Sarlat is one of the must-visit places in the Dordogne! The medieval town is renowned for its many historic buildings, and there are plenty of opportunities for the curious to discover all its treasures. How can you organise your visit to Sarlat? What are the must-see places in this town of art and history, in the heart of the Périgord? Follow the guide! 

Where to walk in Sarlat, a town of art and history?

When you visit Sarlat, the first thing to do is plan a nice walk: the town centre is pedestrianised. From the Place de la Liberté to the Jardin du Plantier, via the Manoir de Gisson, make sure you don't miss a thing!

©OTSPN

Areas and buildings to visit in Sarlat

The heart of the medieval town is divided into two districts, separated by the Traverse (rue de la République).

  • To the east, discover Sarlat-la-Canéda's most popular shopping district, where you'll find the famous Sarlat covered market on the Place de la Liberté. You can also discover the history of the town's most emblematic buildings, such as the Saint-Sacerdos cathedral and the Gisson manor house.
  • Then head to the western quarter of Sarlat, where the quieter streets invite you to take a peaceful stroll. In summer, a visit in the shade or at the end of the day, not far from the gardens of the Abbaye Sainte-Claire, is particularly enjoyable.

Guided tours to discover Sarlat-la-Canéda

Prefer to listen to a guide's account? Guided tours of the medieval town are also available. These tours are ideal for learning all about the secrets and anecdotes of this town of art and history, in the heart of Périgord, but also for discovering Sarlat-la-Canéda in a different way: 

  • Throughout the year with dramatised walks led by actor-guides;
  • In summer, take a guided tour of the town by night to discover Sarlat by night;
  • Take a fun tour of the medieval town with the Sarlat Rally.

Visiting Sarlat with the family and children

Like other must-see places in the Dordogne, Sarlat has the advantage of being just as accessible to adults as it is to children. Make way for family tourism ! Fun tours are organised by the town's Tourist Office. The full programme is available on the website: sarlat-tourisme.com

A gourmet visit

Would you like to discover the region's specialities? Périgord is a land of gourmet products to delight the palates of young and old alike. To taste them, head for the markets in Sarlat!

  • The traditional open-air market in Sarlat, where you can meet the producers of the Dordogne: all year round on Wednesday mornings or all day on Saturdays;
  • The covered market, in the former church of Sainte-Marie ;
  • Visit winter, truffle markets and the Saturday morning fat market. 
©Dordogne Libre

A tour with a view of the city's rooftops

The former Sainte-Marie church is also home to the panoramic lift, which allows you to discover Sarlat-la-Canéda from a height of almost 35 metres.

To help you organise your day, this tour can be booked at the Tourist Office. And the good news is that it's free for children under 6... accompanied by an adult, of course!

A walking tour of the narrow streets of the medieval town

There are several possible routes for visiting Sarlat on foot. In the narrow streets of the town, you can have fun identifying the different locations that have been used as film sets. The visit is also an opportunity to admire the town's facades. in stone and lauze roofsYou can also go in search of the famous bronze geese. Or go in search of the famous bronze geese. Any clues? Maybe they too wanted to visit the market...

A tour to discover the city's landmarks

As elsewhere in the Dordogne, the medieval town invites you on a journey through the history of the region. Several buildings are well worth a visit: 

  • The Manoir de Gisson (XVIIe century), a veritable castle in the city, open to visitors on a self-guided tour;
  • Saint-Sacerdos Cathedral, free to visit (adults and children);
  • The Maison de la Boétie, not far from the cathedral: its façade is a blend of medieval and Renaissance styles; 
  • Or the Lantern of the Dead (XIIe century), an unusual sepulchral chapel to visit in the Saint-Benoît cemetery. 

Easy access to Sarlat town centre?

The jewel of the Périgord Noir, Sarlat-la-Canéda has preserved its heritage. That's why the centre of the medieval town can only be visited on foot. But rest assured, access is easy. That's another reason why it's such a popular destination on your trip through the Dordogne, between visits to caves and castles.

  • Several parking areas are available in Sarlat, in the town centre;
  • From summer bus routes provide a link between the town centre and the surrounding villages. This is the perfect opportunity to organise your stay by choosing a hotel close to Sarlat. 

Not just Sarlat! 

Did you like Sarlat-la-Canéda, with its medieval streets and atmosphere worthy of a film set? You may also like to visit the other places not to be missed of the Périgord, in the Dordogne valley or the Vézère valley. The good news is that they are easily accessible from Sarlat:

  • The many prehistoric sites: the Lascaux cave, the Cro Magnon shelter... ;
  • Castles: Château de Beynac, Château de Castelnaud... ;
  • The medieval villages of La Roque-Gageac and Beynac ;
  • The gardens of Marqueyssac... 

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Sarlat fait partie des lieux incontournables à visiter en Dordogne ! La ville médiévale est réputée pour ses nombreux bâtiments historiques et les curieux trouveront bien des occasions d’en découvrir tous les trésors. Comment organiser votre visite de Sarlat ? Quels sont les lieux à voir absolument dans cette ville d’art et d’histoire, au cœur du Périgord ? Suivez le guide ! 

Où se promener à Sarlat, ville d’art et d’histoire ?

Visiter Sarlat, c’est d’abord prévoir une belle promenade à pied : le centre de la ville est piéton. Depuis la place de la Liberté jusqu’au jardin du Plantier en passant par le Manoir de Gisson, assurez-vous de ne rien manquer !

©OTSPN

Les quartiers et édifices de Sarlat à visiter

Le cœur de la ville médiévale se divise en deux quartiers, séparés par la Traverse (la rue de la République).

  • À l’est, découvrez le quartier le plus commerçant de Sarlat-la-Canéda : vous y retrouverez notamment le célèbre marché couvert de Sarlat, sur la place de la Liberté. Vous pourrez aussi y découvrir l’histoire des bâtiments les plus emblématiques de la ville, comme la cathédrale Saint-Sacerdos et le manoir de Gisson.
  • Rendez-vous ensuite dans le quartier ouest de Sarlat : les ruelles plus calmes invitent à une promenade paisible. En été, la visite à l’ombre ou en fin de journée, non loin des jardins de l’Abbaye Sainte-Claire, est particulièrement appréciable.

Des visites guidées pour découvrir Sarlat-la-Canéda

Vous préférez écouter le récit d’un guide ? La cité médiévale se dévoile aussi le temps de visites guidées. Ces visites sont idéales pour tout connaître des secrets et des anecdotes de cette ville d’art et d’histoire, au cœur du Périgord, mais aussi pour découvrir Sarlat-la-Canéda autrement : 

  • Pendant toute l’année avec les balades théâtralisées animées par des guides comédiens ;
  • En été avec une visite guidée nocturne de la ville, pour découvrir Sarlat de nuit ;
  • Le temps d’un parcours ludique à travers la cité médiévale, avec le Rallye de Sarlat.

Visiter Sarlat en famille et avec des enfants

Comme d’autres lieux incontournables de la Dordogne, Sarlat présente l’avantage d’être aussi accessible pour les adultes que pour les enfants. Place au tourisme en famille ! Des visites ludiques sont organisées par l’Office de Tourisme de la ville. Le programme complet à découvrir sur le site internet : sarlat-tourisme.com

Une visite gourmande

Vous souhaitez découvrir les spécialités de la région? Le Périgord est une terre de produits gourmands qui raviront les palais des grands et des petits. Pour la dégustation : direction les marchés de Sarlat !

  • Le marché traditionnel de plein air de Sarlat, à la rencontre des producteurs de Dordogne : toute l’année le mercredi matin ou le samedi toute la journée ;
  • Le marché couvert, dans l’ancienne église Sainte-Marie ;
  • En hiver, les marchés aux truffes et le marché de gras le samedi matin. 
©Dordogne Libre

Une visite avec vue sur les toits de la ville

L’ancienne église Sainte-Marie abrite aussi l’ascenseur panoramique, qui permet de découvrir Sarlat-la-Canéda à près de 35 mètres de hauteur.

Pour mieux organiser votre journée, cette visite peut être réservée auprès de l’Office de Tourisme. Et bonne nouvelle, elle est gratuite pour les enfants de moins de 6 ans… accompagnés d’un adulte bien sûr !

Une visite à pied dans les ruelles de la cité médiévale

Plusieurs itinéraires sont possibles pour visiter Sarlat à pied. Dans les ruelles de la ville, vous pouvez vous amuser à identifier les différents lieux qui ont servi de décors de cinéma. La visite est aussi l’occasion d’admirer les façades en pierre et toits en lauze, typiques du Périgord noir. Ou encore de partir à la recherche des célèbres Oies en bronze. Un indice ? Peut-être qu’elles aussi ont eu envie de faire un tour au marché…

Une visite à la découverte des lieux emblématiques de la ville

Comme ailleurs en Dordogne, la cité médiévale invite à un voyage dans l’histoire de la région. Plusieurs bâtiments méritent la découverte : 

  • Le Manoir de Gisson (XVIIe siècle), un véritable château en ville, accessible le temps d’une visite libre;
  • La cathédrale Saint-Sacerdos, dont la visite est gratuite (adulte ou enfant);
  • La Maison de la Boétie, non loin de la cathédrale : sa façade est un mariage du style médiéval et de celui de la Renaissance; 
  • Ou encore la Lanterne des morts (XIIe siècle), une insolite chapelle sépulcrale à visiter dans le cimetière Saint-Benoît. 

Comment accéder au centre-ville de Sarlat facilement ?

Joyau du Périgord noir, Sarlat-la-Canéda préserve son patrimoine. C’est pour cela que le centre de la ville médiévale se visite uniquement à pied. Mais rassurez-vous, l’accès est facile. C’est aussi ce qui en fait une destination de choix pendant votre périple en Dordogne, entre deux visites de grottes et de châteaux.

  • Plusieurs zones de stationnement sont accessibles à Sarlat, dans le centre de la ville ;
  • Des lignes de bus estivales assurent une liaison entre le cœur de ville et les villages alentours. C’est l’occasion d’organiser votre séjour en choisissant un hôtel proche de Sarlat. 

Visiter Sarlat, mais pas seulement ! 

Vous avez aimé Sarlat-la-Canéda, ses ruelles médiévales et son ambiance digne d’un décor de cinéma ? Vous aimerez aussi visiter les autres lieux incontournables du Périgord, dans la vallée de la Dordogne ou la vallée de la Vézère. Bonne nouvelle, ils sont facilement accessibles depuis Sarlat :

  • Les nombreux sites préhistoriques : la grotte de Lascaux, l’abri Cro Magnon… ;
  • Les châteaux : château de Beynac, château de Castelnaud… ;
  • Les villages médiévaux de la Roque-Gageac et de Beynac ;
  • Les jardins de Marqueyssac… 

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu