The Périgord The Dordogne boasts an unrivalled wealth of gastronomic delights... even in its waters! Every year, the Dordogne produces several tonnes of caviar. This black gold is enjoyed both in France and abroad. The production of this caviar is shared by a number of big names: Neuvic, Perle noire, Prunier... How did the Dordogne become one of the world's leading caviar producers? How do you enjoy this delicacy? We explain. 

The Dordogne: a leading producer of caviar

An environment conducive to a quality product

OT sarlat

France is one of the biggest caviar producers in the world. Most of this production is concentrated in Aquitaine, and with it the Dordogne. This activity first developed on the banks of the Garonne at the beginning of the 20th century.e century. But the practice was banned in 1982 due to over-intensive fishing.

Today, the precious sturgeons are reared and reproduced in fish farms. The purity and temperature of the waters in the Périgord region are ideal for farming, which meets all the quality requirements of the French caviar industry. 

The natural environment also plays a role: the basins benefit from the proximity of several rivers and the rich mineral content of the subsoil. Visit Eyziestributaries of the Vézère such as la Beune contribute to the quality of Perle Noire breeding. These are just some of the reasons why the Périgord is such a major producer of caviar!

Discover how the finest caviars from Périgord are made on a fish farm

Sturgeon farming (Osciètre, Baeri, Stéria or Beluga) requires patience. Depending on the species, it takes several years for female sturgeon to lay their eggs: 7 years on average for Baeri and up to 20 years for Beluga. Processing the eggs into caviar also requires special know-how and precise technical procedures. The fish eggs must not be damaged during the process and the grains are sorted by hand to preserve all the quality of the sturgeon caviar.

To help people discover these stages, Dordogne producers offer a visit their fish farm. Often combined with a tasting session, a visit to the farm and the ponds is an opportunity to better understand the reasons for the decline. caviar from Périgord is exceptional.

OT sarlat

How do you enjoy Périgord caviar? 

Tasting caviar is a truly gastronomic experience, and requires certain steps to be followed. There are three ways to enjoy Périgord caviar: by the spoonful, à la royale or on toast. 

Caviar by the spoonful

©pixabay

The mother-of-pearl spoon preserves all its flavour, without the caviar grains oxidising on contact with a metal spoon, for example. 

Royal caviar 

Place the caviar grains at the base of the thumb, on the back of the hand and right on the skin. This technique also makes it possible to warm the caviar slightly to release all its flavour and quality when tasting. 

Caviar on toast

Some connoisseurs also prefer it served on toast. You can add some soft butter. 

But don't forget to try the natural flavours of Périgord caviar, so you can make up your own mind about this exceptional product. Especially if it's your first experience!

Good to know:

Having trouble deciding which Dordogne caviar to choose? You can also opt for a tasting box, which contains just the right amount of caviar for you to discover.

How to serve Périgord caviar?

Périgord caviar is best served at a temperature of between 8 and 10°C, at the start of a meal. It is best served in its original Neuvic, Perle noire or Prunier tin. You should allow between 10 and 15 grams of caviar per guest, so that it can be eaten in several portions.

Depending on the species of sturgeon (osciètre, baeri, stéria or beluga), the grains may have a different appearance, in shades of pearl grey, anthracite or golden brown. 

It's possible to combine Périgord caviar with other local products

The flavours of caviar produced in the Dordogne are best enjoyed on their own before a meal. But sturgeon eggs can also be combined with other flavours. Périgord specialities. Duck foie gras goes particularly well with caviar. It sublimates the taste!

Other recipes include caviar butter or sturgeon rillettes.

 Local restaurateurs such as The Centenary Les Eyzies offers you a selection of dishes made with local sturgeon. 

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le Périgord recèle une richesse gastronomique inégalée… jusque dans ses eaux ! Chaque année, la Dordogne produit plusieurs tonnes de caviar. Cet or noir est savouré en France comme à l’étranger. De grands noms se partagent la production de ce caviar : Neuvic, Perle noire, Prunier… Comment la Dordogne s’est-elle imposée parmi les plus grands producteurs de caviar ? Comment déguster ce mets ? Explications. 

La Dordogne : une place de choix parmi les grands producteurs de caviar

Un environnement propice à un produit de qualité

OT sarlat

La France figure parmi les plus grands producteurs de caviar dans le monde. L’Aquitaine concentre l’essentiel de cette production, et avec elle la Dordogne. Cette activité s’est d’abord développée sur les bords de la Garonne au début du 20e siècle. Mais en raison d’une pêche trop intensive des poissons, cette pratique est interdite à partir de 1982.

Aujourd’hui, c’est la pisciculture qui permet l’élevage et la reproduction des précieux esturgeons. La pureté et la température des eaux du Périgord favorisent un élevage qui répond à tous les impératifs de qualité de la filière du caviar français. 

L’environnement naturel joue aussi : les bassins profitent de la proximité de plusieurs cours d’eau et de la richesse en minéraux du sous-sol. Aux Eyzies, les affluents de la Vézère tels que la Beune contribuent à la qualité de l’élevage Perle Noire. Autant d’atouts qui expliquent pourquoi le Périgord occupe une grande place au rang des producteurs de caviar !

Découvrir l’élaboration des plus grands caviars du Périgord dans une ferme piscicole

L’élevage des esturgeons (Osciètre, Baeri, Stéria ou encore Beluga) demande de la patience. Selon les espèces, il faut plusieurs années pour que les esturgeons femelles pondent : 7 ans en moyenne pour le baeri et jusqu’à 20 ans pour le beluga. La transformation des œufs en caviar demande aussi un savoir-faire particulier et des gestes techniques précis. Les œufs des poissons ne doivent pas être abîmés au cours du processus et les grains sont triés à la main pour conserver toute la qualité du caviar d’esturgeon.

Pour mieux faire découvrir ces étapes, les producteurs de Dordogne proposent une visite de leur ferme piscicole. Souvent associée à une dégustation, la visite de la ferme et des bassins est l’occasion de mieux comprendre pourquoi le caviar du Périgord est exceptionnel.

OT sarlat

Comment déguster le caviar du Périgord ? 

La dégustation du caviar est une véritable expérience gastronomique et nécessite de respecter certaines étapes. À la cuillère, à la royale ou sur un toast, il existe trois façons de déguster un caviar du Périgord. 

Le caviar à la cuillère

©pixabay

La cuillère en nacre permet de conserver toute sa saveur, sans que les grains du caviar ne s’oxyde au contact d’une cuillère métallique par exemple. 

Le caviar à la royale 

Placez les grains de caviar à la base du pouce, sur le dos de la main et à même la peau.  Cette technique permet aussi de réchauffer légèrement le caviar du Périgord pour en libérer toute la saveur et la qualité au moment de la dégustation. 

Le caviar sur un toast

Certains amateurs préfèrent aussi la dégustation sur un toast. Vous pouvez y ajouter un beurre doux. 

Mais pensez aussi à tester les saveurs du caviar du Périgord au naturel, pour vous faire un avis sur ce produit d’exception. Surtout s’il s’agit d’une première expérience !

Bon à savoir :

Vous avez du mal à vous décider parmi les caviars de Dordogne ? Vous pouvez aussi opter pour un coffre de dégustation, qui contient la quantité de caviar nécessaire pour une découverte.

Comment servir le caviar du Périgord ?

Le caviar du Périgord est servi à une température entre 8 et 10°C, en début de repas et en toute simplicité. Il est conseillé de le déguster dans sa boîte d’origine Neuvic, Perle noire ou Prunier. Vous pouvez prévoir entre 10 et 15 grammes de caviar par convive, pour une dégustation en plusieurs fois.

En fonction de l’espèce d’esturgeon (osciètre, baeri, stéria ou beluga), les grains peuvent présenter une apparence différente, dans des teintes gris perle, anthracite ou marron-or. 

Associer le caviar du Périgord à d’autres produits locaux, c’est possible

Les saveurs du caviar produit en Dordogne s’apprécient au naturel avant un repas. Mais les œufs d’esturgeon peuvent aussi être associés à d’autres spécialités du Périgord. Le foie gras de canard notamment se marie très bien avec la saveur du caviar. Il en sublime le goût !

D’autres recettes peuvent être imaginées avec du beurre de caviar ou des rillettes d’esturgeons.

 Les restaurateurs locaux comme Le Centenaire aux Eyzies vous proposent une sélection de plats élaborés avec l’esturgeon élevé sur la commune. 

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu