The Proumeyssac chasm is part of the Grands Sites du Périgord and is part of the classified area Grand Site de France. This is one of the most popular places to visit in the Dordogne, close to Le Bugue, Les Eyzies and the Dordogne valley. Its natural formation impresses young and old alike, and is known as the the Crystal Cathedral. It can be discovered in a cradleIt's the culmination of a unforgettable visit ! 

Why visit the Proumeyssac chasm?

The number of concretions

Take a guided tour of the largest converted cave in Périgord and admire a multitude of stalagmites and stalactites. Accompanied for 1 hour by a guide, you will discover the draperies, eccentrics, fistulas and other gours that make this natural setting a must-see during your stay in Périgord.

The park around the chasm

Matthieu Ricard

A small museum installed at the end of the visit will give you a better understanding of geological formation of the cave. During school holidays, a : Professor Geopole invites you to follow him into the park, in the shade of the trees. Using material suitable for children and a lofty voice, the teacher will take you on a journey through the geological evolution of the Dordogne and Périgord Noir regions. The experience of the Gouffre de Proumeyssac is not complete without a search for gold in the river of minerals. 

Once you've finished visiting the chasm, you can take a stroll through the charming village. d'Audrixnear du Bugue. It is appreciated for its typical architecture Périgord Noir and its footpaths. For youngsters (and others), a Tèrra Aventura course is proposed.

A full family day at Audrix to plan during your holiday in the Dordogne!  

The Proumeyssac chasm, a visit for everyone.

You are among friends

And you're looking for an original activity to offer to all your holiday companions?
The Proumeyssac chasm You'll be able to take a trip down in a gondola, just as you did when the cave was first discovered. Overlooking the stalactites and stalagmites, other shapes take shape before you, so you can admire concretions of the arch as closely as possible. A vertiginous expedition that guarantees incredible memories!
The gondola tour joins the traditional itinerary, so that friends prone to vertigo can join you after this experience, and give you their opinion on your central role in the first sound and light show.

©OT_Vézère_Valley_By_Les_Coflocs_Proumeyssac_Gouffre-4

The gondola tour joins the traditional route and allows you to admire the concretions up close.

You are with your family

And are you looking to impress your children?
The Proumeyssac chasm is underground, so it's best to tell your children that they return underground, in the dark. Adventurous children will love the game of cave exploration. The visit is always accompanied by a professional guideWe can reassure them that they have no chance of staying underground.
The abyss, like any other Périgord Noir cave (and even France!) is at a constant temperature, between 13 and 15° C. We advise you to dress well and to choose non-slip shoes.
When the gondola begins its descent, the rest of the cavity is plunged into darkness. This makes it possible toadmire the show from the observation platform below. Holidaymakers who have taken the " nacelle descent "The children discover the concretions one by one, with the lighting adapted to the sounds played simultaneously. Children are always amazed by this spectacle. Pitchounes noise-sensitive can be with headphones to protect their ears. 

You are in a wheelchair

Looking to visit the Dordogne?
The Dordogne is renowned for its castles (Castelnaud, Commarque, …) , typical Périgord villages... but it's not easy to get to all these magnificent sites that reflect France's medieval past.

 

A visit to the Gouffre de Proumeyssac is partially adapted for people with reduced mobility. Once you've bought your ticket, you'll walk along a wide corridor with a gentle gradient. You then join the rest of the visitors on the observation platform. Here you can admire all the concretions in the chasm: the octopus, the draperies, the columns, the gours, etc.

 

The Proumeyssac chasm is a visit you can feel, the sound tour and the droplets you hear falling make it possible to pass a wonderful moment into this abyss.

You're hiking near Le Bugue and looking for a refreshing break

After scouring waymarked pathsIt's a good idea to visit one of the major sites of the Vézère valley. We recommend this tourist mecca before returning to your accommodation.
 
Yes, of course, Audrix hill makes you sweat when you arrive from Bugue but as well as an unforgettable memory in "the crystal cathedral"You can have a drink and a bite to eat on the spot.
A snack bar open for most of the year and picnic tables are set up in the surrounding woods. Restaurants are also waiting for you in the village ofAudrix.
Come and see us, we'll give you all the information you need at Le Bugue tourist office!

More info

To avoid queues, tickets are on sale online.

What is a chasm?

The abyss is a natural formation due to the collapse of the limestone.
Water run-off over the centuries has contributed to stone erosionThis is how a hole appeared on the heights of Audrix.
What do you think the difference is between a chasm and a cave?
For the chasm, you have to go down to visit it: it's a vertical hole. As for the caveIt can be visited by entering horizontally inside. The verticality gives it a grandiose feel!
To date, the Gouffre de Proumeyssac in a depth of 42 metres but it is highly likely that other underground passages run through the depths of the this natural jewel of France.

Gouffre de Proumeyssac or Gouffre de Padirac?

The Gouffre de Proumeyssac lies to the south of the Vézère valley, 30 minutes from Sarlat.
The Périgord cavity is sometimes confused with the Gouffre de Padiracanother natural cave in south-west France. Our neighbour in the Lot offers a boat trip accompanied by a guide-catcher.
The " Crystal Cathedral "is orchestrated around two main themes sound and light shows. Numerous activities are on offer in the outdoor area for all the family. While parents pedal their bikes electricity-generating bicycles to produce the resources needed for the visit, the smallest take advantage of the edutainment park

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le gouffre de Proumeyssac appartient au réseau Grands Sites du Périgord et fait partie de l’espace classé Grand Site de France. C’est l’une des visites les plus prisées de Dordogne, proche du Bugue et des Eyzies comme de la vallée Dordogne. Sa formation naturelle impressionne petits et grands, on l’appelle d’ailleurs la Cathédrale de Cristal. Sa découverte peut se faire en nacelle, c’est le point d’orgue d’une visite inoubliable ! 

Pourquoi visiter le gouffre de Proumeyssac ?

Le nombre de concrétions

La visite guidée de la plus grande cavité aménagée du Périgord vous permet d’admirer une multitude de stalagmites et stalactites. Accompagné pendant 1h par un guide, vous découvrirez les draperies, excentriques, fistuleuses et autres gours qui font de cet écrin naturel un incontournable de votre séjour en Périgord.

Le parc aménagé autour du gouffre

© Matthieu Ricard

Un petit musée installé à la sortie de la visite permet une meilleure compréhension de la formation géologique de la cavité. En période de vacances scolaires, un guide : le professeur Géopole vous convie à le suivre dans ce parc, à l’ombre des arbres. Grâce à des supports adaptés aux enfants et un verbe haut, le professeur vous embarque à travers l’évolution géologique de la Dordogne et du Périgord Noir. L’expérience du Gouffre de Proumeyssac n’est pas complète sans une recherche d’or dans la rivière aux minéraux. 

Une fois la visite du gouffre terminée, vous pouvez aller vous balader dans le charmant village d’Audrix, près du Bugue. Il est apprécié pour son architecture typique du Périgord Noir et ses chemins de randonnées. Pour les plus jeunes (et les autres), un parcours Tèrra Aventura est proposé.

Une journée en famille sur Audrix bien complète à programmer lors de vos vacances en Dordogne!  

Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac, une visite pour tous.

Vous êtes entre amis

Et vous cherchez une activité originale à proposer à tous vos compagnons de vacances ?
Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac vous permet une entrée hors du commun grâce à une descente en nacelle, comme au temps de sa découverte. En surplombant les stalactites et les stalagmites, d’autres formes se dessinent devant vous, vous pourrez ainsi admirer les concrétions de la voûte au plus près. Une expédition vertigineuse qui garantit des souvenirs incroyables !
La visite en nacelle rejoint le parcours traditionnel, ce qui permet aux copains sujets au vertige de vous rejoindre après cette expérience, et de vous donner leur avis sur votre rôle central dans le premier spectacle de sons et lumières.

©OT_Vallée_Vézère_By_Les_Coflocs_GouffredeProumeyssac-4

La visite en nacelle rejoint le parcours traditionnel et permet d’admirer les concrétions au plus près.

Vous êtes en famille

Et vous cherchez à impressionner vos enfants ?
Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac est souterrain, il est donc préférable de prévenir vos enfants qu’ils rentrent sous terre, dans l’obscurité. Les enfants aventuriers se prendront facilement au jeu de découvreur de grotte. La visite se fait toujours accompagnée d’un guide professionnel, aucune chance de rester sous terre, on peut les rassurer.
Le gouffre comme n’importe quelle grotte du Périgord Noir (et même de France !) est à température constante, entre 13 et 15°. On vous conseille de bien vous habiller et de choisir des chaussures non glissantes.
Lorsque la nacelle amorce sa descente, le reste de la cavité est plongée dans le noir. Cela permet d’admirer le spectacle lorsque l’on est sur la plateforme d’observation en bas. Les vacanciers qui ont pris l’option « descente en nacelle » découvrent les concrétions une à une avec le jeu d’éclairage adapté aux sonorités diffusées simultanément. Les enfants sont toujours émerveillés devant ce spectacle. Les pitchounes sensibles au bruit peuvent être munis d’un casque audio pour préserver leurs oreilles. 

Vous êtes en fauteuil roulant

Et vous cherchez à visiter la Dordogne ?
La Dordogne est réputée pour ses châteaux (Castelnaud, Commarque, …) , ses villages typiques du Périgord, … mais pas facile d’accéder à tous ces magnifiques sites qui reflètent le passé médiéval de la France.

 

La visite du Gouffre de Proumeyssac est partiellement adaptée aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Après avoir acheté votre billet de visite, vous empruntez un couloir large avec un faible dénivelé. Puis vous accédez en même temps que le reste des visiteurs à la plateforme d’observation. Ainsi, vous pouvez admirer l’ensemble des concrétions du gouffre : la pieuvre, les draperies, les colonnes, les gours, …

 

Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac est une visite qui se ressent, la visite sonore et les gouttelettes que l’on entend tomber permettent de passer un merveilleux moment dans ce gouffre.

Vous êtes en randonnée près du Bugue et vous cherchez une pause fraîcheur

Après avoir écumé les chemins balisés, il est de mise de visiter un site majeur de la vallée de la Vézère. On vous conseille ce haut lieu du tourisme avant de rejoindre votre hébergement.
 
Certes, la colline d’Audrix fait bien transpirer en arrivant du Bugue mais en plus d’un souvenir inoubliable dans “la cathédrale de cristal”, on peut se rafraîchir et se restaurer sur place.
Un snack ouvre une grande partie de l’année et des tables de pique-nique sont installées dans les bois environnants. Des restaurants vous attendent également dans le bourg d’Audrix.
Passez nous voir, on vous donne toutes les informations à l’office de tourisme du Bugue !

Info +

Pour éviter les files d’attente, des billets sont en vente en ligne.

Qu’est-ce qu’un gouffre ?

Le gouffre est une formation naturelle due à l’effondrement de la roche calcaire.
Le ruissellement de l’eau au fil des siècles à contribué à l’érosion de la pierre, c’est ainsi qu’un trou est apparu sur les hauteurs d’Audrix.
À votre avis, quelle est la différence entre un gouffre et une grotte ?
Pour le gouffre, il faut descendre pour le visiter : c’est un trou vertical. Quant à la grotte, elle se visite en pénétrant horizontalement dedans. La verticalité apporte cette sensation de grandiose !
À ce jour, le Gouffre de Proumeyssac à une profondeur de 42 mètres mais il est fort probable que d’autres conduits souterrains parcourent les profondeurs de ce joyau naturel de France.

Gouffre de Proumeyssac ou Gouffre de Padirac ?

Le Gouffre de Proumeyssac est au sud de la vallée de la Vézère, à 30 minutes de Sarlat.
La cavité du Périgord est parfois confondu avec le Gouffre de Padirac, autre cavité naturelle du sud-ouest de la France. Notre voisin du Lot offre une balade en barque accompagné d’un guide–batelier.
La « cathédrale de Cristal », est quant à elle, orchestrée autour de deux spectacles sons et lumières. De nombreuses activités sont proposées dans l’espace extérieur pour toute la famille. Pendant que les parents pédalent sur des vélos générateurs d’électricité pour produire les ressources nécessaires à la visite, les plus petits profitent du parc ludo-pédagogique

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu