mountain biker on the Vézère Valley greenway in Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

For a long weekend – 3 days / 2 nights

Mode of transport : bike

Ideal season : Spring fall

Recommended starting point : Les Eyzies

Accommodation method : Camping

Circuit type : in daisy

For a weekend, come and discover the Vézère Valley by bike. An ideal destination to recharge your batteries and fill up on discoveries. Between preserved nature, prehistoric treasures, authentic villages and passionate artisans, the Vézère Valley is the promise of an unforgettable experience.

DAY 01 – option n°1:
Well-kept local heritage and know-how

mountain biker on the Vézère Valley greenway in Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

01

👉 Arrive by train in Les Eyzies in the morning and settle in at Camping 4⭐ La Rivière for three days. 

Just a few meters from your accommodation, you can rent electrically assisted bicycles from VélO Bison for two consecutive days.

Help: You can also arrive the day before by train for more peace of mind.

Find out more about Camping La Rivière

Bugue market on the town hall square
©ALR

02

From Les Eyzies, take the greenway to Le Bugue. Crossed by the river, this village is known for its local market which has punctuated the daily lives of residents for nearly eight centuries. A moment of conviviality and sharing, it's the perfect opportunity to fill your picnic basket with delicious local products. 

GOOD TO KNOW : A stop at Bugue station!
For your return to Les Eyzies, you can take the train to Le Bugue.
The station is located 2 km from the village, on avenue de la gare towards Campagne. Remember to check the crossing times.

Find out more about Le Bugue

Viewpoint over the panoramic gardens of Limeuil in Dordogne
©Association OVER TIME

03

Cycle a few more kilometers to join Limeuil, confluence of the Vézère and the Dordogne. An ideal setting for a well-deserved lunch break, at the water's edge. Classified as the Most Beautiful Villages of France, you can explore its streets with the typical charms of Périgord Noir. They will lead you to Panoramic Gardens of Limeuil, a true haven of peace. By following its paths, you will discover its thematic gardens and its beautiful viewpoints.  

End your excursion with a meeting with the local artisans. Nicolas, the village glassblower, will share his profession and his know-how with you with passion. Only a few minutes by bike from the village, the La Lutine brewery will reveal to you all the secrets of making their craft beer.

Find out more about Limeuil

DAY 01 – option n°2:
Beauty of nature and time travel

Cyclists on the greenway looking at the cliffs of Les Eyzies
Instapades Studio

01

Au departure from Les Eyzies, take the Greenway to join the Countryside departmental domain. Classified as a Remarkable Garden, it offers a moment of tranquility and immersion in unspoilt nature. Walk through the vegetable garden, the labyrinth and around the castle (not open to visitors) to discover all the beauty of the place. For the most curious, the Dames staircase will take you to the shelters in the cliff, offering a unique view of the park. 

Find out more about the Voie Verte

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley

02

End your morning in Campagne with lunch at castle restaurant. You will taste gourmet dishes highlighting local products and local cuisine. 

 

Find out more about the castle restaurant

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
©PARC LE BOURNAT

03

To continue your day of discovery, two adventures are available to you: 

See you in 1900 with a visit to the Bournat at Bugue : a reconstruction of a village of yesteryear. Enter the school or the mill and have fun on the fairground rides. You will discover old trades by meeting the artisans of the park. An immersive experience to go back in time and immerse yourself in the lively life of the villages of yesteryear in Périgord Noir.

Find out more about the Parc du Bournat

Proumeyssac chasm in the Vézère valley
©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_GouffredeProumeyssac-3

03

Explore the underworld with an expedition to GProumeyssac offering* to Audrix. Nicknamed the “Crystal Cathedral”, you will be amazed by the lighting revealing the beauty of its crystallizations. A descent in a basket allows you to relive the emotion of the first explorations in the chasm.

 

*Reservation required during summer

Find out more about the Gouffre de Proumeyssac

DAY 02
Artisanal discoveries and relaxation along the water

Aerial view of Saint-Léon sur Vézère
The Coflocs

01

After collecting your picnic from Marie-Paule and Amandine from Camping La Rivière, take your bike to go to Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Located on a meander of the river, this emblematic village is classified as the Most Beautiful Villages of France. You will appreciate its narrow streets, its Périgord houses made of blond stone and its Romanesque church classified as a Historic Monument.

Find out more about Saint-Léon sur Vézère

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley

02

During your discovery of the village, you will be able to meet local artisans and their unique know-how. Chantal, ceramist potter, opens the doors of her workshop to you Creations La Sagitterre. She will share her passion for pottery with you. A stone's throw from his shop, Olivier, jewelry creator and sculptor, will welcome you to his Piqoli workshop. Admire his meticulous work and unique creations.

Find out more about La SagiTerre Creations

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_RoqueSaintChristophe-11

03

To complete your day, there's nothing like a peaceful canoe trip on the Vézère. Head to the base Canoes APA for a walk of a few kilometers between Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère and La Roque Saint-Christophe. For history buffs, an audio guide is at your disposal. Guided by the voices of naturalists, prehistorians and lords, immerse yourself in captivating stories recounting the close link between man and the river, since the dawn of time.

Learn more about APA canoes

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
©Agence Urope

04

GOOD TO KNOW

La Roque Saint Christophe: a unique troglodytic site! 

Shaped by time and bad weather, this imposing limestone cliff once hosted nearly a hundred rock shelters on its vast aerial terraces. Since prehistoric times, these natural cavities have been occupied by humans, then developed over the centuries, from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance, to become a remarkable troglodyte city.

Find out more about La Roque Saint-Christophe

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
velobison

05

👉After your canoe descent, you will be picked up by Canoës APA at the Tursac nautical stop. Then simply get back on your bikes to reach Les Eyzies.

Don't forget to return your bikes to VélO Bison.

.

Find out more about Vélo Bison

DAY 03
Exploration of the treasures of Les Eyzies: world capital of Prehistory

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
Free Dordogne

01

Start this day with a visit to the National Museum of Prehistory. A reference place for the conservation and dissemination of knowledge, you will discover rich collections tracing 400 years of our history. From its panoramic terrace, you will admire the valley and its cliffs. 

Find out more about the Prehistory Museum

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley
Instapades Studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne

02

Prehistory Interpretation Center : a gateway to the wealth of our territory!

Place of information on site visits and interpretation: discover the heritage and remarkable landscapes of the Grand Site de France Vallée de la Vézère. It is the ideal place to learn, understand and learn about the richness of our heritage resources.

Find out more about the Prehistory Interpretation Center

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley

03

Extend your immersion in history with a guided tour of the Font-de-Gaume cave*. Renowned for its polychrome paintings and engravings, it constitutes one of the most remarkable Paleolithic sanctuaries in the world. No less than 200 representations adorn its walls. Bison, mammoths and even reindeer take shape before your eyes and offer a striking testimony to the art of the first men.

*Reservation required in advance.

Find out more about Font de Gaume

Bike escape weekend in the Vézère valley

04

To continue this discovery of our hidden treasures, go to the Grand Roc cave. A true mineral forest, it is the only concretion cave listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It offers an intimate and exceptional visit to the underground world.

Find out more about the Grand Roc

Greeters Vézère Valley ©A.Borderie
©Amelie Borderie

05

Guided tour with a greeter: discovery of the village and life story. 

Passionate about Eyzies, Francis will accompany you in discovering the village. 

He will tell you the story of the village of yesteryear, its memories and its anecdotes.

Find out more about greeters

Was this content useful to you?

vttiste sur la voie verte Vallée Vézère en Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

Pour un week-end prolongé – 3 jours / 2 nuits

Mode de transport :  vélo

Saison idéale : Printemps – Automne

Point de départ conseillé : Les Eyzies

Mode d’hébergement :  Camping

Type de circuit :  en marguerite

Le temps d’un week-end, venez découvrir la Vallée de la Vézère à vélo. Une destination idéale pour se ressourcer et faire le plein de découvertes. Entre nature préservée, trésors préhistoriques, villages authentiques et artisans passionnés, la Vallée de la Vézère, c’est la promesse d’une expérience inoubliable.

JOUR 01 – option n°1 :
Patrimoine local et savoir-faire bien gardés

vttiste sur la voie verte Vallée Vézère en Dordogne
©Instapades Studio

01

👉 Arrivez en train aux Eyzies le matin et installez-vous au Camping 4⭐ La Rivière pour trois jours. 

A seulement quelques mètres de votre hébergement, vous pourrez louer des vélos à assistance électrique chez VélO Bison pour deux journées consécutives.

Coup de pouce : Vous pouvez également arriver la veille en train pour plus de tranquillité.

En savoir + sur Le Camping La Rivière

Marché du Bugue sur la place de l'hotel de ville
©ALR

02

Au départ des Eyzies, empruntez la voie verte jusqu’au Bugue. Traversé par la rivière, ce village est connu pour son marché local qui rythme le quotidien des habitants depuis près de huit siècles. Moment de convivialité et de partage, c’est l’occasion parfaite pour garnir votre panier pique-nique des savoureux produits du terroir. 

BON À SAVOIR : Une halte à la gare du Bugue !
Pour votre retour aux Eyzies, vous pouvez prendre le train au Bugue.
La gare se situe à 2 kms du bourg du village, sur l’avenue de la gare en direction de Campagne. Pensez à vérifier les horaires de passage.

En savoir + sur Le Bugue

Point de vue sur les jardins panoramiques de Limeuil en Dordogne
©Association AU FIL DU TEMPS

03

Pédalez encore quelques kilomètres pour rejoindre Limeuil, confluent de la Vézère et de la Dordogne. Un cadre idéal pour une pause déjeuner bien méritée, au bord de l’eau. Classé Plus Beaux Villages de France, vous pourrez arpenter ses ruelles aux charmes typiques du Périgord Noir. Elles vous conduiront aux Jardins Panoramiques de Limeuil, véritable havre de paix. En suivant ses sentiers, vous découvrirez ses jardins thématiques et ses beaux points de vue.  

Terminez votre excursion par une rencontre avec les artisans locaux. Nicolas, le souffleur de verre du village, vous partagera avec passion son métier et son savoir-faire. A seulement quelques minutes à vélo du bourg, la brasserie La Lutine vous dévoilera tous les secrets de la fabrication de leur bière artisanale.

En savoir + sur Limeuil

JOUR 01 – option n°2 :
Beauté de la nature et voyage dans le temps

Cyclistes sur la voie verte regardant les falaises des Eyzies
Instapades Studio

01

Au départ des Eyzies, empruntez la voie verte pour rejoindre le Domaine départemental de Campagne. Classé Jardin remarquable, il offre une parenthèse de tranquillité et une immersion dans une nature préservée. Promenez-vous dans le potager, le labyrinthe et aux abords du château (non ouvert à la visite) pour découvrir toute la beauté du lieu. Pour les plus curieux, l’escalier des Dames vous conduira aux abris dans la falaise, offrant une vue unique sur le parc. 

En savoir + sur la Voie Verte

02

Terminez votre matinée à Campagne par un déjeuner au restaurant du château. Vous y dégusterez des assiettes gourmandes mettant à l’honneur les produits du terroir et la cuisine locale. 

 

En savoir + sur le restaurant du château

©PARC LE BOURNAT

03

Pour poursuivre votre journée de découverte, deux aventures s’offrent à vous : 

Rendez-vous en 1900 avec la visite du Bournat au Bugue : une reconstitution d’un village d’autrefois. Entrez dans l’école ou encore le moulin et amusez-vous dans les manèges de la fête foraine. Vous découvrirez des anciens métiers en rencontrant les artisans du parc. Une expérience immersive pour remonter le temps et plonger dans la vie animée des villages d’antan du Périgord Noir.

En savoir + sur le Parc du Bournat

Gouffre de Proumeyssac en vallée vézère
©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_GouffredeProumeyssac-3

03

Explorez le monde souterrain avec une expédition au Gouffre de Proumeyssac* à Audrix. Surnommé la “Cathédrale de Cristal”, vous serez émerveillé par la mise en lumière révélant la beauté de ses cristallisations. Une descente en nacelle permet de revivre l’émotion des premières explorations dans le gouffre.

 

*Réservation nécessaire en période estivale

En savoir + sur le Gouffre de Proumeyssac

JOUR 02
Découvertes artisanales et détente au fil de l’eau

Vue aérienne sur Saint-Léon sur Vézère
Les Coflocs

01

Après avoir récupéré votre pique-nique auprès de Marie-Paule et Amandine du Camping La Rivière, prenez votre vélo pour vous rendre à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Installé sur un méandre de rivière, ce village emblématique est classé Plus Beaux Villages de France. Vous apprécierez ses ruelles, ses maisons périgourdines en pierres blondes et son église romane classée Monument historique.

En savoir + sur Saint-Léon sur Vézère

02

Au cours de votre découverte du village, vous pourrez faire la rencontre des artisans locaux et de leur savoir-faire unique. Chantal, céramiste potière, vous ouvre les portes de son atelier Créations La Sagiterre. Elle vous partagera sa passion pour la poterie. A deux pas de sa boutique, Olivier, artisan créateur de bijoux et sculpteur vous accueillera dans son atelier Piqoli. Admirez son travail méticuleux et ses créations uniques.

En savoir + sur les Créations La SagiTerre

©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_RoqueSaintChristophe-11

03

Pour parfaire votre journée, rien de tel qu’une paisible descente en canoë sur la Vézère. Direction la base Canoës APA pour une balade de quelques kilomètres entre Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère et La Roque Saint-Christophe. Pour les passionnés d’histoire, un audio-guide est à votre disposition. Guidés par les voix de naturalistes, préhistoriens et châtelains, imprégnez-vous des récits captivants racontant le lien étroit entre l’homme et la rivière, depuis la nuit des temps.

En savoir + sur les canoes A.P.A.

©Agence Urope

04

BON À SAVOIR

La Roque Saint Christophe : un  site troglodytique unique ! 

Façonné par le temps et les intempéries, cette imposante falaise de calcaire accueillait autrefois prêt d’une centaine d’abris sous-roches sur ses vastes terrasses aériennes. Dès la Préhistoire, ces cavités naturelles ont été occupées par l’Homme, puis aménagées au fil des siècles, du Moyen-Age à la  Renaissance, pour devenir une remarquable cité troglodytique.

En savoir + sur La Roque Saint-Christophe

velobison

05

👉Après votre descente en canoë, vous serez récupéré par Canoës APA à la halte nautique de Tursac. Ensuite, reprenez simplement vos vélos pour rejoindre Les Eyzies.

N’oubliez pas de restituer vos vélos à VélO Bison.

.

En savoir + sur Vélo Bison

JOUR 03
Exploration des trésors des Eyzies : capitale mondiale de la Préhistoire

Dordogne Libre

01

Débutez cette journée par une visite du Musée National de Préhistoire. Lieu de référence en matière de conservation et de diffusion de la connaissance, vous y découvrirez de riches collections retraçant 400 000 ans de notre histoire. Depuis sa terrasse panoramique, vous admirerez la vallée et ses falaises. 

En savoir + sur le Musée de la Préhistoire

Instapades Studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne

02

Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire : une porte d’entrée sur la richesse de notre territoire !

Lieu d’information sur les visites de sites et d’interprétation : partez à la découverte des patrimoines et des paysages remarquables du Grand Site de France Vallée de la Vézère. C’est l’endroit idéal pour s’informer, comprendre et s’initier à la richesse de nos ressources patrimoniales.

En savoir + sur le Pole d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire

03

Prolongez votre immersion dans l’histoire avec une visite guidée de la grotte de Font-de-Gaume*. Renommée pour ses peintures polychromes et ses gravures, elle constitue l’un des plus remarquables sanctuaires paléolithiques au monde. Pas moins de 200 représentations ornent ses parois. Bisons, mammouths ou encore rennes se dessinent sous vos yeux et offrent un témoignage saisissant de l’art des premiers hommes.

*Réservation nécessaire au préalable.

En savoir + sur Font de Gaume

04

Pour continuer cette découverte de nos trésors cachés, rendez-vous à la grotte du Grand Roc. Véritable forêt minérale, c’est la seule grotte à concrétions inscrite au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Elle offre une visite intimiste et exceptionnelle du monde souterrain.

En savoir + sur le Grand Roc

Greeters Vallée Vézère ©A.Borderie
©Amelie Borderie

05

Visite commentée avec un greeter : découverte du village et récit de vie. 

Passionné des Eyzies, Francis vous accompagnera dans la découverte du village. 

Il  vous contera le récit du village d’antan, ses souvenirs et ses anecdotes.

En savoir + sur les greeters

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?