Immerse yourself in preserved nature, delight in local flavors, let yourself be carried away by a unique experience between prehistory, craftsmanship and gastronomy.

DAY 01

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©Agence Urope

01

Discovering cave art and local heritage

👉 Leave Flow Vélo in Coly for a few days' getaway in the Vézère Valley.

First step of your stay in the Vallée de l’Homme: the village of Saint-Amand-de-Coly.
Classified as “Most Beautiful Villages of France”, it is known for its 12th century abbey church. It is one of the most beautiful fortified churches in Périgord. From her tall silhouette, she watches over the village and its houses made of ocher stones and slate, typical materials of the region.

Visit Coly-Saint-Amand

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©LesCoflocs

02

The Lascaux cave

 

Get back on your bike towards Montignac-Lascaux. The the International Center for Cave Art – Lascaux IV welcomes you for an unmissable discovery of the Lascaux cave. An exact and complete replica of the original cave, which to preserve its works, closed its access to the public in 1963. The reconstructed life-size facsimile is an invitation to contemplation, emotion and wonder.

 

Good to know :  

Lascaux II: An in-depth and intimate visit to Lascaux

A stone's throw from the original cave, Lascaux II offers an intimate visit to immerse yourself in the history of the cave and put yourself in the shoes of a discoverer of Lascaux. This is an exact copy of the two main rooms of the cave.

How to visit Lascaux and the International Center for Cave Art?

Saint Léon sur Vézère - Church of Périgord
©Agence Urope

03

Saint-Léon sur Vézère

Leave Montignac-Lascaux to return to Thonac and enjoy a good meal at Archambeau restaurant. Continue your way to the village of Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Located on a meander of the river, the village is classified as “Most Beautiful Villages of France”. A stroll through its streets will lead you to meet local artisans. Meet Chantal from Creation of La Sagitterre, a passionate ceramist potter or even Olivier de Piqoli, artisan sculptor and jewelry designer. They will be happy to discuss and share with you their passion for their profession.

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

04

The Dungeon, Manor and Garden of La Salle

 A parenthesis of tranquility and history  

In the heart of the village proudly stands the Donjon and Manoir de la Salle. Pass through its large studded door and discover a magnificent architectural ensemble classified as a Historic Monument. Stroll through its furnished rooms, full of collections, before enjoying its garden housing a giant cedar tree.

Dungeon, Manor and Garden of La Salle

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

05

Paradise in Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère 

👉 Dinner and night at Camping 5⭐

Camping Le Paradis

DAY 02

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

01

Between Prehistory, cliffs and well-kept secrets

After a good breakfast at Le Paradis campsite, continue your getaway towards Campagne. 

Make a first stop at Tursac to explore the surprising Fortified House of Reignac. A cliff castle classified as a Historic Monument, renowned as the most secret, unusual and mysterious in Périgord. Overlooking the Vézère Valley, this unique site in France welcomes you for a real journey through time.

The Forte House of Reignac

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

02

The National Museum of Prehistory

Get back on your bike and return to the village of Les Eyzies, the world capital of Prehistory. Treat yourself to a gourmet break in one of its restaurants before visiting its various sites. To refine your historical knowledge, opt for a visit to the National Museum of Prehistory. A reference place for the conservation and dissemination of knowledge, you will discover rich collections retracing 400 of our history. From the top of its terrace, admire the valley and its cliffs.

National Museum of Prehistory

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
Instapades Studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne

03

Les Eyzies

Visit the cave of Font-de-Gaume*, famous for its polychrome paintings and engravings, this cave is one of the most beautiful Paleolithic sanctuaries in the world. Or the Prehistory Interpretation Center, a place of information and promotion of the heritage and landscapes of the Grand Site de France Vézère Valley. You will be spoiled for choice !

Good to know :  Commented visit possible with a greeter: between discovery of the village and life story

 

*prior reservation required

Visit Les Eyzies

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©agencelesconteurs

04

The Grand Roc cave

Do you prefer geology? Direction the Grand Roc cave for an exploration of the underground world and its secrets. You will travel through a veritable mineral forest made up of an incredible variety and density of crystallizations. A true natural masterpiece, the Grand Roc cave is a jewel of the Vézère Valley.

Cave of the Great Rock

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©ALR

05

Countryside departmental domain

A few more kilometers will take you to Campagne. Before returning to your accommodation for the night, a stop is possible at Countryside departmental domain. You can stroll through its wooded park and admire its castle from the outside. A well-deserved quiet time in unspoiled nature.

The Departmental Country Estate

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
Noel Pelegrin

06

Au Pré des Sources in Campagne

👉 Night in a guest room

At the Meadow of the Sources

DAY 03

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©Guitte

01

Discovery of local know-how and beautiful villages

Leaving Campagne, take the greenway to reach Limeuil. This small village at the confluence of the Vézère river and the Dordogne river is classified as “Most Beautiful Villages in France”. Walk its streets to admire its beautiful stones and its typical architecture of Périgord Noir. Go meet Nicolas, the village glassblower, who will pass on his passion and know-how to you.

Blown glass workshop – Nicolas Guittet

A drink on the terrace at Rouffignac Saint Cernin de Reilhac - Périgord beer
©InstapadesStudio

02

The Lutin

Just a few minutes from the town center, open the doors of The Lutin, the local craft brewery.

For lunch, don't miss the Mamie'M restaurant, where cuisine is shared around taste, emotions, good times and above all... local products.

Brasserie La Lutine

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©PARC LE BOURNAT

03

Bournat Park

Discovery of the 1900s in Périgord Noir 

Between Limeuil and Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, a break is possible in the village of Bugue. Opt for a visit to the historic streets of the small town or a visit to Bournat. A park reconstituting a village from the 1900s in Périgord. Visit the school, go through the mill, have fun on the fairground rides and meet the craftsmen who will introduce you to the trades of yesteryear. 

The + : Le Bugue has a station allowing access to Sarlat and Flow Vélo.

Bournat Park

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley
©InstapadesStudio

04

Rouffignac

Leave Limeuil to join Rouffignac-saint-cernin-de-reilhac. On the highest hills of Périgord Noir, Rouffignac is surrounded by varied landscapes and preserved nature. Its particular architecture results from its significant past: during the Second World War, the town was destroyed by incendiary and devastating bombs.

Visit Rouffignac

guitar_spot_rouffignac©La Nouvelle Croze
©La Nouvelle Croze

05

New Croze in Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac 

👉 Night at campsite 4⭐ 

.

Camping La Nouvelle Croze

DAY 04

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

01

A day of authenticity and exceptional products

Start this last day by going to the Rouffignac cave, also known as the “cave of a hundred mammoths” because of its large number of representations. Take a seat aboard the electric train and immerse yourself in the mysterious world of caves. A whole exceptional collection of animal figures will be revealed before your eyes.

Cave of Rouffignac

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

02

Vilatte Plassard Pompougnac

A terroir and local flavors 

A stone's throw from the Rouffignac cave, you will find the shop Vilatte Plassard Pompougnac. Annick, Pierre and Luc are artisan preservers from generation to generation. Respectful of traditions and our local terroir, they put all their know-how into their products.

Maison Vilatte Plassard-Pompougnac

A cycling getaway: 4 days in the Vézère Valley

03

Bocerno Oil Factory

After a morning of exploration and discovery of cave art, take your bike back towards Plazac. Meet at the Bocerno oil mill to discover the local manufacturing of virgin walnut oils: an essential product of local gastronomy. The little extra: the visit concludes with a tasting of some of the oil mill's flagship products.

Bocerno Oil Factory

Ort Distillery - Montignac-Lascaux - local products
LesCoflocs

04

Ort Distillery

On your way back to Montignac-Lascaux, stop at the Òrt distillery, “garden” in Occitan. You will meet Nolween and Loïs, creators of spirits combining know-how and ecological innovations. Made with passion, their gin and pastis are exceptional creations with flavors of Périgord. They will be happy to show you their distillery as well as their products.

👉 By returning to Montignac-Lascaux, you end your stay in the Vézère Valley.
All you have to do is join the Flow Vélo towards Sarlat.

Òrt Distillery

Was this content useful to you?

vttiste sur la voie verte Vallée Vézère en Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

Pour un week-end prolongé -4 jours

Mode de transport :  vélo

Saison idéale : Printemps – Automne

Point de départ conseillé : la Flow vélo

Mode d’hébergement :  camping et chambre d’hôtes

Type de circuit :  en itinérance

Quittez la Flow Vélo pour une escapade de quatre jours en Vallée de la Vézère. Une destination Grand Site de France, connue pour ses nombreux sites classés au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Immergez-vous dans une nature préservée, délectez vous de saveurs locales, laissez-vous porter par une expérience unique entre préhistoire, artisanat et gastronomie.

JOUR 01

©Agence Urope

01

A la découverte de l’art pariétal et du patrimoine local

👉 Quittez la Flow Vélo à Coly pour une escapade de quelques jours en Vallée de la Vézère.

Première étape de votre séjour en Vallée de l’Homme : le village de Saint-Amand-de-Coly.
Classé “Plus Beaux Villages de France”, il est connu pour son abbatiale du XIIe siècle. Elle est l’une des plus belles églises fortifiées du Périgord. De sa haute silhouette, elle veille sur le village et ses maisons faites de pierres ocres et de lauzes, matériaux typiques de la région.

Visiter Coly-Saint-Amand

©LesCoflocs

02

La grotte de Lascaux

 

Remontez sur votre vélo en direction de Montignac-Lascaux. Là, le Centre International de l’Art Pariétal – Lascaux IV vous accueille pour une découverte incontournable de la grotte de Lascaux. Une réplique exacte et complète de la grotte originale, qui pour préserver ses œuvres, a fermé son accès au public en 1963. Le fac-similé reconstitué grandeur nature est une invitation à la contemplation, à l’émotion et l’émerveillement.

 

Bon à savoir :  

Lascaux II : Une visite approfondie et intimiste de Lascaux

A deux pas de la grotte originale, Lascaux II offre une visite intimiste pour s’imprégner de l’histoire de la grotte et se mettre dans la peau d’un découvreur de Lascaux. Il s’agit de la copie exacte des deux salles principales de la grotte.

Visiter Lascaux et le Centre International de l’art pariétal, comment s’y prendre ?

Saint Léon sur Vézère - Eglise du périgord
©Agence Urope

03

Saint-Léon sur Vézère

Quittez Montignac-Lascaux pour regagner Thonac et dégustez un bon repas au restaurant Archambeau. Continuez votre chemin jusqu’au village de Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Situé sur un méandre de rivière, le village est classé “Plus Beaux Villages de France”. Une promenade dans ses ruelles vous conduira à la rencontre des artisans locaux. Faites la connaissance de Chantal de Création La Sagiterre, une céramiste potière passionnée ou encore Olivier de Piqoli, artisan sculpteur et créateur de bijoux. Ils se feront un plaisir d’échanger et partager avec vous leur passion pour leur métier.

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère

04

Le Donjon, Manoir et Jardin de la Salle

 Une parenthèse de quiétude et d’histoire  

En plein cœur du village se dresse fièrement le Donjon et Manoir de la Salle. Passez sa grande porte cloutée et découvrez un magnifique ensemble architectural classé Monument Historique. Arpentez ses pièces meublées, truffées de collections avant d’apprécier son jardin abritant un cèdre géant.

Donjon, Manoir et Jardin de la Salle

05

Le Paradis à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère 

👉  Dîner et nuit au Camping 5⭐

Camping Le Paradis

JOUR 02

01

Entre Préhistoire, falaises et secrets bien gardés

Après un bon petit-déjeuner au camping Le Paradis, continuez votre escapade en direction de Campagne. 

Faites une première halte à Tursac pour explorer la surprenante Maison Forte de Reignac. Un château falaise classé Monument historique, réputé comme le plus secret, insolite et mystérieux du Périgord. Surplombant la Vallée de la Vézère, ce site unique en France, vous accueille pour un véritable voyage dans le temps.

La Maison Forte de Reignac

02

Le Musée National de Préhistoire

Enfourchez de nouveau votre vélo et regagnez le village des Eyzies, capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire. Accordez-vous une pause gourmande dans l’un de ses restaurants avant de visiter ses différents sites. Pour peaufiner vos connaissances historiques, optez pour une visite du Musée National de Préhistoire. Lieu de référence en matière de conservation et de diffusion de la connaissance vous y découvrirez de riches collections retraçant 400 000 de notre histoire. Du haut de sa terrasse, admirez la vallée et ses falaises.

Musée national de Préhistoire

Instapades Studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne

03

Les Eyzies

Visitez la grotte de Font-de-Gaume*, célèbre pour ses peintures polychromes et ses gravures, cette grotte est l’un des plus beaux sanctuaires paléolithiques au monde. Ou bien le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire, lieu d’information et de valorisation des patrimoines et paysages du Grand Site de France Vallée de la Vézère. Vous n’aurez que l’embarras du choix !

Bon à savoir :  Visite commentée possible avec un greeter : entre découverte du village et récit de vie

 

*réservation préalable obligatoire

Visiter Les Eyzies

©agencelesconteurs

04

La grotte du Grand Roc

Vous préférez la géologie ? Direction la grotte du Grand Roc pour une exploration du monde souterrain et de ses secrets. Vous circulerez dans une véritable forêt minérale composée d’une incroyable variété et densité de cristallisations. Véritable chef d’œuvre naturel, la grotte du Grand Roc est un joyau de la Vallée de la Vézère.

Grotte du Grand Roc

©ALR

05

Domaine départemental de Campagne

Quelques kilomètres encore vous mèneront à Campagne. Avant de regagner votre hébergement pour la nuit, un arrêt est possible au Domaine départemental de Campagne. Vous pourrez déambuler dans son parc arboré et admirer de l’extérieur son château. Un temps de calme bien mérité dans une nature préservée.

Le Domaine Départemental de Campagne

Noel Pelegrin

06

Au Pré des Sources à Campagne

👉  Nuit en chambre d’hôtes

Au Pré des Sources

JOUR 03

©Guitte

01

Découverte des savoir-faire locaux et des beaux villages

En partant de Campagne, gagnez la voie verte pour rejoindre Limeuil. Ce petit village à la confluence de la rivière Vézère et de celle de la Dordogne est classé “Plus Beaux Villages de France”. Arpentez ses ruelles pour admirer ses belles pierres et son architecture typique du Périgord Noir. Allez à la rencontre de Nicolas, le souffleur de verre du village, qui vous transmettra sa passion et son savoir-faire.

Atelier du verre soufflé – Nicolas Guittet

Un verre en terrasse à Rouffignac Saint cernin de reilhac - bière du périgord
©InstapadesStudio

02

La Lutine

A quelques minutes seulement du centre bourg, poussez les portes de La Lutine, la brasserie artisanale du coin.

Pour le déjeuner, ne manquez pas le restaurant Mamie’M, où la cuisine se partage autour du goût, des émotions, des bons moments et surtout.. des produits locaux.

Brasserie La Lutine

©PARC LE BOURNAT

03

Le Parc du Bournat

Découverte des années 1900 en Périgord Noir 

Entre Limeuil et Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, une pause est possible au village du Bugue. Optez pour la visite des ruelles historiques de la petite ville ou bien une visite du Bournat. Un parc reconstituant un village des années 1900 en Périgord. Visitez l’école, passez dans le moulin, amusez-vous dans les manèges de la fête foraine et rencontrez les artisans qui vous feront découvrir les métiers d’autrefois. 

Le + : Le Bugue dispose d’une gare permettant de rejoindre Sarlat et la Flow Vélo.

Parc du Bournat

©InstapadesStudio

04

Rouffignac

Quittez Limeuil pour rejoindre Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac. Sur les plus hautes collines du Périgord Noir, Rouffignac s’entoure de paysages variés et d’une nature préservée. Son architecture particulière résulte de son passé marquant : pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le bourg fut anéanti par des bombes incendiaires et dévastatrices.

Visiter Rouffignac

guitare_spot_rouffignac©La Nouvelle Croze
©La Nouvelle Croze

05

La Nouvelle-Croze à Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac 

👉  Nuit au camping 4⭐ 

.

Camping La Nouvelle Croze

JOUR 04

01

Une journée d’authenticité et produits d’exception

Commencez cette dernière journée, en vous rendant à la grotte de Rouffignac, connue également sous le nom de la “grotte aux cent mammouths” en raison de son grand nombre de représentations. Prenez place à bord du train électrique et plongez dans l’univers mystérieux des grottes. C’est tout un ensemble exceptionnel de figurations animales qui se révéleront sous vos yeux.

Grotte de Rouffignac

02

Vilatte Plassard Pompougnac

Un terroir et des saveurs locales 

A deux pas de la grotte de Rouffignac, vous trouverez la boutique Vilatte Plassard Pompougnac. Annick, Pierre et Luc sont artisans conserveurs de génération en génération. Respectueux des traditions et de notre terroir local, ils mettent tout leur savoir-faire dans leurs produits.

Maison Vilatte Plassard-Pompougnac

03

Huilerie Bocerno

Après une matinée d’exploration et de découverte de l’art pariétal, reprenez votre vélo en direction de Plazac. Rendez-vous à l’huilerie Bocerno pour découvrir la fabrication locale d’huiles de noix vierges : un produit incontournable de la gastronomie locale. Le petit plus : la visite se conclut par une dégustation de quelques produits phares de l’huilerie.

Huilerie Bocerno

Distillerie de l'ort - Montignac-Lascaux - produits du terroir
LesCoflocs

04

Distillerie de l’Ort

En revenant à Montignac-Lascaux, arrêtez-vous à la distillerie de l’Òrt, le “jardin” en occitan. Vous ferez la rencontre de Nolween et Loïs, créateurs de spiritueux associant savoir-faire et innovations écologiques. Réalisés avec passion, leur gin et leur pastis sont des créations d’exception aux saveurs du Périgord. Ils se feront un plaisir de vous faire découvrir leur distillerie ainsi que leurs produits.

👉  En revenant à Montignac-Lascaux, vous clôturez votre séjour en Vallée de la Vézère.
Il ne vous reste plus qu’à rejoindre la Flow Vélo en direction de Sarlat.

Distillerie de l’Òrt

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?