Which are the "Most Beautiful Villages in France" in the Dordogne? 

The Dordogne has no fewer than 10 "Most Beautiful Villages in France". It is one of the departments with the most in France. 

The "Most Beautiful Villages in France" in the Vézère Valley

Association AU FIL DU TEMPS
Panoramic gardens of Limeuil

Limeuil

At the point where the Vézère River flows into the Dordogne River, take in the scenery with a visit to the charming village of Limeuil. Stroll through its narrow streets and alleys and discover its artists and craftsmen. Once you've reached the top, a visit to the panoramic park will give you a breathtaking view of the confluence.
And if you fancy a refreshing dip, all you have to do is head back down to the pebble beach for a dip.

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère


Head up the valley towards Montignac-Lascaux and stop off at Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Let yourself be carried away by the bucolic charm of this medieval village nestling on the banks of the River Vézère. With its 12th-century Romanesque church, its castle, the charming Manoir de la Salle and its many craftsmen, Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère is a must-see in the Vézère valley.

Urope Agency
Urope Agency

Saint-Amand-de-Coly


We continue along the road to the village of Saint-Amand-de-Coly. Be amazed by its impressive 12th-century abbey church, and discover its history and breathtaking scenery on the interpretation trail and hiking trails.

The "Most Beautiful Villages in France" in the Dordogne Valley

Just a few kilometres from the Vézère valley, close to Sarlat, the "Most Beautiful Villages in France" in the Dordogne valley are just waiting for you.

  • Leaning against the cliffs, the village of la Roque Gageac facing due south, borders the river Dordogne. This privileged position allows exotic plants to thrive. Strolling along its narrow streets will give you a taste of the Mediterranean Périgord.
  • Sheltered by its imposing castle, the village of Beynac and Cazenac stretches along the banks of the River Dordogne. If you're feeling more adventurous, leave your car at the bottom of the village and explore the narrow streets up to the castle.
  • Facing it, at the confluence of the Dordogne and Céou rivers, the village of Castelnaud and its medieval castle of the same name. As well as its fortified castle, the village is home to the magnificent Château des Milandes, the former home of Josephine Baker.
  • Climb up again, and return to the village of Domme. Set on a rocky spur, this fortified town with its ramparts and Templar prison offers breathtaking views over the Dordogne valley, its villages and its châteaux.
Chateau de Beynac

The other "Most Beautiful Villages in France" in the Dordogne


Still in the Périgord Noir, the village of Belvès overlooks the Nauze valley. This magnificent medieval town has 8 underground dwellings that will take you back in time. 

Further south, the village of Monpazier has retained all the charm of a medieval village, taking you back in time. It's almost as if you were there! Take a stroll through the streets to discover the local craftspeople and then return to the Place des Cornières, right in the heart of this bastide town. The village is regularly used for period film shoots.

In the north of the department, in the Périgord Vert region, the village of Saint-Jean-de-Côle and its famous Château de la Marthonie invite you to wander around. Its Gothic bridge, narrow streets and access to the river will delight lovers of authenticity. 

What is the "Most Beautiful Villages in France" label?


In 1982, Charles Ceyrac, then mayor of the village of Collonges la Rouge, decided to create a label to promote picturesque villages with a remarkable heritage.
The " Most Beautiful Villages in France "It's a very selective label. The label is highly selective. Only villages with fewer than 2,000 inhabitants and at least 2 protected sites or monuments are eligible. The village must then meet 30 selection criteria.
Only 20% of the contenders for the label are elected.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Quels sont les « Plus Beaux Villages de France » en Dordogne ? 

Le département de la Dordogne ne compte pas moins de 10 « Plus Beaux Villages de France ». C’est l’un des départements qui en comptent le plus dans l’hexagone. 

Les « Plus Beaux Villages de France » de la vallée Vézère

©Association AU FIL DU TEMPS
Jardins panoramiques de Limeuil

Limeuil

À l”endroit où la rivière Vézère se jette dans la rivière Dordogne, prenez de la hauteur en visitant le charmant village de Limeuil. Déambuler dans ses rues et ruelles étroites à la découverte de ses artistes et artisans. Une fois arrivé en haut, la visite du parc panoramique vous offrira une vue imprenable sur la confluence.
Et si vous avez envie de vous rafraîchir, il n’y a plus qu’à redescendre pour s’installer sur la plage de galets et faire un petit plongeon.

Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère


Remontez la vallée en direction de Montignac-Lascaux et faites une halte à Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère. Laissez-vous transporter par le charme bucolique de ce village médiéval niché sur les bord de la rivière Vézère. Son église romane du XIIème, son château, le charmant Manoir de la Salle, ses nombreux artisans, font de Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère un incontournable de la vallée de la Vézère.

©Agence Urope
©Agence Urope

Saint-Amand-de-Coly


On continue la route, jusqu’au village de Saint-Amand-de-Coly. Laissez-vous surprendre par son impressionnante abbatiale du XIIe, et découvrez avec son sentier d’interprétation et ses boucles de randonnée une histoire et des paysages à couper le souffle.

Les « Plus Beaux Villages de France » de la vallée Dordogne

À quelques kilomètres de la vallée de la Vézère, proches de Sarlat, les «Plus Beaux Villages de France» de la vallée de la Dordogne n’attendent que vous.

  • Adossé à la falaise, le village de la Roque Gageac exposé plein sud, borde la rivière Dordogne. Cette exposition privilégiée permet aux plantes exotiques de s’y développer. Arpenter ses ruelles vous donnera un goût de méditerranée périgourdine.
  • À l’abri de son imposant château, le village de Beynac et Cazenac s’étend le long de la rivière Dordogne. Pour les plus courageux, laissez votre voiture en bas du village et partez à la découverte de ses ruelles jusqu’au château.
  • Face à lui, à la confluence de la Dordogne et du Céou, le village de Castelnaud et son château du Moyen-Âge du même nom. Ce village, en plus de son château fort, abrite en contre-bas le magnifique château des Milandes, ancienne demeure de Joséphine Baker.
  • Prenez à nouveau de la hauteur, et regagnez le village de Domme. Sur son éperon rocheux, cette bastide avec ses remparts et sa prison templière, vous offrira une vue à couper le souffle sur la vallée de la Dordogne, ses villages et ses châteaux.
Chateau de Beynac

Les autres « Plus Beaux Villages de France » de Dordogne


Toujours en Périgord Noir, le village de Belvès surplombe la vallée de la Nauze. Cette magnifique cité médiévale renferme dans ses sous-sols 8 habitats souterrains, qui le temps d’une visite, vous ramèneront des années en arrière. 

Plus au Sud, le village de Monpazier a gardé tout le charme des villages médiévaux et vous offre une remontée dans le temps. C’est presque comme vous y étiez ! Flânez dans ses rues à la découverte de ses artisans d’art et regagnez la Place des Cornières, pour être au cœur de cette bastide. Le village sert régulièrement aux tournages de film d’époque.

Au nord du Département, en Périgord vert, le village de Saint-Jean-de-Côle et son fameux château de la Marthonie vous invite à la déambulation. Son pont gothique, ses ruelles et son accès à la rivière raviront les amoureux de l’authenticité. 

Qu’est-ce que le label « Plus Beaux Villages de France » ?


C’est en 1982 que Monsieur Charles Ceyrac, à l’époque maire du village de Collonges la Rouge, décide de créer un label pour valoriser les villages pittoresques au patrimoine remarquable.
Le label des « Plus Beaux Villages de France » est donc né de cette volonté. Le label est très sélectif. Ne peuvent y prétendre que les villages de moins de 2000 habitants qui possèdent au moins 2 sites ou monuments protégés. Le village devra répondre ensuite à 30 critères de sélection.
Seulement 20% des prétendants au label sont élus.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu