On holiday in the Périgord Noir? The medieval village of Beynac-et-Cazenac, in the heart of the Dordogne valley, is a must-see!

A stroll through the narrow streets, a guided tour and a visit to the castle dating from Middle AgesA rich programme awaits you at Beynac-et-Cazenac. Follow the guide!

Beynac-et-Cazenac, one of the most beautiful villages in France

Did you know? The village of Beynac dates from the 12th century.e century, like the castle of the same name. Explore the heart of this emblematic Périgord Noir village and stroll through its charming little streets!

The narrow streets and architecture of Beynac, typical of the Dordogne

A visit to Beynac-et-Cazenac is a pleasant stroll through its historic centre. cobbled streets. You'll love discovering its neighbourhoods, also known as "barris", and the heart of the city. medieval and its houses in blonde stone. Don't forget to take the stairs in rue de la Laïcité, near the Tourist Office, to enjoy the view of the Dordogne. You'll no doubt come across the rue Marius Rossillon: known as O'Galop, this watercolour artist was the creator of the Michelin Bibendum... and a resident of Beynac! If you want to extend your stay in the Périgord Noir, you're sure to find a bed and breakfast around the bend in one of Beynac's typical houses. Or a campsite not far from the town centre. Not forgetting the market, every Monday morning in summer.

Enjoy a guided tour of Beynac-et-Cazenac

To discover all the secrets and remarkable places in the village of Beynac-et-Cazenac, opt for the Beynac-et-Cazenac tour. with a guide ! It's a great way to discover places you've never seen before, like the church of Notre-Dame, which is closed to the public. You'll also find out everything you need to know about the activities of the village of Beynac-et-Cazenac in the Middle Ages. Middle Ages You'll also be able to take a look at some of the region's most popular tourist attractions: inland waterway transport and the famous flat-bottomed barges, fishing and woodworking. Tours private or group are organised by the Sarlat-Périgord Noir tourist office.

Things to do in and around Beynac

Once you've visited the village of Beynac-et-Cazenac, there are still plenty of places to visit and activities to discover! Plan a visit to the Château de Beynac during your stay, and why not take a trip (in a canoe or gabare) on the Dordogne?

Discovering Beynac Castle

The spectacular Château de Beynac, perched more than 150 metres above the village of Beynac-et-Cazenac since the 12th century, is one of the world's most spectacular castles.e century, offers a point of view overlooking the Dordogne valley. A key site in the defence of the region during the Hundred Years' War, Beynac Castle is now a must-see tourist attraction in the Périgord. And with good reason: its state of conservation is impressive. You may have seen it as a film set, but now you can visit it for real! You'll need to do a bit of walking to get there, or choose a car park at the top to spare your calves. And for lovers of fortified castles, head a little further south in the Dordogne: the Castelnaud-la-Chapelle castle awaits you for another discovery!

River boat trip on the Dordogne

And why not admire Beynac-et-Cazenac from another point of view? Boat trips on the Dordogne are always very popular, especially in summer. You'll catch a glimpse of Beynac castle, of course, as well as Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, the gardens at Marqueyssac... in short, an unforgettable panorama from the river!

Other villages and places to visit in Périgord noir

Near Beynac, in the Vézère valley or on the Dordogne valley, many villages, castles and places to visit await you:

  • The gardens of Eyrignac ;
  • Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère ;
  • Coly Saint-Amand ;
  • Domme ;
  • La Roque-Gageac...

Some of them are listed among the Most Beautiful Villages in France: real gems in the heart of the Périgord Noir!

How do I get to the village of Beynac-et-Cazenac?

Almost all roads lead to Beynac-et-Cazenac. Depending on the location of your holiday home or campsite in the Périgord Noir, access to the village is very easy.

  • From Sarlat Take the D57.
  • From La Roque-Gageac Follow the D703, straight ahead!
  • From Castelnaud-la-Chapelle castle Cross the Dordogne on the D57, then join the D703.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

En vacances dans le Périgord noir ? Le village médiéval de Beynac-et-Cazenac, au cœur de la vallée de la Dordogne, est un passage incontournable !

Promenade dans les ruelles, visite guidée, découverte de son château du Moyen-Âge, balade sur la rivière… Un riche programme vous attend à Beynac-et-Cazenac. Suivez le guide !

Beynac-et-Cazenac, l’un des plus beaux villages de France

Le saviez-vous ? Le bourg de Beynac date du XIIe siècle, comme le château du même nom. Partez à la découverte du cœur de ce village emblématique du Périgord noir et flânez dans ses charmantes ruelles !

Les ruelles et l’architecture de Beynac, typiques de la Dordogne

La visite de Beynac-et-Cazenac est une agréable promenade dans ses ruelles pavées. Vous allez adorer la découverte de ses quartiers, aussi appelés « barris », de son cœur médiéval et de ses maisons en pierre blonde. Pensez à emprunter l’escalier de la rue de la Laïcité, près de l’Office de Tourisme, pour profiter du point de vue sur la Dordogne. Vous passerez sans doute par la rue Marius Rossillon : dit O’Galop, cet artiste aquarelliste fut le créateur du bibendum Michelin… et habitant de Beynac ! Pour prolonger votre séjour dans le Périgord noir, vous trouverez sûrement des chambres d’hôtes au détour d’une ruelle, dans l’une des maisons si typiques de Beynac. Ou bien un camping non loin du centre bourg. Sans oublier le marché, à arpenter tous les lundis matins en saison estivale.

Profitez d’une visite guidée de Beynac-et-Cazenac

Pour connaître tous les secrets et lieux remarquables du village de Beynac-et-Cazenac, optez pour la visite avec un guide ! Une bonne idée pour partir à la découverte d’endroits inédits, comme l’église Notre-Dame fermée au public. Vous deviendrez aussi incollables sur les activités du village de Beynac-et-Cazenac à l’époque du Moyen-Âge : la batellerie et les fameuses gabarres, bateaux à fond plat, la pêche ou encore l’artisanat du bois. Des visites privées ou en groupe sont organisées par l’office de tourisme Sarlat-Périgord Noir.

Quelles activités faire à Beynac et alentours ?

Vous avez fait le tour du village de Beynac-et-Cazenac ? Il reste encore bien des lieux à visiter et des activités à découvrir ! Prévoyez une visite du château de Beynac pendant votre séjour, et pourquoi pas, une promenade (en canoë ou en gabare) sur la Dordogne ?

Découverte du château de Beynac

Le spectaculaire château de Beynac, perché à plus de 150 mètres au-dessus du village de Beynac-et-Cazenac depuis le XIIe siècle, offre un point de vue imprenable sur la vallée de la Dordogne. Haut lieu de la défense de la région pendant la Guerre de Cent Ans, le château de Beynac est aujourd’hui un lieu incontournable du tourisme en Périgord. Et pour cause : son état de conservation est impressionnant. Vous l’avez peut-être aperçu comme décor au cinéma, aujourd’hui, vous pouvez le visiter en vrai ! Prévoyez un peu de marche en montée pour y accéder, ou bien choisissez un parking au sommet pour ménager vos mollets. Et pour les amateurs de châteaux forts, rendez-vous un peu plus au sud de la Dordogne : le château de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle vous attend pour une autre découverte !

Promenade en gabarres sur la Dordogne

Et pourquoi ne pas admirer Beynac-et-Cazenac d’un autre point de vue ? Les balades en gabarres sur la Dordogne sont toujours très appréciées, surtout l’été. Vous apercevrez le château de Beynac bien sûr, celui de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle, les jardins de Marqueyssac… bref, un panorama inoubliable depuis la rivière !

Les autres villages et lieux à visiter en Périgord noir

Près de Beynac, dans la vallée de la Vézère ou sur la vallée Dordogne, bien des villages, châteaux et lieux de visite vous attendent :

  • Les jardins d’Eyrignac ;
  • Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère ;
  • Coly Saint-Amand ;
  • Domme ;
  • La Roque-Gageac…

Certains sont classés parmi les Plus Beaux Villages de France : de véritables pépites au cœur du Périgord noir !

Comment se rendre au village de Beynac-et-Cazenac ?

Tous les chemins ou presque mènent à Beynac-et-Cazenac. Selon l’emplacement de votre lieu de vacances ou de votre camping dans le Périgord noir, il est très facile d’accéder au village.

  • Depuis Sarlat : empruntez la route D57.
  • Depuis La Roque-Gageac : suivez la route D703, c’est tout droit !
  • Depuis le château de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle : traversez la Dordogne par la D57, puis rejoignez la route D703.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu