Discover parks, gardens and enchanting corners providing an ideal setting for a successful picnic in the Vézère valley

©Luc Fauret
View of the village of Limeuil from the river
  • Limeuil : unmissable spot for tourists, Limeuil beach is a favorite place for picnickers. Sitting on the edge of the pebble beach, or on tables set up for this purpose at the confluence of the Vezere and the Dordogne, on one side you can admire the junction of the two rivers or on the other admire the beautiful residences which are legion in this small town clinging to its rocky spur.

  • audrix : next to the church and under the hall tables welcome you.
  • Campaigns : the castle with its green spaces and its wooded park will offer you a magical setting to eat. Picturesque, romantic, rural, architectural, moving, we discover at the bend of the paths all the richness of this arboretum : redwoods, cedars, magnolias, bald cypresses, plane trees...The shade of these remarkable trees offers an idyllic setting for a lunch on the grass.
  • Le Buggy : it is still along the river where tables have been set up (at the bottom of the medical group) where you can enjoy the calm Vézère and the shade of its weeping willows for a meal and perhaps a little nap. A large table near the old mill allows you to be number 8/10. On the docks, to the kiosk, close to Bournat, we can also sit down.
©agenceeurope
Instapades studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne
Picnic in Les Eyzies
  • Les Eyzies : at the bottom of the town hall park, the edge of the Vézère is a dream place for a family picnic. There are many tables where you can sit down for a meal or see the canoes passing along the river. In Tayac, a small hamlet of Eyzies in the shade under the chestnut tree, you will be peaceful to admire Saint Martin church. A hiking trail allows you to take a beautiful digestive walk following it. On the side of Sireuil, a table awaits you near the church. In the parking lot under the cliff which shelters the cave of Great Rock, you can also picnic near the Vézère.


Need a hotel for that night?

4 result(s) out of 16
Show Map
Refine the search
Hotel

The Cedar Manor

Book online From 60 €  / Night
Hotel restaurant

The Little World

Book online
Hotel restaurant

Hotel Archambeau

Book online From 70 €  / Night
Hotel restaurant

Hostellerie La Roseraie

Book online From 94 €  / Night
Reduce map
Hide

  • Tursac: a discreet little corner of the Valley, this small village is nevertheless very animated by breeding geese who cackle to get noticed (and have their photo taken). After crossing the village, we follow the direction of Madeleine, just after crossing the bridge we stop at the level of the little nautical stop and there we can only savor: the freshness of the river, the lapping of the water, the shade of the trees, paradise in short!
  • Sergeac : arriving on the left, set your cutlery on the table provided for this purpose then discover this small, quiet village with typical houses with slate roofs. Then stroll to the prehistoric site of Castel Merle which is worth the visit (or discovery).
  • St. Leon-sur-Vézère: the riverside is a wonderful setting for a picnic. At the foot of the Romanesque church, in front of the cliffs, you can eat on tables. After a (light) lunch on the grass, Saint-Léon is also a place conducive to daydreaming and walking. You can stroll through these streets with houses with harmonious architecture in this village classified among the Most Beautiful Villages of France.

©Agence Urope
The church and the river of Saint Léon sur Vézère
  • Saint-Avit-de-Vialard : table at your disposal near the village hall. You will be close to the honey producer and a farm selling foie gras. Hiking trails leave from the town hall square just a few meters away.
  •  Peyzac le Moustier : 2 tables are placed near the village hall.
©Agence Urope
The abbey of the village of Saint Amand de Coly.
  • Coly Saint-Amand : the abbey between sky and earth has watched over the village for so many centuries... the ocher of the Sarladaise stone and the gray of the slates underline the purity of the Romanesque architecture of the church. Tables have been set up when arriving on the left in the parking lot.

  • Thonac : au Fongran lake, silence required next to the fishermen who watch for roach, carp, tench or trout... but calm assured. A large table awaits you.
  • Plazac : next to the village hall you can sit down and enjoy a very pretty setting around church and its medieval garden.
  • Montignac-Lascaux : along the banks of the Vézère, near the canoe boat, the picnic in the shade of the trees is a party on these quays. For digestion? A visit to the city where you can admire the richness of its Architectural Heritage : the half-timbered houses from the 13th century, the residences with terraces on stilts which are classified as Historic Monuments. In the Garden of the Fontaine des Pères (just before Lascaux-International Center for Cave Art), next to the nautical stopover at Montignac-Lascaux near the tennis court, you will find somewhere to sit and set up your cutlery.
©ALR
PCU_Montignac-Lascaux_june2023©ALR (3)
  • La Auba Chapelreil : 2 tables are set up in front of the town hall.
  • Rouffignac : next to the village hall, behind the Town Hall in the shade of a tree, a table allows you to taste local products purchased at the market for example. Place Simone Veil, in front of the Town Hall, small steel tables for a romantic meal await you whileat Falquette Park wooden tables are provided in the shade.

And when we asked the question to the team at the tourist office, this is what they answered:

  • on the tables available at the troglodyte site of La Madeleine
  • enjoy the banks of the Vézère in Saint-Léon
  • on the Terra Aventura course'Audrix, the table near the washhouse or the one near the cache (do you have to have found it?)
  • in the Town Hall garden Limeuil, in the evening

Was this content useful to you?

Découvrez parcs, jardins et coins enchanteurs permettant d’offrir un cadre idéal pour un pique-nique réussi en vallée Vézère

©Luc Fauret
Vue sur le village de Limeuil depuis la rivière
  • Limeuil :  spot incontournable pour les touristes, la plage de Limeuil est un des lieux préférés pour les pique-niqueurs. Assis au bord de la plage de galets, ou sur des tables aménagées à cet effet au confluent de la Vézère et de la Dordogne, on peut d’un côté admirer la jonction des deux rivières ou de l’autre admirer les belles demeures qui sont légions dans ce petit bourg accroché à son éperon rocheux.

  • Audrix : à côté de l’église et sous la halle des tables vous accueillent.
  • Campagne : le château avec ses espaces verts et son parc arboré vous offrira un cadre féérique pour vous restaurer. Pittoresque, romantique, champêtre, architecturé, émouvant, on découvre au détour des allées toute la richesse de cet arboretum : séquoias, cèdres, magnolias, cyprès chauves, platanes…L’ombre de ces arbres remarquables offre un cadre idyllique pour un déjeuner sur l’herbe.
  • Le Bugue : c’est encore au bord de la rivière où ont été installées des tables (en bas du groupe médical) que vous pourrez profiter de la calme Vézère et de l’ombre de ses saules pleureurs le temps d’un repas et peut-être d’une petite sieste. Une grande table près de l’ancien moulin vous permet d’être au nombre de 8/10.  Sur les quais, vers le kiosque, près du Bournat, on peut aussi s’attabler.
©agenceurope
Instapades studio- OT Lascaux Dordogne
Pique-nique aux Eyzies
  • Les Eyzies : en bas du parc de la mairie, le bord de la Vézère est un endroit rêvé pour pique-niquer en famille. Nombreuses sont les tables qui permettent d’être assis le temps d’un repas, voir passer les canoës le long de la rivière. À Tayac, petit hameau des Eyzies bien à l’ombre sous le marronnier, vous serez tranquilles pour admirer l’église Saint Martin. Un sentier de randonnée vous permet de faire une belle balade digestive en suivant. Du côté de Sireuil, une table vous attend près de l’église. Sur le parking sous la falaise qui abrite la grotte du Grand Roc, vous pouvez également pique-niquer près de la Vézère.


Besoin d’un hôtel pour cette nuit ?

4 résultat(s) sur 16
Afficher la carte
Affinez la recherche
Hôtel – Restaurant

Auberge Médiévale

Réservable en ligne À partir de 50 €  / nuit
Hôtel – Restaurant

Le P’tit Monde

Réservable en ligne
Hôtel – Restaurant

Hôtel Le Cro-Magnon

Réservable en ligne À partir de 82 €  / nuit
Hôtel – Restaurant

Complexe hôtelier – Restaurant Le Moulin Rouge

Réservable en ligne À partir de 46 €  / nuit
Réduire la carte
Masquer

  • Tursac: petit coin discret de la Vallée, ce petit village est pourtant fort animé par l’élevage des oies qui cacardent pour se faire remarquer (et qu’on les prenne en photo). Après avoir traversé le village, on suit la direction de la Madeleine, juste après avoir franchi le pont on s’arrête au niveau de la petite halte nautique et là on ne peut que savourer : la fraîcheur de la rivière, le clapotis de l’eau, l’ombre des arbres, le paradis en somme !
  • Sergeac : en arrivant à gauche, dressez vos couverts sur la table prévue dans cette intention puis découvrez ce petit village tranquille aux maisons typiques aux toits de lauzes. Promenez-vous ensuite jusqu’au site préhistorique de Castel Merle qui mérite la visite (ou la découverte).
  • Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère: le bord de la rivière est un cadre merveilleux pour le pique-nique. Au pied de l’église romane, en face des falaises, on peut se restaurer sur des tables. Après un déjeuner (léger) sur l’herbe, Saint-Léon est aussi un lieu propice à la rêverie et à la promenade. On peut flâner dans ces ruelles aux maisons à l’architecture harmonieuse dans ce village classé parmi les Plus Beaux Villages de France.

©Agence Urope
L'église et la rivière de Saint Léon sur Vézère
  • Saint-Avit-de-Vialard : table à votre disposition près de la salle des fêtes. Vous serez proche du producteur de miel et d’un exploitation agricole avec vente de foie gras. Des chemins de randonnée partent de la place de la mairie à seulement quelques mètres.
  •  Peyzac le Moustier : 2 tables sont placées près de la salle des fêtes.
©Agence Urope
L'abbaye du village de Saint Amand de Coly.
  • Coly Saint-Amand : l’abbatiale entre ciel et terre veille sur le village depuis tant de siècles… l’ocre de la pierre sarladaise et le gris des lauzes soulignent la pureté de l’architecture romane de l’église. Des tables ont été installées en arrivant à gauche sur le parking.

  • Thonac : au plan d’eau de Fongran, silence de rigueur à côté des pêcheurs qui guettent les gardons, les carpes, les tanches ou les truites… mais calme assuré. Une grande table vous attend.
  • Plazac : à côté de la salle des fêtes on peut s’installer puis profiter d’un très joli cadre autour de l’église et de son jardin médiéval.
  • Montignac-Lascaux : le long des berges de la Vézère, près de l’embarcation des canoës, le pique nique à l’ombre des arbres est une fête sur ces quais. Pour la digestion ? Une visite dans la ville où l’on peut admirer la richesse de son patrimoine architectural : les maisons à colombages du XIIIème siècle, les demeures à terrasses sur pilotis qui sont classées Monuments Historiques. Au Jardin de la Fontaine des Pères (juste avant Lascaux-Centre International de l’Art Pariétal), à côté de la halte nautique de Montignac-Lascaux près du tennis, on trouve de quoi s’asseoir et dresser ses couverts.
©ALR
PCU_Montignac-Lascaux_juin2023©ALR (3)
  • La Chapelle Aubareil : 2 tables sont dressées devant la mairie.
  • Rouffignac : à côté de la salle des fêtes, derrière la Mairie à l’ombre d’un arbre, une table vous permet de déguster les produits locaux achetés au marché par exemple. Place Simone Veil, devant la Mairie des petites tables en acier pour un repas en amoureux vous attendent tandis qu’au parc de la Falquette des tables en bois sont prévues bien à l’ombre.

Et quand on a posé la question à l'équipe de l'office de tourisme, voici ce qu'elle a répondu :

  • sur les tables à disposition au site troglodytique de La Madeleine
  • profiter des bords de la Vézère à Saint-Léon
  • sur le parcours Terra Aventura d‘Audrix, la table près du lavoir ou celle près de la cache (faut-il l’avoir trouvée ?)
  • dans le jardin de la Mairie à Limeuil, en soirée

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?