Nestling on the banks of the River Dordogne is La Roque-Gageac. You're sure to know the name of this village, which is one of the most visited in France. And we can only recommend that you come and stroll around this absolutely delightful place. What's more, La Roque-Gageac has plenty of surprises and activities in store. Follow the guide to visit theone of the most beautiful villages in the Périgord Noir, not far from Sarlat, Domme and Castelnaud!

A stroll through the narrow streets of the village of La Roque-Gageac, between the river and the cliffs

A 120-metre cliff overlooks La Roque-Gageac, offering magnificent views for all nature lovers. One of these can be admired from the Roque-Gageac fort. Built into the rock face of the cliff, everything was designed to keep it out of the hands of invaders, but rest assured that today a staircase gives you access to the ramparts, archways and gunports. The view of the Dordogne flowing beneath your feet is simply incredible!

La Roque-Gageac is situated on the edge of one of the many cingles of the Dordogne (in the South West, a cingle is a meander in the river). This jewel of the Black Périgord is built into the side of a cliff more than 100 metres high, giving you an unrivalled view of the sea. very nice view of the river throughout your visit to the village.

An exotic garden at La Roque-Gageac, on the banks of the Dordogne river

A surprise awaits you in the heart of the village, below the Tarde manor house, on the path leading to the church. You'll discover the exotic garden, a path lined with bamboo, palm trees and even banana trees. These plants have found a climate in the Dordogne that is conducive to their development, giving La Roque-Gageac the look of a tropical paradise.

Admire the houses of La Roque-Gageac along the Dordogne river

If you're arriving by road from Sarlat, you can start by walking through the narrow streets of the village of La Roque-Gageac. You'll see the typical Périgord houses, with their brown tiles giving a distinctive look to the roofs. 

You can also admire the Périgord lauze roof of the 14th-century church of Notre-Dame.e century. Have we ever told you about the colour of the stones? It's particularly warm thanks to its golden hue.

©ALR

Château de la Malartrie, the other jewel in the crown of La Roque-Gageac

Château de la Malartrie, the other jewel in the crown of La Roque-Gageac. Château de la Malartrie was founded in the 12th century as a hospital for lepers. Since then, it has undergone a number of transformations, notably in the 19th century, when it acquired the Rennaissance style that it still displays today. Today, it is a family home that can be rented. From the château's main courtyard, there is an exceptional view of the river and also of the village of La Roque-Gageac and its cliffs. Now it's time to get up high and admire the panoramic view over the Dordogne valley!

A gabarre cruise on the Dordogne from La Roque-Gageac: a must for your stay in the Périgord Noir

If you can plan an outing on a gabarre, we don't think you'll forget it in a hurry! This boat, typical of the west coast of France, was used to transport barrels of wine, as well as construction and agricultural products. Around 1850, more than 60 % of goods traded between Bergerac and Bordeaux were carried by gabarre. jigs. 

Nowadays, this beautiful flat-bottomed boat allows you to enjoy a different view of La Roque-Gageac from the river. It's also a great way to cool off when it gets too hot on the banks of the Dordogne. You're bound to enjoy a cruise through this unique site in France.

Must-sees around La Roque-Gageac

There are a number of exceptional places to visit in the Dordogne valley. Here is a selection of châteaux, gardens and parks in the Périgord Noir near La Roque-Gageac :

  • Sarlat and its exceptional Périgord heritage;
  • Domme and its breathtaking views over the Dordogne valley ;
  • The gardens of Marqueyssac are unique in the region;
  • Château de Beynac overlooking the Dordogne ;
  • Castelnaud-la-Chapelle castle and its war machines;
  • The Château des Milandes and its parks, dear to Joséphine Baker.

In this small area less than 20 km wide, you can discover sites that are unique in France!

And to make the most of your holiday, don't hesitate to ask the Tourist Office for a guide to take you on a guided tour. They can also provide information on other leisure activities such as markets, canoeing or even troglodytic sites.

 

The same advice applies if you're looking for quiet accommodation or a campsite in the villages of the Dordogne valley, near La Roque-Gageac: the Tourist Office will give you the best addresses.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Au détour de la rivière Dordogne, se niche La Roque-Gageac. Vous connaissez sûrement le nom de ce village qui est l’un des plus visités de France. Et nous ne pouvons que vous conseiller de venir flâner dans ce lieu absolument délicieux. D’autant plus que la Roque-Gageac réserve bien des surprises et des activités. Suivez le guide pour visiter l’un des plus beaux villages du Périgord noir, non loin de Sarlat, de Domme ou encore de Castelnaud !

Une balade dans les ruelles du village de la Roque-Gageac, entre rivière et falaise

Une falaise de 120 mètres surplombe la Roque-Gageac, offrant de magnifiques points de vue à tous les amoureux de la nature. L’un d’eux peut être contemplé depuis le fort de la Roque-Gageac. Bâti à flanc de falaise, dans le rocher, tout était prévu pour qu’il reste hors de portée des envahisseurs, mais rassurez-vous, aujourd’hui, un escalier vous permet d’y accéder pour y découvrir chemin de ronde, archères et canonnières. La vue sur la Dordogne qui coule sous vos pieds est tout simplement incroyable !

La Roque-Gageac se situe au bord d’un des nombreux cingles de la Dordogne (dans le Sud-ouest, un cingle désigne un méandre de la rivère). Ce joyau du Périgord noir est construit à flanc d’une falaise de plus de 100 mètres de hauteur, ce qui vous permet d’avoir une très jolie vue de la rivière tout au long de votre visite du village.

Un jardin exotique à la Roque-Gageac, au bord de la Dordogne

Une surprise vous attend au coeur du village, en contrebas du manoir de Tarde, sur le chemin qui vous mène à l’église. Vous y découvrirez le jardin exotique, une allée bordée de bambous, palmiers et même bananiers. Ces plantes ont trouvé en Dordogne un climat favorable à leur développement et donnent à la Roque-Gageac des allures de paradis tropical.

Admirez les maisons de la Roque-Gageac qui longent la Dordogne

Si vous arrivez par la route depuis Sarlat, vous pouvez commencer par un peu de marche dans les ruelles du village de la Roque-Gageac. Vous y découvrirez les demeures typiques de cette région du Périgord, avec leurs tuiles brunes donnant une allure particulière aux toits des maisons. 

Vous pourrez aussi admirer le toit en lauze du Périgord de l’église Notre-Dame du XIVe siècle. Vous a-t-on déjà parlé de la couleur des pierres ? Elle est particulièrement chaleureuse grâce à sa teinte dorée.

©ALR

Le château de la Malartrie, l’autre joyau de la Roque-Gageac

Le château de la Malartrie, l’autre joyau de la Roque-Gageac. Le château de la Malartrie a été fondé au 12e siècle : il s’agit à l’époque d’un hôpital pour les lépreux. Depuis, il a subi de nombreuses transformations, notamment au XIXe siècle au cour duquel il a acquis le style rennaissance qu’il arbore encore de nos jours. C’est aujourd’hui une demeure familiale qu’il est possible de louer. Depuis la cour d’honneur du château, se dessine une vue exceptionnelle sur la rivière mais aussi sur le village de la Roque-Gageac et ses falaises. Il est temps maintenant de prendre de la hauteur pour admirer le panorama sur la vallée de la Dordogne !

Une croisière en gabarre sur la Dordogne depuis la Roque-Gageac : un incontournable de votre séjour dans le Périgord noir

Si vous pouvez prévoir une sortie en gabarre, à notre avis, vous ne l’oublierez pas de sitôt ! Ce bateau typique de la côte ouest de la France permettait le transport des barriques de vin, mais aussi des produits de construction ou agricoles. Vers 1850, plus de 60 % des échanges de marchandises entre Bergerac et Bordeaux se faisaient grâce à des gabarres. 

De nos jours, ce très beau bateau à fond plat vous permet de profiter d’un autre point de vue sur la Roque-Gageac, depuis la rivière. Et c’est aussi un bon moyen pour se rafraîchir quand il fait trop chaud sur les berges de la Dordogne. Vous allez forcément apprécier cette croisière dans ce site unique en France.

Les Incontournables autour de La Roque-Gageac

De nombreux lieux d’exception se situent très près les uns des autres en vallée Dordogne. Voici une sélection de châteaux, jardins et parcs du Périgord Noir à proximité de La Roque-Gageac :

  • Sarlat et son patrimoine exceptionnel du Périgord ;
  • Domme et son panorama époustouflant sur la vallée de la Dordogne ;
  • Les jardins de Marqueyssac uniques dans la région ;
  • Le château de Beynac surplombant la Dordogne ;
  • Le château de Castelnaud-la-Chapelle et ses machines de guerre ;
  • Le château des Milandes et ses parcs, chers à Joséphine Baker.

Sur ce petit territoire de moins de 20 km de large, vous pouvez découvrir des sites uniques en France !

Et pour mieux apprécier vos vacances, n’hésitez pas à solliciter l’Office du Tourisme qui vous indiquera un guide pour une visite commentée. Mais aussi des informations sur les autres loisirs comme un marché, une sortie en canoë ou même la découverte d’un site troglodytique.

 

Même conseil si vous cherchez un hébergement ou un camping au calme dans des villages de la vallée de la Dordogne, près de la Roque-Gageac : l’Office du Tourisme vous confiera les meilleures adresses.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu