The exceptional castle of Les Eyzies

We promise that a visit to this iconic Périgord Noir château will stay with you for a long time to come.

Nestled in the valley of the beunesSituated between Les Eyzies and Sarlat, this medieval castle is an impressive sight. The keep and fortress blend perfectly into the surrounding countryside. Standing on its spur, the tower is an ochre jewel in a lungful of greenery.

Book your ticket for Château de Commarque now.

A very unusual castrum

The Dordogne is renowned for its 1001 castlesCommarque is undoubtedly one of the places you won't want to miss during your stay in the Périgord.
It is remarkable for its location, standing on its rockbut also because it was a co-seignioryThis is a rare enough fact to merit special mention. The lords' families shared the towers of this castrum in medieval times. The castle passed into the hands of the Beynac family, another important Dordogne fortress and one of the 4 baronies of Périgord, during the Hundred Years' War.
Today, it is the de Commarque family who bring this place to life and guide you through the history of this marvellous château.

the storytellers
Opposite Commarque, the Château de Laussel

There's no shortage of châteaux in the Dordogne. Opposite it is another castle that was the Commarque family hideout for many years. It is the Château de Laussel. Another medieval structure at Marquay is not open to visitors, but makes for wonderful photos.

Discover the best photos of Commarque on the château's Instagram account.

Photos of Commarque Castle are great, but feeling it vibrate is even better!

The de Commarque family: Hubert, Jean and Aude, programme throughout its opening period of original entertainment to bring the castle to life and offer lively tours.

The most spectacular visit is perhaps the one in hot-air balloon. It provides magnificent aerial images. Flying over the keep, admiring the medieval ensemble and the Beune valley is an enchanting sight. Don't forget to share your photos on our social networks Facebook and InstagramWe want to dream too!

the storytellers
Hot-air ballooning in Commarque

But keeping your feet on the ground isn't bad either. Especially if you like to dance. In summer, the Château organises music events and candlelit dinners to thrill the inhabitants of Sarlat, Les Eyzies and all summer visitors to the Dordogne.

At Easter, Château de Commarque opens its doors even to little rabbits. Visit Easter egg hunt in one of France's most famous "Grand Sites"? Rest assured, it's not just for children - everyone is welcome.

Find out more about all the events at the château on their website:

Unforgettable experiences

Château de Commarque has a troglodytic section and a prehistoric cave which can be discovered on a privileged visit. It does not have the profusion of rock paintings of the Font-de-Gaume cave located just a few kilometres from the castle, but clearly shows how people have lived in this valley for thousands of years.

Every school holiday and sometimes public holidays, there are some crazy events to try out in the Dordogne. 

Take a trip back to the 14th century at Château de Commarque. It can be done with a guide or with free access thanks to a audio-guide. During the summer months, a troupe brings to life the medieval daily life of the soldiers, so you're sure to have a magical time with your family.
From guided tours are regularly scheduled during the holidays, consult the timetables on the château's website.

If your child likes arts and crafts, Château de Commarque offers a workshop every day during the school holidays, which is included in the admission price. Archery, stone carving, calligraphyThe choice is yours! We'll even take you back to prehistoric times with the propulsion shooting. Who do you think will have the most fun, you or your child?

For the most adventurous thrill-seekers, there is a abseiling from the dungeon is possible: 60m high and centuries of history flash before your eyes.
As for those who want to use their brains, Escape Game will give them the chance to put their detective skills to the test.

Can you already see yourself taking Commarque by storm? Then don't wait any longer and come and visit us!

Good to know

The château's car park is off the beaten track, but a stroll through the Périgord Noir forest will take you to the site on foot. Disabled visitors can contact the château to arrange parking nearby.

 

Commarque is located on Sireuil, one of the hamlets of the village of Les Eyzies.

Les Eyzies it's a journey through time, from the Prehistory at the time medievalEvery century of French history is reflected in its stone. This vast commune is home to major Périgord sites such as the Prehistory Interpretation Centre or the grotto of Grand Roc but also the hamlet of Tayac and its troglodyte fort, the hamlet of Sireuil, the former commune of Manaurie and the former commune of Saint-Cirq.

Read more

Pricing Min. Max.
Full price
9.8 €
Child rate
6.5 €
Reduced rate
8 €
Group rate
8.8 €
Group rate
6 €
Group rate
7 €

Give us your opinion on this castle and other sites in the Dordogne by visiting us. You can find us at the Tourist Offices in Les Eyzies, Le Bugue or Montignac-Lascaux.

The Vézère valley makes a point of protecting this land of New Aquitaine classified as a "World Heritage site".Grand Site de France". Come and enjoy a holiday in a peaceful place where culture and nature go hand in hand. 

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le château exceptionnel des Eyzies

On vous promet que la visite de ce château emblématique du Périgord Noir restera dans vos mémoires pour longtemps.

Niché dans la vallée des beunes, entre Les Eyzies et Sarlat, ce château médiéval impressionne. Le donjon et la forteresse s’intègrent parfaitement dans la nature environnante. Cette tour dressée sur son éperon est un écrin d’ocre dans un poumon de verdure.

Réservez votre billet pour le château de Commarque dès maintenant.

Un castrum bien atypique

La Dordogne est renommée pour ses 1001 châteaux, celui de Commarque fait sans nul doute partie des inévitables lors d’un séjour en Périgord.
Il est remarquable de par son emplacement, debout sur son roc, mais également car ce fût une co-seigneurie, fait assez rare pour être souligné. Les familles des seigneurs se partageaient les tours de ce castrum à l’époque médiévale. Le château passa aux mains des Beynac, autre forteresse importante de Dordogne et l’une des 4 baronnies du Périgord, lors de la guerre de cent ans.
Aujourd’hui, c’est la famille de Commarque qui fait vivre ce lieu et vous guide à travers l’histoire de ce château merveilleux.

©lesconteurs
Face à Commarque, le château de Laussel

Les châteaux ne manquent pas en Dordogne. La preuve, face à lui, on remarque cet autre château qui fut le repaire des Commarque pendant de nombreuses années. Il s’agit du château de Laussel. Autre ouvrage médiéval de Marquay non ouvert à la visite mais qui permet de magnifiques photos.

Découvrez les plus belles photos de Commarque sur le compte Instagram du château.

Les photos du château de Commarque c’est bien, le sentir vibrer c’est mieux !

La famille de Commarque: Hubert, Jean et Aude, programme tout au long de sa période d’ouverture des animations originales pour faire vivre le château et offrir des visites animées.

La visite la plus spectaculaire est peut-être celle en montgolfière. Elle permet de magnifiques images aériennes. Survoler le donjon, admirer l’ensemble médiéval ainsi que la vallée de la beune est un spectacle enchanteur.  N’oubliez pas de partager vos photos sur nos réseaux sociaux Facebook et Instagram, nous aussi nous avons envie de rêver !

©lesconteurs
Montgolfière à Commarque

Néanmoins les pieds sur terre, c’est pas mal non plus. Surtout si l’on aime danser. En été, le Château organise des animations autour de la musique ou des dîners aux chandelles pour faire vibrer les habitants de Sarlat, des Eyzies et tous les visiteurs estivaux de Dordogne.

À Pâques, le château de Commarque ouvre ses portes même aux petits lapins. Une chasse aux œufs de Pâques dans un des plus « Grand Site de France », ça vous tente ? On vous rassure, ce n’est pas réservé aux enfants, vous êtes tous les bienvenus.

Découvrez toutes les animations du château sur leur site internet :

Des expériences inoubliables à vivre

Le château de Commarque possède une partie troglodytique et une grotte préhistorique qui se découvre en visite privilégiée. Elle ne possède pas la profusion de peintures rupestres de la grotte de Font-de-Gaume située à quelques kilomètres du château mais montre bien l’implantation des hommes dans cette vallée depuis des millénaires.

À chaque vacances scolaires et parfois les jours fériés, des animations de folie sont à tester en Dordogne. 

Pour replonger au XIVème siècle, on assiste à la visite du Château de Commarque. Elle peut se faire avec un guide ou en accès libre grâce à un audio-guide. En période estivale, une troupe fait revivre le quotidien médiéval des soldats, c’est à coup sûr un moment magique en famille qui vous attend.
Des visites guidées sont programmées régulièrement pendant les vacances, consultez les horaires sur le site internet du château.

Si votre enfant aime les activités manuelles, le château de Commarque offre chaque jour des vacances scolaires un atelier inclus dans le billet d’entrée. Tir à l’arc, sculpture sur pierre, calligraphie, … À vous de choisir ! On vous fait même repartir aux temps de la Préhistoire avec le tir au propulseur. À votre avis, qui de votre enfant ou vous va le plus s’amuser ?

Pour les plus téméraires en recherche de sensations fortes, une descente en rappel du donjon est possible : 60m de hauteur et des siècles d’histoire à faire défiler sous vos pieds.
Quant à ceux qui veulent faire travailler leurs méninges, l’Escape Game leur permettra de mettre leurs talents de détective en pratique.

Vous vous imaginez déjà à l’assaut de Commarque ? Alors n’attendez plus et venez vite le visiter!

Bon à savoir

Le parking du château est excentré, une balade à travers la forêt du Périgord Noir permet d’accéder au site à pied. Les personnes en situation de handicap peuvent contacter le château pour bénéficier d’un parking à proximité.

 

Commarque est situé sur Sireuil, l’un des hameaux du village des Eyzies.

Les Eyzies c’est un voyage à travers le temps, de la Préhistoire à l’époque médiévale, chaque siècle de l’histoire de France est retranscrit à travers sa pierre.  Cette vaste commune regroupe des sites majeurs du Périgord tels que le Pôle d’Interprétation de la Préhistoire ou la grotte de Grand Roc mais également le hameau de Tayac et son fort troglodytique, le hameau de Sireuil, l’ancienne commune de Manaurie et l’ancienne commune de Saint-Cirq.

Chargement en cours
Chargement en cours

En savoir plus

Tarifs Min. Max.
Plein tarif
9.8 €
Tarif enfant
6.5 €
Tarif réduit
8 €
Tarif de groupe
8.8 €
Tarif de groupe
6 €
Tarif de groupe
7 €

Donnez-nous votre avis sur ce château et les autres sites de Dordogne en nous rendant visite. Retrouvez-nous à l’Office de Tourisme des Eyzies, du Bugue ou de Montignac-Lascaux.

La vallée de la Vézère met un point d’orgue à protéger cette terre de Nouvelle – Aquitaine classée “Grand Site de France“. Venez vivre des vacances dans un lieu paisible où culture et nature s’accordent parfaitement. 

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu