The noix du Périgord is a product of the Périgord heritage. Whether eaten as kernels or processed into oil, this little nut is appreciated for its distinctive flavour. With an AOP (Protected Designation of Origin) since 2004, noix du Périgord comes in four varieties (Marbot, Corne, Grandjean, Franquette), grown in the Dordogne, Charente, Corrèze and Lot. Spotlight on one of Périgorda presence since the dawn of time.

The history of the noix du Périgord

Present in the Périgord region for 17,000 yearswalnuts from the Périgord were already eaten by our ancestors. Indeed, walnut residues have been found in the dwellings of Cro-Magnon man. 

But from the 13th century onwards, it was walnut oil production rather than walnut kernels that made the region famous and profitable. In the 18th century, the walnut trade even became intense in the Dordogne.

The walnut tree thrives on deep, well-drained clay-limestone soils. The Vézère and Dordogne valleys are ideal for growing and harvesting walnuts.. However, in 1830, severe cold weather decimated the walnut groves and the walnut oil trade began to decline. 

Special varieties (Corne and Marbot) for the production of walnuts and walnut kernels (Grandjean) enabled exports to continue. In 1950, an industry was created around the noix du Périgord and in 2002, it was awarded the Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée (AOC).

What are the best varieties of noix du Périgord?

©InstapadesStudio
Walnuts at a picnic in Les Eyzies

The Périgord, a production, harvesting and packaging area, is renowned for its 4 varieties of walnut. Each has its own taste and nutritional characteristics. 

The PDO guarantees the traceability and authenticity of walnuts from Périgord, produced in 612 municipalities (Dordogne, Lot, Corrèze and Charente).

La Marbot

Brownish in colour, the Marbot is a large, round nut with a water-rich, white, crunchy kernel. Its sweet flavour is subtle. It is harvested in mid-September. In the PDO, it is only sold as walnuts in shell.

La Corne

The Corne is a hardy nut. Sold in kernels and in shell, this variety is a great success: it is the table nut par excellence. Its sweet kernel makes it mild flavour. Under PDO, it can be eaten as a dry nut or as a kernel.

La Grandjean

Grandjean is a round, medium-sized variety of nut. It is only marketed as a PDO kernel. Its fleshy kernel is distinguished by a pronounced, slightly bitter taste, eaten fresh.

La Franquette

The Franquette, recognisable by its oblong shape, is a delicate nut recognisable by its blond kernel. The only variety to originate in Isère, it is available both as a walnut in the shell and as a kernel. 

Used in cooking in the form of oil, walnuts from Périgord can also be eaten fresh or dried. They are rich in omega 3 and 6, monounsaturated fatty acids and antioxidants. They also contain vitamin E and minerals such as magnesium, phosphorus and potassium. In short, they have nothing but benefits.

Where can I find walnuts from Périgord?

To discover and enjoy them, you can buy walnuts or walnut-based products from Périgord:

  • on local markets;
  • direct sales with producers;
  • at department store;
  • in delicatessens.

And why not combine tourism and walnuts from Périgord by taking the " Route de la noix "You'll discover walnut groves, oil mills and restaurants?

When to pick walnuts?

They arrive at maturity between late September and late October. Harvesting begins as soon as the husk - the shell of the nut - opens and falls off. On the tree or on the ground, all that's left to do is pick or gather them.

What are the main culinary uses of walnuts from Périgord?

Walnuts from Périgord are products eaten on their own or used to create recipes original, creative and tasty. They are the perfect accompaniment to all kinds of sweet and savoury dishes. They can be used as a garnish in a salad, dessert or dish. Walnuts from Périgord can also be added to homemade cakes or biscuits.

Walnut kernels

Walnut kernels are perfect for add flavour and texture to your dishes. They're delicious on salads, cheese platters, desserts or even in main courses!

Walnut oil

Walnut oil adds subtle aromas to dishes. Walnut oil degrades rapidly under the effect of heat, so it is used exclusively in seasoning on salads or already cooked dishes. 

Pastries

Walnuts from the Périgord are perfect for cakes. They can be used to decorate tarte Tatin, tarte aux Périgord strawberriescheesecake or tiramisu. They give a smooth, creamy taste for your desserts.
A walnut cake that Montignac locals know well has even been named Lascaux. 

The dishes

Crushed or in kernels, walnuts from Périgord are the perfect accompaniment to foie grasThe perfect accompaniment to your meal. As an accompaniment, these products bring an original, typical Périgord flavour that will charm the taste buds of gourmets.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

La noix du Périgord est un produit du patrimoine périgourdin. Dégusté en cerneaux ou transformé en huile, ce petit fruit à coque est apprécié pour son goût si particulier. Bénéficiant d’une AOP (Appellation d’Origine Protégée) depuis 2004, les noix du Périgord se déclinent en quatre variétés (Marbot, Corne, Grandjean, Franquette), cultivées en Dordogne, Charente, Corrèze et dans le Lot. Pleins feux sur une pépite du Périgord, présente depuis la nuit des temps.

La noix du Périgord et son histoire

Présentes sur le terroir du Périgord depuis 17 000 ans, les noix du Périgord étaient déjà consommées par nos ancêtres. Des résidus de noix ont en effet été retrouvés dans les lieux d’habitation de l’homme de Cro-Magnon. 

Mais à partir du 13e siècle, plus que les cerneaux, c’est la production d’huile de noix qui fait la renommée et la fortune de la région. Au 18e siècle, le commerce de la noix devient même intense en Dordogne.

Il faut dire que le noyer est un arbre qui prospère sur des sols argilo-calcaires, profonds et bien drainés. Les vallées de la Vézère et de la  Dordogne sont des terres propices à sa culture et à la récolte des noix. Pourtant en 1830, les grands froids déciment les noyeraies : le commerce de l’huile de noix commence à décliner. 

Des variétés spéciales (Corne et Marbot) pour la production de noix et ses cerneaux (Grandjean) permettent de continuer les exportations. En 1950, une filière se crée autour de la noix du Périgord et en 2002, c’est l’obtention de l’Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (AOC).

Quelles sont les meilleures variétés de noix du Périgord ?

©InstapadesStudio
Noix lors d'un pique-nique aux Eyzies

Le Périgord, bassin de production, de récolte et de conditionnement, est réputé pour ses 4 variétés de noix. Chacune présente ses propres caractéristiques gustatives et nutritionnelles. 

L’AOP garantit la traçabilité et authenticité des noix du Périgord, produites dans 612 communes (Dordogne, Lot, Corrèze et Charente).

La Marbot

De couleur brunâtre, la Marbot est une noix ronde de gros calibre, dont le cerneau est riche en eau, blanc et croquant. Sa saveur douce est subtile. Elle se récolte à la mi-septembre. En AOP, elle n’est vendue que sous la forme de noix en coque.

La Corne

La Corne est une noix rustique. Vendue en cerneaux et en coque, cette variété bénéficie d’un grand succès : elle est la noix de table par excellence. Son cerneau sucré lui confère une saveur douce. Sous AOP, vous pouvez la consommer comme noix sèche et en cerneau.

La Grandjean

La Grandjean est une variété de fruits à coque à la forme ronde et au calibre moyen. Elle n’est commercialisée qu’en cerneau sous AOP. Son cerneau, charnu, se distingue par un goût prononcé légèrement amer, que l’on déguste frais.

La Franquette

La Franquette, reconnaissable à sa forme oblongue, est une noix délicate reconnaissable à son cerneau blond. Seule variété originaire de l’Isère, elle est proposée aussi bien en noix en coque qu’en cerneau. 

Utilisées en cuisine sous forme d’huile, les noix du Périgord peuvent également être consommées fraîches ou sèches. Elles sont riches en oméga 3 et 6, en acides gras mono-insaturés et en antioxydants. Elles contiennent aussi de la vitamine E des sels minéraux tels que le magnésium, le phosphore et le potassium. Bref, elles n’ont que des atouts.

Où trouver des noix du Périgord ?

Pour les découvrir et les savourer, les noix ou les produits à base de noix du Périgord sont disponibles :

  • sur les marchés locaux ;
  • en vente directe chez les producteurs ;
  • en grande surface ;
  • dans les épiceries fines.

Et pourquoi ne pas associer tourisme et noix du Périgord en empruntant la « Route de la noix » qui vous fait découvrir des noyeraies, des moulins à huile mais aussi des restaurants ?

Quand ramasser des noix du Périgord ?

Elles arrivent à maturité entre fin septembre et fin octobre. La récolte commence dès que le brou, c’est-à-dire l’enveloppe de la noix, s’ouvre et tombe. Sur l’arbre ou à terre, il ne reste plus qu’à les cueillir ou les ramasser.

Quelles sont les principales utilisations culinaires des noix du Périgord

Les noix du Périgord sont des produits consommés seuls ou utilisés pour créer des recettes originales, créatives et savoureuses. En effet, elles accompagnent parfaitement tout type de plat salé ou sucré. Elles peuvent être utilisées comme garniture dans une salade, un dessert ou un plat. Les noix du Périgord peuvent également être ajoutées à des gâteaux ou des biscuits maison.

Les cerneaux de noix

Les cerneaux de noix sont parfaits pour apporter saveur et texture à vos plats. Ils sont délicieux sur des salades, des plateaux de fromages, des desserts ou même dans des plats principaux !

L’huile de noix

L’huile de noix ajoute des arômes subtils aux plats. Se dégradant rapidement sous l’effet de la chaleur, l’huile de noix s’utilise exclusivement en assaisonnement sur des salades ou des plats déjà cuits. 

Les pâtisseries

Les noix du Périgord sont parfaites pour les gâteaux.  Elles agrémentent tarte Tatin, tarte aux fraises du Périgord, cheesecake ou tiramisu. Elles donnent un goût doux et crémeux à vos desserts.
Un gâteau aux noix bien connu des Montignacois a même été nommé le Lascaux. 

Les plats

Concassées ou en cerneaux, les noix du Périgord se marient parfaitement à du foie gras, du magret de canard, de l’agneau ou des poissons. En accompagnement, ces produits apportent une saveur originale et typique du Périgord qui charme les papilles des gourmands.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu