Castelnaud Castle, in the Dordogne, is a must-see for lovers of the arts and culture. old stones. It stands proudly amidst the hills and the Dordogne valley, offering exceptional panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. This medieval fort is one of the most beautiful and unspoilt in the Périgord. If you'd like to discover its magic and unique history, here's what you need to know before planning your visit.

Understanding the history of the château, a piece of French history

Castelnaud castle was built in the Middle Ages (12th century). Its purpose was to protect its lands from the English, who were at war at the time. Over the centuries, it was altered several times and fortified to become the impregnable medieval fortress we can admire today. Although the property has changed hands several times, it has belonged to Kléber Rossillon since 1965, a former mayor of Beynac-et-Cazenac for 20 years. In 1966, it was classified as a Historic Monument by the French government.

Experience the castle

Castelnaud castle is open to the public every day of the year. A self-guided tour is available, but you can also opt for a guided tour, during which the guide will be able to answer all your questions. Guided tours are available for groups or individual visitors. Audiovisuals are available to complete the experience and give a better understanding of the castle's history.

During your visit, you can admire  :

  • the moat
  • the original drawbridge
  • the ornate décor of the living room
  • terraces offering spectacular views over the Dordogne
  • collections of medieval weapons
  • models of war machines

What's more, Château de Castelnaud organises a number of events each year. exhibitions and events specially designed to celebrate the region's history and the Middle Ages. There's always something to do and see in Castelnaud! As you can see, visiting Castelnaud castle is a real experience that takes you back to the Middle Ages. medieval period of the Dordogne and Black Perigord

How to get to Castelnaud castle

Castelnaud castle is easily accessible by car from Périgueux, Rocamadour or Bergerac. It is close to the D706 and D704. You can also get to the château via the train to the nearest railway station: Sarlat. It's around 10 minutes' drive from the château, so you'll need to contact a car rental agency to get you to Castelnaud.

Where can I park in Castelnaud-la-Chapelle? From car parks are available free of charge at the bottom of the village.
There is a charge for parking near the château.

Loading
Loading

How much does a visit cost?

Ticket prices vary according to age and the tour package chosen. Please note: the site is free for children under 10! All prices are available on the château website.

You can pay online or directly at the château reception desk on arrival.

Exploring the surrounding area, more castles?

ALR
Chateau_Castelnaud_beynac_child_view©ALR

After visiting the castle, you can explore the surrounding area to discover a number of tourist attractions, including :

With so much to choose from, there's no shortage of things to do around Castelnaud castle!

Book nearby accommodation

If you want to extend your stay around Château de Castelnaud, there are plenty of accommodation options nearby. There are hotels, campsites, gites and holiday rentals. To find the best option for your budget, you can visit our dedicated web page to compare rates and offers.

Preparing for your visit to the castle

To make the most of your visit, we recommend that you prepare accordingly. The following tips will help:

  • Wear comfortable shoes to explore the castle and its surroundings.
  • Bring water and snacks to keep you going all day.
  • Take warm clothes with you as some parts of the castle can be very cold.
  • Try to arrive early in the morning to avoid the crowds and enjoy a better visit.

Now you're ready to start exploring Castelnaud castle and its surroundings.

Are you still hesitating?

Don't hesitate to check out the reviews left by previous visitors, they'll be sure to convince you! There are over 10,000 reviews on Google for an exceptional rating of 4.5/5. With so many reviews and such a high rating, you should be able to dive into this adventure with your eyes shut. The Middle Ages in the heart of Périgord Noir.  

Other medieval visits around Castelnaud

There are other medieval castles to visit around Castelnaud, such as Beynac, just a few kilometres away. You can also take the opportunity to visit the village of Domme (classified as one of France's most beautiful villages), La Roque Gageac and, of course, the town of Sarlat. 

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le château de Castelnaud, situé en Dordogne, constitue un site touristique incontournable pour les amoureux des vieilles pierres. Il se dresse fièrement au milieu de collines et de la vallée Dordogne, offrant une vue panoramique exceptionnelle sur le paysage environnant. Ce fort médiéval est l’un des plus beaux et des plus intacts de tout le Périgord. Si vous souhaitez découvrir sa magie et son histoire unique, voici ce qu’il faut savoir avant de planifier votre visite.

Comprendre l’histoire du château, un bout d’histoire de France

Le château de Castelnaud a été bâti au Moyen-Âge (XIIe siècle). Le but de cette construction était de protéger ses terres contre les Anglais, alors en guerre. Au fil des siècles, il a été remanié à plusieurs reprises et fortifié pour devenir la forteresse médiévale imprenable qu’on peut admirer aujourd’hui. Bien que la propriété ait changé de mains à plusieurs reprises, elle appartient à Kléber Rossillon depuis 1965, ancien maire de Beynac-et-Cazenac pendant 20 ans. En 1966, elle a été classée Monument Historique par l’Etat Français.

Vivre l’expérience du château

Le château de Castelnaud est ouvert au public tous les jours de l’année. Une visite libre est possible, mais on peut également choisir une visite guidée, durant laquelle la ou le guide saura répondre à toutes vos questions. Les visites guidées sont possibles pour les groupes ou les visiteurs seuls. Des audiovisuels sont disponibles pour compléter l’expérience et donner une meilleure compréhension de l’histoire du château.

Pendant votre visite, vous pourrez admirer  :

  • les douves
  • le pont-levis original
  • le décor orné de la salle du logis
  • les terrasses offrant une vue spectaculaire sur la Dordogne
  • les collections d’armes médiévales
  • les maquettes d’engins de guerre

De plus, le château de Castelnaud organise chaque année plusieurs expositions et événements spécialement conçus pour célébrer l’histoire de la région et le Moyen-Âge. Il y a toujours quelque chose à faire et à voir à Castelnaud ! Vous l’aurez compris, visiter le château de Castelnaud est une véritable expérience qui vous replonge dans la période médiévale de la Dordogne et du Périgord Noir

Comment accéder au château de Castelnaud

Le château de Castelnaud est facilement accessible en voiture depuis Périgueux, Rocamadour ou Bergerac. Il est situé à proximité de la D706 et de la D704. Il est également possible de se rendre au château en empruntant le train jusqu’à la gare ferroviaire la plus proche : Sarlat. Située à environ 10 minutes en voiture du château, il faudra alors contacter une agence de location de véhicules pour vous rendre à Castelnaud.

Où se garer à Castelnaud-la-Chapelle ? Des parkings gratuits sont disponibles en bas du village.
Le parking près du château est payant.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

Combien coûte la visite

Le prix des billets varie en fonction de l’âge et de la formule de visite choisie. À noter : le site est gratuit pour les enfants de moins de 10 ans ! L’ensemble des tarifs sont disponibles sur le site internet du château.

Il est possible de payer en ligne ou directement à l’accueil du château lors de votre arrivée.

Explorer les alentours, encore des châteaux ?

ALR
Chateau_Castelnaud_vue_beynac_enfant©ALR

Après avoir visité le château, vous pourrez explorer les environs pour découvrir de nombreux sites touristiques, notamment :

Avec autant de choix possibles, vous ne manquerez pas de choses à faire autour du château de Castelnaud !

Réserver un logement à proximité

Si vous souhaitez prolonger votre séjour autour du château de Castelnaud, il existe de nombreuses options d’hébergement à proximité. On trouve des hôtels, des campings, des gîtes et des locations de vacances. Pour trouver la meilleure option pour votre budget, vous pouvez consulter notre page web dédiée pour comparer les tarifs et les offres.

Se préparer pour la visite du château

Pour profiter pleinement de votre visite, il est recommandé de se préparer en conséquence. Les conseils suivants sont utiles :

  • Portez des chaussures confortables pour pouvoir explorer le château et ses alentours.
  • Apportez de l’eau et des encas pour tenir toute la journée.
  • Emportez des vêtements chauds car certaines parties du château peuvent être très froides.
  • Essayez d’arriver tôt le matin pour éviter la foule et bénéficier d’une meilleure visite.

Vous voilà fin prêts pour commencer votre exploration du château de Castelnaud et de son environnement.

Vous hésitez encore ?

N’hésitez pas à consulter les avis laissés par les visiteurs précédents, ils sauront vous convaincre ! Il y a plus de 10 000 avis sur Google pour une note exceptionnelle de 4,5 / 5. Autant d’avis pour une note aussi élevée devraient vous permettre de plonger les yeux fermés dans cette aventure du Moyen-Âge au cœur du Périgord Noir.  

Autres visites médiévales autour de Castelnaud

Il y a autour du château de Castelnaud d’autres châteaux médiévaux à visiter comme celui de Beynac, à quelques kilomètres. Vous pourrez aussi en profiter pour visiter le village de Domme, (classé Plus Beaux Villages de France), la Roque Gageac et bien sûr la ville de Sarlat. 

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu